Common menu bar links

Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site of Canada

Geocaching

Geocaching
Geocaching at the Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site
© Parks Canada

Geocaching is a modern treasure hunt – a new sport that is growing in popularity with people of all ages. Given the latitudinal and longitudinal co-ordinates, participants use their GPS (Global Positioning System) unit to locate the hidden "cache", a small box with a logbook to record their visit.

The Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site is pleased to offer numerous geocaches hiding in and around the nooks and crannies of this 18th century fortified town. Hunt for caches and learn fascinating facts about Louisbourg.

To participate, here's what you need to do:

If you enjoyed your geocaching experience at the Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site, be sure to check out our geocache program at Cape Breton Highlands National Park.

Geocaching in National Parks and National Historic Sites

National parks are special places, protected for Canadians today, tomorrow, and into the future. Parks Canada has special guidelines for geocaching at their sites. For example, no caches will be buried or off trail, and it is not permitted to place trade items of any kind in the boxes. Geocachers who want to place a cache must meet with a Parks Canada geocaching resource staff person to obtain an authorization seal prior to placing a cache.  Please contact us at 902-733-3552 for more information.

For more information:

Parks Canada Geocaching Information 
Parks Canada Visitor Activity Guidelines

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg

Géocachette

La géocachette au lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg
La géocachette au lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg 
© Parcs Canada

La géocachette est une course au trésor des temps modernes – un nouveau sport qui gagne en popularité auprès des gens de tous âges. À l'aide des coordonnées (latitude et longitude), les participants utilisent leur GPS (système de positionnement global) pour localiser la cache où se trouve une petite boîte contenant un calepin dans lequel ils peuvent enregistrer leur visite.

Le lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg a le plaisir de vous proposer plusieurs géocaches dissimulées dans les coins et recoins de cette ville fortifiée du 18e siècle. Partez à la chasse aux objets cachés et découvrez des choses fascinantes au sujet de Louisbourg.

Voici comment participer :

Si vous avez aimé votre expérience de géocachette au lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg, ne manquez pas de vous renseigner sur le programme de géocachette au parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton.

La géocachette dans les parcs nationaux et les lieux historiques nationaux

Les parcs nationaux et les lieux historiques nationaux sont des lieux spéciaux qui sont protégés pour le bénéfice des Canadiens d'aujourd'hui et de demain. Parcs Canada a établi des lignes directrices précises pour la pratique de la géocachette sur ses propriétés. Par exemple, aucune cache n'est enterrée ou dissimulée à l'écart des sentiers, et il est interdit de placer des objets d'échange dans les boîtes.  Les participants désireux de placer quelque chose devront au préalable obtenir l'autorisation d'un membre du personnel préposé à la géocachette; composez le 902-733-3552 pour plus de détails.

Pour en savoir davantage, cliquez sur les liens ci-dessous : 

Parcs Canada souhaite la bienvenue aux géocacheurs 
Lignes directrices de Parcs Canada pour les activités proposées aux visiteurs