Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site of Canada

Walking Trails

Our walking trails, which help tell the stories of Louisbourg, are located outside the walls of the Fortress of Louisbourg including areas across the harbour and along the shores of the North Atlantic. Use of these trails is at your own risk.

Accessibility of the trails varies as some of these trails are within gated areas. The gated trails include the Mi'kmaw Trail and Wolfe's Redoubt Trail. The Simon's Point Trail is also gated and somewhat difficult to access when the gate is closed. There are no gates to consider when accessing the Lighthouse Trail or the Royal Battery Trail.

It is important to know that the Kennington Cove Road is not always easily accessible. Weather, variable road conditions and time of year are some factors that affect accessibility. During times when the road is gated, please be mindful of the extra distance required to access some of these trails.


Lighthouse Trail

Located across the harbour from the Fortress of Louisbourg, the Lighthouse Trail runs along the coastline offering visitors of all skill levels the opportunity for an enjoyable experience. With unsurpassed vistas, this 2 kilometre (1.28 miles) walk leads visitors around a looped trail with interpretive panels explaining the area's significance including its flora and fauna. Beyond this loop is a rugged trail currently being developed by the Coastal Connections Trail Association, an association solely dedicated to this Lighthouse Trail. This rugged section is wet in places and sturdy footwear is recommended. For those who desire to offer some financial support to this Trail Association, you will find a trailhead sign erected each spring and a donation box that enables supporters to contribute to the cost of maintaining the Lighthouse Trail. There are also small wooden donation boxes available at various businesses within the modern community.

To access the trail year-round, locate and travel along Havenside Road, situated in the modern community of Louisbourg and follow the "Lighthouse" signs. You will note the iconic lighthouse situated on this site. This is the site of the first lighthouse in Canada (1734). Interpretive panels help explain the history of this pivotal spot.


Mi'kmaw Trail

Located across from the Parks Canada Visitor Centre, the Mi'kmaw trail offers a looped 351 metre (0.22 mile) wooded walk with interpretive panels describing Mi'kmaw history and culture. Parking is available a short distance away at the Royal Battery Trail. The trailhead is marked with a sign. At the top of the trail is a look-off that affords you a panoramic view of the harbour. To access this trail when the Parks Canada Visitor Centre is closed, please park at the Royal Battery Trail entrance on Route 22 and walk to the trailhead.


Royal Battery Trail

Located on Route 22 just past the entrance to the Parks Canada Visitor Centre, this short 678 metre (0.42 mile) looped walk skirts the outline of a major French defence work, the once impressive Royal Battery. Given the nature of this trail, there is no actual trailhead. Interpretive panels and a spectacular view of the harbour, the Fortress of Louisbourg, and the lighthouse combine to offer memorable visual experiences for many visitors. Parking is available. Open daily year-round.


Wolfe's Redoubt Trail

Located near the Parks Canada Visitor Centre, across from the exit of Lot #5, this short 178 metre (0.11 mile) accessible trail leads to an earthen-work redoubt built under the command of General James Wolfe during the second siege. Parking is available a short distance away at the Royal Battery Trail. The trailhead is marked with a sign. To access this trail during the shoulder season or off-season, please park at the Royal Battery Trail entrance on Route 22 and walk to the trailhead.


Simon's Point Trail

Located two kilometres from Gate 2 down the Kennington Cove Road, Simon's Point Trail offers a short but rugged 800 meter (0.5 mile) walk to the mouth of Freshwater Brook and the ocean. It travels through the area once used by attackers in both sieges. There is limited parking available along the roadside. There is no trailhead sign on this trail. When Kennington Cove Road is closed due to conditions, an additional two kilometre (1.25 mile) walk along Kennington Cove Road is required to gain access to this trail.


Ruins Walk

A must-have experience for those who wish to wander among the rich and truly untouched cultural resources of the Fortress of Louisbourg, the Ruins Walk offers visitors an incredibly unique opportunity. The Ruins Walk is a 2.3 kilometre (1.44 mile) trail through the remains of the original 18th century town. Accessible from the reconstructed town (starting at #31A), a voice box at the trailhead panel orients visitors to the Ruins Walk and works. The voice box is operated by continuously turning the handle. Interpretive panels along the trail provide information on significant features. Please note that the footing is uneven. The views can be spectacular; the opportunity to walk among so much of what was can be a fascinating part of any site visit. The experience of the Ruins Walk helps visitors to place the interpretive experience of the reconstructed town in its proper context.

Visitors are welcome to rent a hand-held Explora unit. These units provide in-depth stories and images to promote better understanding of the parts of the Fortress of Louisbourg that haven't been reconstructed and the environmental changes that threaten them. The hand-held units can be rented by paying the applicable fees at the Benoist Boutique (#42) or the De la Plagne House (#34).

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg

Sentiers de randonnée

Nos sentiers de randonnée, qui contribuent à répandre les récits sur Louisbourg, se trouvent à l'extérieur des murailles de la Forteresse; entre autres, de l'autre côté du havre et le long du littoral. Sachez que vous vous y engagez à vos propres risques.

L'accessibilité de ces sentiers est variable; certains (le Sentier Mi'kmaw et le Sentier de la Redoute de Wolfe) ont une barrière à l'entrée. La barrière à l'entrée du Sentier de la pointe à Simon peut rendre poser problème à certaines personnes à mobilité réduite. Pour ce qui est du Sentier du Phare ou du Sentier de la Batterie royale par contre, il n'y a aucune barrière.

Il est important de noter que le chemin de l'anse Kennington n'est pas toujours facile d'accès. Le mauvais temps, le moment de l'année peuvent avoir leur influence sur les conditions routières. Lorsque le chemin est barré, rappelez-vous qu'il faudra marcher encore plus longtemps pour arriver à certains des sentiers.


Sentier du Phare

En face de la Forteresse de Louisbourg, le Sentier du Phare, de l'autre côté du havre, longe le littoral avec une vue imprenable. Avec sa boucle longue de 2 kilomètres (1,28 mille), il convient à tous les marcheurs, offrant des panneaux d'interprétation sur la faune et la flore de la région. Plus loin, on trouvera un autre sentier, en cours d'aménagement par la Coastal Connections Trail Association, qui s'occupe aussi de l'entretien du Sentier du Phare. Pour ce parcours assez accidenté et parfois humide, on recommande de bonnes chaussures de marche. Si vous désirez soutenir financièrement l'organisme, vos dons sont les bienvenus (au printemps, une boîte de don avec un écriteau est posée au début du sentier). Au village de Louisbourg, certaines entreprises ont également des boîtes de don.

Pour vous rendre au sentier à n'importe quel moment de l'année, prenez le chemin Havenside, le long du havre à partir du village, et suivez les indications pour le phare de Louisbourg. À noter que ce dernier, désormais une icône reconnaissable, se trouve sur l'emplacement du premier phare au Canada (1734). Des panneaux d'interprétation vous en présentent l'historique.


Sentier Mi'kmaw

En face du centre d'accueil des visiteurs de Parcs Canada, le Sentier Mi'kmaw offre, sous forme d'un parcours en boucle de 351 mètres (0,22 mille), une marche en forêt avec panneaux d'interprétation sur l'histoire et la culture du peuple Mi'kmaw. Un terrain de stationnement se trouve tout près, aux alentours du Sentier de la Batterie royale. Le point de départ du sentier est indiqué. Au sommet, on a une vue panoramique sur le havre. Pour s'y rendre lorsque le centre d'accueil des visiteurs de Parcs Canada est fermé, il faut se garer près du début du Sentier de la Batterie royale, route 22.


Sentier de la Batterie royale

Sur la route 22, juste après le chemin d'accès vers le centre d'accueil des visiteurs de Parcs Canada, ce court sentier d'une longueur de 678 mètres (0,42 mille), sans point de départ particulier, contourne un ouvrage de défense majeur des Français, l'impressionnante Batterie royale. Inoubliable, la vue sur la Forteresse de Louisbourg, le havre et le phare. S'ajoutent des panneaux d'interprétation pour rehausser l'expérience. Stationnement disponible; ouvert toute l'année.


Sentier de la Redoute de Wolfe

À proximité du centre d'accueil des visiteurs de Parcs Canada, en face de la sortie du stationnement no 5, ce sentier court de 178 mètres (0,11 mille) mène à une redoute érigée sous les ordres du général James Wolfe, pendant le second siège de la Forteresse. Le début du sentier est indiqué. On peut se garer non loin, là où se trouve le Sentier de la Batterie royale. Pour y accéder pendant l'intersaison ou la basse saison, se garer à l'entrée du Sentier de la Batterie royale, sur la route 22, et se rendre à pied jusqu'au point de départ du sentier.


Sentier de la pointe à Simon

À 2 kilomètres de la Porte 2 à partir du chemin de l'anse Kennington, le Sentier de la pointe à Simon présente 800 mètres (0,5 mille) d'un trajet court, mais plutôt accidenté vers l'embouchure du ruisseau Freshwater, qui se jette dans la mer. Cette zone a servi aux attaquants lors des deux sièges de la ville. L'espace de stationnement est limité le long de la route. Il n'y a pas d'indication de point de départ. Lorsque le chemin de l'anse Kennington est fermé aux véhicules en raison des mauvaises conditions de route, il faut compter 2 kilomètres (1,25 mille) de plus à marcher dans ce chemin pour aboutir au sentier.


Le Sentier des Ruines

Le Sentier des Ruines, un parcours de 2,3 kilomètres (1,44 mille) à travers des ruines encore intactes, offre une occasion extraordinaire à quiconque souhaite se promener parmi les vestiges culturels de la ville d'origine. Accessible à partir de la ville reconstruite (voir le no 31A), il prend son départ à l'emplacement d'un panneau d'orientation et d'une boîte vocale (à actionner en tournant la manivelle). Le long du sentier, d'autres panneaux présentent de l'information utile. On fera attention aux inégalités du sol. Le panorama peut être spectaculaire; ce tronçon de la visite à la Forteresse peut s'avérer des plus fascinants, en ce qu'il donne une idée de l'ampleur de la reconstruction.

Les visiteurs sont invités à obtenir un appareil Explora, à louer à la Boutique Benoist (no 42) ou à la Maison de la Plagne (no 34). Cet appareil sert à recevoir de l'information (texte, images) afin de mieux comprendre les parties non reconstruites de la Forteresse de Louisbourg et les changements environnementaux qui menacent leur préservation.