Common menu bar links

Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site of Canada

Unsupervised Beaches

Kennington Cove
Kennington Cove
© Parks Canada

Kennington Cove and Anson's Cove

The Wolfe's Landing National Historic Site (Kennington Cove area) is adorned by two spectacular beaches. They are located along the Kennington Cove Road. The first beach, where James Wolfe landed in 1758, is Kennington Cove. The second beach found at the end of the road is called Anson's Cove. There are a limited number of parking spaces available at each beach. A short walk through the woods is required to access Anson's Cove.

Popular during the warmest days of summer and fall, these unsupervised beaches offer rustic services such as outhouses and picnic tables. During the summer, special events are organized by a number of different groups and organizations.  There may be special events that take place at the beaches where supervision of the beaches is provided.

Rip tides are known to occur at the unsupervised beaches. Therefore, caution should be used at all times, especially when swimming. Users of the beaches and facilities do so at their own risk.  Consumption of alcohol is not permitted in our unlicensed public places.

Anson's Cove
Anson's Cove
© Parks Canada

Stewards of Our Locations

Responsible behaviour and respect for fellow users and the environment will help ensure that Parks Canada and the local community can continue to make its sites, trails, and beach areas accessible to visitors.

We encourage you to work with us to minimize negative impacts on our environment.

When on our trails and beaches, please be responsible and join with us in caring for our environment. Take your garbage with you. Our wildlife will benefit from your good stewardship. Other visitors and our future generations will be thankful.

Lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg

Plages non supervisées

Anse Kennington
Anse Kennington
© Parcs Canada

Anse Kennington et anse d'Anson

Le lieu national historique du Débarquement de Wolfe (secteur de l'anse Kennington) renferme deux plages spectaculaires, le long du chemin de l'anse Kennington. La première de ces plages, lieu de débarquement de James Wolfe et de ses troupes en 1758, est celle de l'anse Kennington. La seconde, plus loin et au bout de la route, est celle de l'anse d'Anson. Le stationnement est limité. Pour accéder à l'anse d'Anson, il faut une courte marche dans le bois.

Par temps chaud en été et en automne, ces plages non supervisées offrent des services essentiels (toilettes sommaires, tables de pique-nique). Les plages ne sont pas supervisées. Durant la saison estivale, nombre de groupes et d'organisations y organisent des activités. Il y a parfois des activités spéciales avec supervision des plages.

Comme il se produit parfois de grosses vagues, il faut faire preuve de prudence en tout temps, surtout dans l'eau. Quiconque utilise les plages et les installations le fait à son propre risque. Il est interdit de consommer de l'alcool ailleurs que dans les endroits avec permis d'alcool.

Anse Anson's
Anse d'Anson
© Parcs Canada

Gardiens de nos sites

Le fait de se comporter de manière responsable et respectueuse d'autrui et de l'environnement aide Parcs Canada et la collectivité locale à continuer de garder ces sites, sentiers et plages accessibles aux visiteurs.

Nous vous invitons donc à la coopération, de sorte à minimiser tout impact négatif sur l'environnement.

Lorsque vous fréquentez les sentiers et les plages, agissez de manière responsable; collaborez avec nous pour protéger l'environnement. Ne laissez pas traîner d'ordures. La faune et la flore bénéficieront de votre attention à cet égard. Les prochains visiteurs et les générations futures vous en sauront gré.