Common menu bar links

Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site of Canada

Get Involved

Get Involved

The Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site is protected and presented for the benefit of all Canadians. We invite you to be part of the story. Whether as visitors, volunteers, vendors, artists or musicians, students or partners there are plenty of opportunities available to get involved.


Volunteer opportunities

Volunteers have been an integral part in what makes the Fortress of Louisbourg a special place for those that visit from all over the world. Volunteers have the opportunity to immerse themselves in the experience through opportunities that a visitor would not regularly have access to.

There are a variety of activities and experiences for volunteers at the Fortress of Louisbourg, including:

  • Supporting special events 
  • Video and photography support 
  • Artists (painters, crafters, musicians) showcasing their work 
  • Musicians and dancers 
  • Archaeology 
  • Presenters 
  • Re-enactors

We like to encourage volunteers to connect with the Fortress of Louisbourg in ways that meet their interests. If there are other opportunities that would be of interest to you please let us know!

Benefits of volunteering with Parks Canada:

  • Connect with and share in the history of the Fortress of Louisbourg 
  • See what happens behind the scenes at the site 
  • Meet new people 
  • Experience the place like you never have before.

You can apply to be a volunteer at the Fortress of Louisbourg by following this link to the volunteer application form.

Parks Canada works with the Fortress Louisbourg Association (FLA) to provide volunteer opportunities. The FLA is a volunteer cooperating association dedicated to enhancing experiences through enriched programming at the Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site and in the community of Louisbourg. More information on their programs and activities, or to become a member of the association can be found here.

Student opportunities

The Fortress of Louisbourg provides a number of student opportunities during various parts of the year. Student positions typically include interpretation and acting, communications and media support.

It is important that interested students apply to the Federal Student Work Experience Program (FSWEP). The federal staffing process includes referrals from this site. The Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site also offers limited internship opportunities.

Artists, artisans, musicians, performers and vendors

We encourage individuals or groups to contact us to discuss where there may be opportunities to demonstrate their skills and connect to the place throughout the visitor season. There will also be opportunities available for people to show and sell their wares during various events throughout the season.


Partnering

Parks Canada and the Fortress Louisbourg Association are always looking for not-for-profit and for-profit community partners who may have an interest in expanding on and enhancing our offer through mutually beneficial collaboration. Through strong partnerships we are able to provide new and unique opportunities to benefit Canadians.


Contact us

For these or other ways to get involved, email us, call 902-733-3501, or check out our social media channels:

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg

Impliquez-vous

Impliquez-vous

Le lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg est protégé et mis en valeur au bénéfice de tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes. Nous vous invitons à faire partie de l’histoire. Que vous soyez visiteur, bénévole, vendeur, artiste, musicien, étudiant ou partenaire, il existe de nombreuses possibilités de vous impliquer.


Possibilités de bénévolat

Les bénévoles font partie intégrante de ce qui rend la Forteresse de Louisbourg un endroit spécial pour les visiteurs de partout dans le monde. Les bénévoles ont l’occasion de se plonger dans l’expérience grâce à des possibilités auxquelles le visiteur n’aurait pas normalement accès.

Il existe une variété d’activités et d’expériences pour les bénévoles à la Forteresse de Louisbourg, y compris :

  • Soutien aux activités spéciales
  • Soutien en video et photographie
  • Artistes (peintres, artisans, musiciens) présentant leurs œuvres
  • Musiciens et danseurs
  • Archéologie
  • Présentateurs
  • Reconstituteurs

Nous voulons encourager les bénévoles à découvrir la Forteresse de Louisbourg selon leurs intérêts. S’il y a d’autres possibilités qui vous intéresseraient, veuillez nous le faire savoir!

Avantages du bénévolat chez Parcs Canada :

  • Découvrir et partager l’histoire de la Forteresse de Louisbourg
  • Voir ce qui se passe en arrière-scène au lieu historique 
  • Rencontrez des gens nouveaux 
  • Faire l’expérience de l’endroit comme jamais auparavant.

Vous pouvez devenir bénévole à la Forteresse de Louisbourg en suivant ce lien vers le formulaire bénévole.

Parcs Canada collabore avec l’Association de la Forteresse de Louisbourg (AFL) afin de fournir des occasions de bénévolat. L’AFL est une association coopérante bénévole vouée à la mise en valeur des expériences grâce à la programmation enrichie qu’elle offre au Lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg et dans la collectivité de Louisbourg. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur leurs programmes et activités, ou pour devenir membre de l’association, cliquez ici.

Possibilités pour les étudiants

La Forteresse de Louisbourg offre de nombreuses possibilités pour les étudiants durant diverses périodes de l’année. Les postes étudiants portent typiquement sur l’interprétation et les arts dramatiques, les communications et le soutien des médias.

Les étudiants intéressés doivent postuler en ligne au Programme fédéral d’expérience de travail étudiant (PFETE). Le processus de dotation fédéral tient compte des demandes acheminées par le biais de ce site Web. Le Lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg offre également certaines possibilités de stages.

Artistes, artisans, musiciens, interprètes et vendeurs

Nous invitons les particuliers et les groupes à nous contacter pour discuter des occasions qui leur permettraient de démontrer leurs talents et d’apprendre à mieux connaître le lieu historique durant la saison touristique. De plus, il y aura des occasions où les vendeurs pourront montrer et vendre leurs marchandises lors des divers événements organisés tout au long de la saison.


Partenariat

Parcs Canada et l’Association de la Forteresse de Louisbourg sont toujours à la recherche de partenaires communautaires du secteur à but non lucratif et du secteur à but lucratif qui s’intéresseraient à élargir ou améliorer notre offre par l’entremise d’une collaboration mutuellement avantageuse. Grâce à de solides partenariats nous sommes en mesure d’offrir de nouvelles et uniques possibilités pour le bénéfice des Canadiens et des Canadiennes.


Communiquez avec nous

Pour découvrir comment vous impliquer, envoyez-nous un courriel, appelez au 902-733-3501, ou consultez nos chaînes de médias sociaux :