Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site of Canada

Our Interpretation

A girl in costume having fun at the Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site
There's fun for all ages at the Fortress of Louisbourg!
© Parks Canada

A visit to the Fortress of Louisbourg offers an experience that stimulates all of the senses. From the sounds of music and carts rolling down the street to the smell of baking bread and the taste of period meals; from the feel of period fabrics to the scent of gunpowder in the air, the senses come alive at the site, as visitors immerse themselves in another place in time. Each summer, costumed interpreters paint the picture of life as it happened in the 18th century. The sights and sounds of the 18th century are visible in period homes, exhibits, theme centres and along the waterfront. Here, visitors may stroll alongside the citizens of historic Louisbourg who bring to life the leisurely activities of the rich along with the back-breaking work of the fishermen, soldiers and servants.

Costumed staff in three period restaurants prepare and serve delicious food and beverages based on 18th century recipes, including steaming hot chocolate flavoured with spices from around the world. Visitors can enjoy a modern snack in the coffee shop or visit the King's Bakery and buy a soldier's daily ration of bread.

Two visitors interact with a costumed interpreter
Two visitors interact with a costumed animator
© Parks Canada

There are as many different ways to experience this Site as there are different visitors. Visitors can experience a cannon firing, observe other military demonstrations or visit the home of a military officer, fisherman or town administrator. They can learn about the role of religion, crime and punishment, explore history, or choose to learn more about the various cultures central to the Louisbourg story, including that of the Mi'kmaq. Others may prefer to simply enjoy the views or explore the rugged coastline by walking trails such as the Royal Battery Trail or enjoying the beaches and picnic areas nestled along the rugged Louisbourg shoreline, including Kennington Cove, the site of Wolfe's Landing.

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg

Notre interprétation

Une fille en coustume qui s'amuse au lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg
Il y a du plaisir pour tous les âges à la Forteresse de Louisbourg
© Parcs Canada

Une visite à la Forteresse de Louisbourg est un plaisir pour les sens. La musique et le bruit des chariots dans la rue, la douce odeur du pain chaud et la saveur des repas d'époque, le contact avec les tissus d'antan et la senteur de la poudre à fusil qui flotte dans l'air, tout se conjugue pour éveiller les sens dans cet endroit d'un autre temps. Tous les étés, des interprètes en costume donnent une image de la vie au 18e siècle. Les couleurs et les sons de l'époque sont palpables dans les maisons, les expositions, les centres thématiques et le long du front de mer. Ici, le visiteur côtoie les citoyens du Louisbourg d'autrefois qui vaquent à leurs occupations, peu fatigantes pour les riches, mais éreintantes pour les pêcheurs, les soldats et les serviteurs.

Dans deux restaurants d'époque, des employés en costume préparent et servent des boissons et des aliments savoureux apprêtés selon les recettes du temps, notamment du chocolat chaud parfumé d'épices du monde entier. Le visiteur peut se faire servir un goûter des temps modernes au café ou acheter la ration quotidienne de pain du soldat à la boulangerie du Roi.

Deux visiteurs en plein conversation avec un animateur en costume
Deux visiteurs en plein conversation avec un animateur en costume
© Parcs Canada

Il y a autant de façons de découvrir le lieu qu'il y a de visiteurs. Ceux-ci peuvent, en effet, assister au tir du canon, observer d'autres manoeuvres militaires ou visiter la maison d'un officier, d'un pêcheur ou d'un administrateur municipal. Ils peuvent aussi s'informer sur la religion, le crime et le châtiment, l'histoire ou sur les diverses cultures qui ont influencé la vie à Louisbourg, notamment la culture mi'kmaq. D'autres préfèrent tout simplement admirer la vue ou explorer le littoral escarpé en empruntant les sentiers de randonnée comme celui de la Batterie Royale ou profiter de la plage et des aires de pique-nique blotties le long de la côte accidentée, y compris l'anse Kennington, lieu du Débarquement-de-Wolfe.