Common menu bar links

Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site of Canada

Hours of Operation

Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site

Fortified Town:

Time of YearLevel of ServiceHours of Operation
Victoria Day to June 30th
(May 19 - June 30, 2014)
Shoulder Season Open 7 days per week
9:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Canada Day to Labour Day
(July 1 - September 1, 2014)
Peak Season Open 7 days per week
9:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Post-Labour Day to Thanksgiving Day
(September 2 - October 13, 2014)
Shoulder Season Open 7 days per week
9:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Post-Thanksgiving Day to Pre-Victoria Day
(October 15, 2013 - May 18, 2014;
October 14, 2014 - May 17, 2015)
Low season Open Monday to Friday
(except statutory holidays)
9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Low season

Opportunities to experience the Fortress of Louisbourg's quiet streets during the low season allow visitors to imagine life in the toughest of conditions almost 300 years ago. While there are no services available, a low season visit may provide the best opportunity for visitors to experience the stillness of the streets, take in the beauty of the exterior architecture of the buildings, or simply enjoy the treasures that life's quietest moments may bring.

For a new way to experience the site in the low season, try our new Explora hand-held audio tour.  Through sound, video, photos, quizzes and text, you will hold stories about Louisbourg in your hands as you walk through both the reconstructed town and the fortress's ruins.  Explora devices are available at De la Plagne house.

Shoulder season

For those seeking quiet opportunities and some on-site services, visiting during the shoulder season is recommended. Visitors have the opportunity to enjoy an inspiring setting with beautiful visuals as they stand on our history-laden grounds. Several buildings with exhibits are open for you to discover. Explore the site on your own or embark on an audio-guided tour of the grounds. To enhance your visit you may purchase a guided tour, offered daily at 10:30 a.m. and 1 p.m., or participate in the Time Travel program. We recommend reserving a place on this tour in advance by calling 902-733-3552 or emailing us.

By the end of June, the site will begin to fill with costumed interpreters as we ramp up for peak season. After Labour Day, the Fortress of Louisbourg winds down once again with costumed animators interpreting some buildings into September. No matter the season, be sure to find out from reception what activities and experiences may be on offer that day.

Peak Season

Peak season brings a different kind of magic on-site as costumed people add life to the streets and the homes. A foggy day cloaks the site in mystery and creates scenes and images not to be forgotten. A cold day with wind and rain may draw visitors to the warmth of a welcoming fire or to the cozy inn for a warming bowl of soup. A hot day shows the town and its various gardens at their brightest. On summer feast days colour and pageantry break the routine of daily life as the townspeople promenade in their finery. Chores are the order of the day on summer and fall mornings. With the rooster's crow comes bread from the ovens that supplies both soldiers and hungry visitors.

During the peak season Louisbourg's inhabitants, who are happy to share their stories, can be found working the forge, tending the gardens and running the kitchens. The beat of drums and the chime of the garrison clock order the soldiers' day. The sound of a cannon marks midday. Music might be heard from a waterfront tavern. Children play games in the streets, while the sentry at the gate challenges those who wish to enter the walled town. A public punishment gathers spectators. Sheep run through the streets, called home by the stable hand. Each hour offers something unique and real.

Guided tours, offered twice daily, are available for purchase at De la Plagne House.  There is a maximum of 50 participants.

During the peak season you can immerse yourself in an 18th century dining experience, available daily, at the Hôtel de la Marine and Grandchamp House. For those who prefer a modern experience L'Épée Royale Café offers a cozy stop for hot and cold beverages and a variety of pastries. Groups can pre-arrange a dining experience by calling 902-733-3552. The daily fare varies with the season. Please check in advance for menu options and our ability to accommodate any special dietary requirements.

Dining - Hours of Operation
Dining EstablishmentExperienceHours of Operation
Grandchamp House Lower class
(Less formal dining)
July 1 - August 25
(Doors open at 10:30 a.m.)
Hôtel de la Marine Upper class
(More formal dining)
July 1 - August 25
(Doors open at 11 a.m.)
Hôtel de la Marine Lower class
(Less formal dining)
August 26 - Thanksgiving Day
(Doors open at 10:30 a.m.)
L'Épée Royale Café Café Victoria Day - Thanksgiving Day
(Doors open at 10 a.m.)

When the Fortress of Louisbourg is closed, programs and services are provided through the Fortress Louisbourg Association after-hours programs. Enhanced programming throughout the day, evening or overnight is also provided by the Fortress Louisbourg Association.

Whether it's the bustling street or the solitude of the shore, a visit to the Fortress of Louisbourg offers many opportunities for memorable experiences.

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg

Heures d'ouverture

Lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg

Ville fortifée:

Moment de l'annéePériode de niveau de serviceHeures d'ouverture
de la Fête de la Reine jusqu'au 30 juin
(du 19 mai au 30 juin 2014)
saison intermédiaire 7 jours/semaine
de 9 h 30 à 17 h
de la Fête du Canada à la Fête du Travail
(du 1er juillet au 1er septembre 2014)
haute saison 7 jours/semaine
de 9 h 30 à 17 h
après la Fête du Travail jusqu'à l'Action de Grâces
(du 2 septembre au 13 octobre 2014)
saison intermédiaire 7 jours/semaine
de 9 h 30 à 17 h
après l'Action de Grâces jusqu'à la veille de la Fête de la Reine
(du 15 octobre 2013 au 18 mai 2014;
du 14 octobre 2014 au 17 mai 2015)
basse saison ouvert du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés)
de 9 h 30 à 16 h


Basse saison

Il fait bon parcourir les rues paisibles de la forteresse de Louisbourg pendant la basse saison pour imaginer l'existence d'il y a près de 300 ans. Même sans services au visiteur, c'est l'occasion idéale d'apprécier, dans un contexte tranquille, la beauté de l'architecture des bâtiments ou, tout simplement, de goûter le temps qui passe.

Notre nouvelle visite audioguidée Explora offre une façon novatrice d'explorer le site pendant la saison basse. Grâce à des sons, vidéos, photos, jeux-questionnaires et textes, vous aurez des histoires de Louisbourg au creux de la main alors que vous parcourrez la ville reconstruite et les ruines de la forteresse. Les dispositifs Explora sont disponibles à la maison de la Plagne.

Saison intermédiaire

Pour ceux qui sont à la recherche d'activités paisibles bien qu'avec quelques services sur le site, une visite pendant la saison intermédiaire est ce qu'il y a de mieux. Les visiteurs auront la chance de profiter des magnifiques panoramas inspirants qu'offre ce lieu trempé d'histoire. Plusieurs bâtiments d'exposition sont ouverts et attendent votre visite. Explorez le site à votre guise ou encore suivez une visite audio-guidée des lieux. Pour ajouter à votre visite, vous pouvez acheter une visite guidée, offerte tous les jours à 10 h 30 et 13 h, ou participer au programme Voyage à travers le temps.  Nous recommandons de réserver votre place à l'avance en téléphonant au 902-733-3552 ou en nous envoyant un courriel.

À la fin juin, le site recommencera progressivement à s'animer d'interprètes en costumes au fur et à mesure que nous approcherons de la haute saison. Après la fête du Travail la Forteresse de Louisbourg se prépare petit à petit pour l'hiver avec quand même des interprètes ici et là dans certains bâtiments pendant le mois de septembre. Quelle que soit la saison assurez-vous d'obtenir des renseignements au sujet des activités et expériences offertes le jour-même auprès de la réception.

Haute saison

La haute saison apporte son genre particulier de magie. Des gens en costumes historiques viennent animer rues et maisons. Par jour de brume, les lieux deviennent encore plus mystérieux et ils suscitent d'autres images mémorables. S'il pleut ou qu'il vente, les visiteurs auront envie de la chaleur d'un feu de bois ou d'un bon bol de soupe. C'est par beau temps que la ville et ses jardins affichent leurs plus vives couleurs. Les jours de fête, le quotidien s'éclaire encore, et les habitants de Louisbourg déambulent dans leurs plus beaux atours. En été et à l'automne, les matinées se passent aux corvées. Le chant du coq signale aux soldats et aux visiteurs que du pain frais sort des fours.

Pendant la haute saison, les habitants de Louisbourg, heureux de partager leurs histoires, se retrouvent au travail, soit à la forge, dans les jardins ou dans les cuisines. Les roulements de tambour et la cloche de la garnison rythment la journée des soldats, comme le canon qui tonne à midi. On entendra parfois de la musique s'échapper d'une taverne du front de mer. Des enfants jouent à leurs jeux dans les rues, tandis que la sentinelle barre le chemin (« Qui va là? ») aux nouveaux venus à l’entrée de la ville fortifiée. Un châtiment public, et la foule s'amasse tout autour. Des moutons filent dans les rues, pressés de rentrer au bercail. D'heure en heure, il se passe quelque chose d'unique et d'authentique.

Les visites guidées, offertes deux fois par jour, peuvent être achetées à la maison de la Plagne. Il y a un maximum de 50 participants.

Durant la haute saison vous pouvez vivre pleinement une expérience culinaire du 18e siècle, à tous les jours, à l'Hôtel de la Marine et la maison Grandchamp. Pour ceux qui préfèrent une expérience moderne, le café l'Épée royale est un endroit convivial où se procurer une boisson chaude ou froide, ou une pâtisserie.  Les groupes peuvent réserver une expérience aux restaurants en téléphonant au 902-733-3552.  Le menu du jour varie selon la saison.  Pour connaître nos options de menu et la possibilité d'accomoder vos besoins alimentaires, communiquez avec nous.

Expérience culinaire - Heures d'ouverture
ÉtablissementExpérienceHeures d'ouverture
Maison Grandchamp basse classe 
(repas à la bonne franquette)
du 1er juillet au 25 août
(dès 10 h 30)
Hôtel de la Marine classe supérieure
(repas en tenue soignée)
du 1er juillet au 25 août
(dès 11 h)
Hôtel de la Marine basse classe 
(repas à la bonne franquette)
du 26 août à l'Action de Grâces
(dès 10 h 30)
Café l'Épée Royale café de la Fête de la Reine à l'Action de Grâces
(dès 10 h)

Lorsque la Forteresse de Louisbourg est fermée, les programmes en dehors des heures d'ouverture de l'Association de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg prennent le relais. L'Association de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg offre aussi des programmes enrichis qui se déroulent en journée ou en soirée.

Dans les rues animées ou sur le littoral sauvage, une visite à la Forteresse de Louisbourg est l'occasion de nombreuses expériences inoubliables.