Common menu bar links

Parks Canada - Mainland Nova Scotia

Special Events 2015

Visit this page regularly as additional events will be added.


Special Events by Month
June
July
August
September
October

June

Saturday, June 6th - Sunday, June 7th – Old Town Clock OPEN for Annual Doors Open Event
Halifax Citadel National Historic Site
A special opportunity to peek inside the Old Town Clock during Halifax’s 2015 Doors Open event. 

Saturday, June 13th – Canada and the Great War
Halifax Citadel National Historic Site
Join Parks Canada and partners as they present visitors with a unique opportunity to learn more about this important chapter in Canada’s history. Visitors will discover aspects of life on the Western Front in our new Trench Experience, watch displays of battle tactics, talk to uniformed interpreters, and see unique artifacts and special films. The Army Museum's exhibit, Road to Vimy and Beyond, honours the sacrifice of the soldiers, many of them from Nova Scotia.

Sunday, June 21st – National Aboriginal Day
Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site

Celebrate Mi’kmaw culture at Kejimkujik and enjoy special tours, drumming, singing, and cultural demonstrations. Meet traditional Mi’kmaw crafters and artists and modern-day Mi’kmaw professionals.
 

July

Wednesday, July 1st – Canada Day – FREE Admission
Halifax Citadel National Historic Site

Celebrate Canada’s 148th birthday at the official Halifax City celebration inside the walls of the historic Halifax Citadel. It all starts with the firing of the iconic noon cannon followed by the traditional 21-gun salute. Enjoy bands, choirs, military drill and don’t miss the official Canada Day cake served by a 78th Highlander. The Canadian flag turns 50 this year – don’t miss the opportunity to salute the flag with a special birthday greeting – stay tuned for details.

Wednesday, July 1st – Canada Day
Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site
FREE ADMISSION and FREE CUPCAKES – great way to kick off the summer! Official launch of the new KEJI CLUB Program, the Friends of Keji Photo Contest, and the fantastic 2015 Interpretation Programs – don’t miss the excitement.

Wednesday, July 1st – Canada Day
Fort Anne National Historic Site

Celebrate Canada’s birthday – one year closer to Canada’s150th! Engage all your senses; sing “O Canada” as you proudly watch the flag raised at Town Hall, join the procession to Fort Anne’s parade square, taste delicious Canada Day cake, play a round of croquet, listen to musical entertainment and enjoy games for the whole family. 12-3pm. FREE ADMISSION at Fort Anne and Port-Royal.

Sunday, July 12th – Mi’kmaq Culture Days
Port-Royal National Historic Site

Listen for the beat of the community drum, sing the “Happy Chant,” and experience Mi’kmaw traditions, history and lifestyle in this special day highlighting Mi’kmaw culture. Visit the wigwam and try your hand at a game of “waltes”. 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Saturday, July 18th – Sunday, July 19th – Poppies in July
Halifax Citadel National Historic Site
This year marks the 100th anniversary of Dr. John McCrae’s composition of the poem “In Flanders’ Fields,” the most widely recognized verse written during World War I. Join us to learn about the enormous sacrifices made by McCrae and his comrades in the Canadian Corps of during the “Great War” of 1914-18, discover life in the trenches of Flanders by touring our expanded Trench Experience, learn about the medical practices of the day, watch military demonstrations and performances of music from the time of the First World War.

Saturday, July 18th – Kejimkujik Storytelling Festival on Parks Day
Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site
The traditions of Mi’kmaw culture and experiences of nature are yours to discover through the art of storytelling. Tell your own stories and enter the second annual ‘Keji Creative Writing Competition’.

Saturday, July 18th – Parks Day
Fort Anne National Historic Site
Join us as we pay homage to the First World War, and World War II with the launch of enhanced special exhibits in the Fort Anne Officers’ Quarters.

Friday, July 31st - Sunday, August 2nd – Encampment Days
Fort Anne National Historic Site
Enjoy the sights, smells, and sounds of black powder musketry, outdoor cooking and life in an 18th century military camp. The 84th Regiment of Foot 2nd Battalion (Royal Highland Emigrants) create a vivid picture of the conditions of centuries-old military life.  Don’t miss the tactical battle featuring 18th century military techniques on Sat (weather permitting). The action starts Friday night and runs through noon on Sunday. 

August

Saturday, August 1st – Kejimkujik’s 46th Bday Party
Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site
Celebrate Keji’s birthday with FREE cupcakes and refreshments.  Fun activities for campers and visitors. Play the Friends of Keji Birthday Game and sign up for a chance to get famous at “Keji’s Got Talent” popular talent show.

Friday, August 7th – Sunday, August 9th – Kejimkujik Dark Sky Weekend
Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site

Search Keji’s spectacular night skies for planets, galaxies, constellations and much more in Nova Scotia’s Dark Sky Preserve. There will be stories and discoveries for all ages.  Camp or stay close by – you don’t want to miss the show! Presented with the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada (RASC).

Sunday, August 9th - Construction Traditions
Port-Royal National Historic Site

Interact with craftsmen who will share their skill and knowledge of the techniques used to reconstruct the Habitation almost 75 years ago. Hewing timbers, making shingles, turning wood and blacksmithing are some of the unique crafts you will enjoy. Imagine how proud the craftsmen of old would be to know that today the Habitation represents a milestone in the heritage preservation movement in Canada. 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Saturday, August 15th – Sunday, August 16th – Historic Cricket
Fort Anne National Historic Site

Cricket anyone? The crack of willow on leather will once again be heard in the Ancient Home of Cricket in Nova Scotia. Fort Anne will host a pair of 20 over cricket matches. The matches, complete with a traditional tea break between innings, will be contested wearing uniforms of the 1890s. Introductory workshops will be offered at 10am on both days.

Friday, August 21th – Freedom of the City
Halifax Citadel National Historic Site

Join the Halifax Citadel’s own 78th Highlanders as they exercise the Freedom of the City of Halifax by parading through the downtown with drums beating, colours flying and bayonets fixed. The march to Grand Parade and Government House follows a special inspection of the squad starting at 11am inside the historic fort. Don’t miss the pageantry!

Saturday, August 22nd – Sunday, August 23rd – Kejimkujik Canoe Fest
Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site

For thousands of years the canoe has been the best way to travel through Kejimkujik’s inter-connected rivers, lakes and streams, providing the finest canoeing in Atlantic Canada! Enjoy a fun-filled weekend with canoeing and kayaking demonstrations, clinics and activities – perfect for the beginner and seasoned paddler.  Presented with Canoe/Kayak Nova Scotia.

Sunday, August 23rd – Mi’kmaq Culture Days
Port-Royal National Historic Site

Listen for the beat of the community drum, sing the “Happy Chant,” and experience Mi’kmaw traditions, history and lifestyle in this special day highlighting Mi’kmaw culture.  Visit the wigwam and try your hand at a game of “waltes”. 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm

September

Saturday September 12th – Port-Royal Fun Family Festival
Port-Royal National Historic Site

Fly a kite, bring a picnic and a lawn chair – enjoy some music, give Parka a hug, and visit the Habitation in a special family day sponsored by the Municipality of the County of Annapolis and co-hosted with Parks Canada. 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Saturday, September 19th - Sunday, September 20th – Revolutionary War Encampment
Halifax Citadel National Historic Site
Find out what life was like at the time of the American Revolution at our annual living history encampment, as up to one hundred historic re-enactors set up an authentic military camp in the Citadel’s ditch. Special displays will include a mock battle, camp cooking and costumes of the period, musket and cannon firings, and displays of military medical techniques.

Saturday, September 19th – International Observe the Moon Night
Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site
Calling all luna-lovers!  International Observe the Moon Night (InOMN) is an annual event that is dedicated to encouraging people to ‘look up’ and take notice of our nearest neighbor, the Moon. Join Parks Canada as Kejimkujik celebrates the moon inside the Dark Sky Preserve through stories and observation programs. 

October

Friday, October 9th – Sunday, October 11th – Thanksgiving Weekend at Kejimkujik
Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site
Soak up the brilliant colours of fall at Kejimkujik with friends and family – it’s a Keji tradition!  Enjoy the annual Pumpkin Carving Contest, the Haunted Jaunt, and take the plunge at the annual Cold Turkey swim.

Saturday, October 17th - Sunday, October 18th – Remembering the World Wars
Halifax Citadel National Historic Site
Parks Canada and volunteer living history enthusiasts present a special display illustrating the Canada’s involvement in the two world conflict inside the walls of the Halifax Citadel National Historic Site. The display will include a WWI trench, a WWI obstacle course, uniforms, weapons, models and costumed re-enactors. The Army Museum's exhibit, Road to Vimy and Beyond, tells the story of how Nova Scotia and Canada contributed to the Allied victory with a focus on the individual soldiers and units that took part in the Great War.

Parcs Canada - Nouvelle-Écosse continentale

Activités spéciales 2015

Visitez cette page régulièrement pour les ajouts de nouveaux événements.

juin

Samedi, 6 juin et dimanche, 7 juin – Portes ouvertes à la vieille tour de l’horloge
Lieu historique national de la Citadelle-d’Halifax

Une activité spéciale qui permet aux visiteurs de jeter un coup d’œil à l’intérieur de la vieille tour de l’horloge, à l’occasion d’une activité Portes ouvertes 2015, à Halifax.

Samedi, 13 juin – Le Canada et la Grande Guerre
Lieu historique national de la Citadelle-d’Halifax

Parcs Canada et ses partenaires offrent aux visiteurs une occasion d’en apprendre davantage sur ce chapitre important de l’histoire du pays. Les visiteurs découvriront différents aspects de la vie du front occidental dans le cadre de la nouvelle expérience des tranchées. Ils pourront aussi voir des démonstrations de tactiques de guerre, parler à des interprètes en uniforme, voir des artéfacts uniques et regarder des films spéciaux. L’exposition présentée par le Musée de l’Armée Road to Vimy and Beyond rend hommage aux sacrifices consentis par les soldats, dont bon nombre venaient de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Dimanche, 21 juin – Journée nationale des Autochtones
Parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik
Célébrez la culture et les traditions des Mi'kmaq à Kejimkujik. Visites spéciales, tambours, chants traditionnels et démonstrations culturelles vous attendent. Venez rencontrer des artisans et des artistes Mi’kmaq traditionnels, ainsi que des professionnels Mi’kmaq d’aujourd’hui.

juillet

Mercredi, 1er juillet – Fête du Canada – Entrée GRATUITE
Lieu historique national de la Citadelle-d’Halifax
Venez célébrer le 148e anniversaire du Canada à l’occasion des fêtes officielles organisées par la Ville d’Halifax, à l’intérieur des murs du lieu historique national de la Citadelle-d’Halifax. Le programme débute par le tir du canon de midi, qui sera suivi par la salve de 21 coups de canon habituelle. Venez entendre des groupes de musique, des chorales, et assister à des exercices militaires. Et ne manquez pas de goûter au gâteau officiel de la fête du Canada qui sera servi par le 78e régiment des Highlanders. Le drapeau du Canada aura 50 ans cette année. Soyez des nôtres pour le salut au drapeau et des souhaits d’anniversaire spéciaux. D’autres détails suivront.

Mercredi, 1er juillet – Fête du Canada
Parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik
ENTRÉE GRATUITE et PETITS GÂTEAUX GRATUITS – Quelle belle façon de commencer l’été! Le lancement du nouveau programme CLUB KEJI, le concours de photo organisé par les Amis de Keji et les fantastiques programmes d’interprétation 2015 – à ne pas manquer.

Mercredi, 1er juillet – Fête du Canada
Lieu historique national du Fort-Anne
Célébrez la fête du Canada – une année de plus parcourue en prévision du 150e du Canada! Réveillez tous vos sens; chantez le « Ô Canada » et assistez à la levée du drapeau à l’hôtel de ville. Prenez part à la procession sur la place du fort Anne, venez déguster un morceau de gâteau, jouer une partie de croquet, écouter de la musique divertissante et participer à des jeux pour toute la famille. De 12 h et 15 h. ENTRÉE GRATUITE à Fort-Anne et à Port-Royal.

Dimanche, 12 juillet – Journée de la culture Mi'kmaq
Lieu historique national de Port-Royal

Écoutez le rythme des tambours, entonnez la chanson de la joie et venez vivre les traditions, l’histoire, la musique, les chants, les jeux et le mode de vie de ce peuple, lors de cette journée consacrée à la culture Mi’kmaq. Visitez un wigwam et prenez part à une partie de « Waltes ». De 13 h à 16 h.

Samedi, 18 juillet et dimanche, 19 juillet – Des coquelicots en juillet
Lieu historique national de la Citadelle-d’Halifax
Cette année marque le 100e anniversaire du poème « Au champ d’honneur », composé par le Dr John McCrae, l’œuvre la plus connue ayant été écrite sur la Première Guerre mondiale. Venez en apprendre davantage sur les sacrifices énormes consentis par John McCrae et ses compagnons d’armes du Corps canadien durant la Grande Guerre de 1914-1918. Découvrez la vie dans les tranchées des Flandres en prenant part à notre exposition sur l’expérience des tranchées, apprenez à connaître les pratiques médicales de l’époque, assistez à des démonstrations militaires et à des prestations musicales du temps de la Première Guerre mondiale.

Samedi, 18 juillet – Festival du conte de Kejimkujik durant la Journée des parcs
Parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik

La culture des Mi’kmaq et leur lien avec la nature vous sont présentés grâce à l’art du conte. Racontez vos histoires et inscrivez-vous au concours de création littéraire Keji.

Samedi, 18 juillet – Journée des parcs
Lieu historique national du Fort-Anne
Venez commémorer la Première Guerre mondiale et la Seconde Guerre mondiale à l’occasion du lancement des expositions spéciales présentées dans le quartier des officiers du fort Anne.

Vendredi, 31 juillet au dimanche, 2 août – Journées de rassemblement
Lieu historique national du Fort-Anne
Imprégnez-vous de la vue, des odeurs et des sons du tir au fusil à la poudre noire, de la cuisine en plein air et de la vie dans un camp militaire du XVIIIe siècle. Le 2e Bataillon du 84e Régiment d’infanterie (Royal Highland Emigrants) vous offre un tableau vivant de ce qu’était la vie militaire à l’époque. Samedi, ne manquez pas le combat tactique montrant des techniques militaires du XVIIIe siècle (si la météo le permet). Les activités commencent vendredi soir et elles se poursuivront jusqu’à midi, le dimanche.

 

août

Samedi, 1er août – 46e anniversaire de Kejimkujik
Parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik

Venez célébrer l’anniversaire de Keji. Petits gâteaux et rafraîchissements vous seront servis GRATUITEMENT. Des activités amusantes sont organisées pour les campeurs et les visiteurs. Jouez au jeu d'anniversaire de Keji et courez la chance de devenir célèbre dans le cadre du populaire spectacle « Des talents à revendre à Keji ».

Vendredi, 7 août au dimanche, 9 août – Fin de semaine sous le ciel étoilé de Kejimkujik
Parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik
Venez observer le ciel étoilé de Keji et voyez-y des planètes, des galaxies, des constellations et d’autres beautés célestes dans la Réserve de ciel étoilé de la Nouvelle-Écosse! Des histoires et des découvertes attendent les visiteurs de tous les âges. Venez camper ou demeurez tout près du parc. Ne manquez pas ce beau spectacle, une présentation de la Société royale d’astronomie du Canada.

Dimanche, 9 août – Traditions de construction
Lieu historique national de Port-Royal

Venez rencontrer les divers artisans qui vous montreront leur savoir-faire et partageront leur connaissance des techniques qui ont été utilisées pour reconstruire l’Habitation de Port-Royal, il y a près de 75 ans. L’équarrissage du bois d’œuvre, la fabrication de bardeaux, le tournage du bois et le travail de forge sont des techniques qui sauront captiver votre intérêt. Imaginez à quel point les artisans de ce temps seraient fiers de savoir qu’aujourd’hui l’Habitation constitue un point marquant dans les efforts de mise en valeur du patrimoine canadien. De 13 h à 16 h.

Samedi, 15 août et dimanche, 16 août – Matchs de criquet
Lieu historique national du Fort-Anne
Un match de cricket? Le craquement du saule sur le cuir se fera ne nouveau entendre à l’Ancient Home of Cricket en Nouvelle-Écosse. Fort-Anne sera l’hôte de deux matchs de cricket de 20 manches. Ces matchs seront disputés par des concurrents en uniforme datant des années 1890. Le thé traditionnel sera servi entre les manches. Des ateliers d’initiation seront présentés à 10 h le matin les deux journées.

Vendredi, 21 août – Droit de cité
Lieu historique national de la Citadelle-d’Halifax
Joignez-vous au 78e régiment des Highlanders de la Citadelle d’Halifax qui exercera le droit de cité de la Ville d'Halifax en défilant dans les rues de la ville tambours battants, drapeaux flottants et baïonnettes au canon. Une inspection spéciale de l’escouade est prévue à 11 h à l’intérieur du fort après quoi, le défilé se dirigera à la place Grand Parade et à Government House. Une occasion emballante à ne pas manquer!

Samedi, 22 août et dimanche, 23 août – Festival du canot de Kejimkujik
Parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik
Pendant des milliers d’années, le canot a été le meilleur moyen de se déplacer sur les nombreux lacs, rivières et ruisseaux de Kejimkujik, l’un des meilleurs parcours de canotage du Canada atlantique! Venez passer une fin de semaine bien remplie de démonstrations, de cours pratiques et de sorties de canotage et de kayak – un choix idéal tant pour les débutants que pour les pagayeurs chevronnés. Une activité parrainée par Canoe Kayak Nova Scotia.

Dimanche, 23 août – Journée de la culture Mi'kmaq
Lieu historique national de Port-Royal

Écoutez le rythme des tambours, entonnez la chanson de la joie et venez vivre les traditions, l’histoire, la musique, les chants, les jeux et le mode de vie de ce peuple, lors de cette journée consacrée à la culture Mi’kmaq. Visitez un wigwam et prenez part à une partie de « Waltes ». De 13 h à 16 h.
 

septembre

Samedi, 12 septembre – Nuit internationale d’observation de la lune
Parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik

À ceux qui aiment la lune! La Nuit internationale d’observation de la lune est une activité annuelle qui invite les gens à regarder le ciel pour y voir notre plus proche voisine, la lune. Joignez-vous à Parcs Canada alors que Kejimkujik célèbre la lune dans la Réserve de ciel étoilé de la Nouvelle-Écosse dans le cadre de récits et de programmes d’observation.

Samedi, 12 septembre – Festival familial de Port-Royal
Lieu historique national de Port-Royal

Faites voler un cerf-volant, apportez un lunch pour un pique-nique et une chaise pliante – écoutez de la musique, donnez un câlin à Parka et visitez l’Habitation en cette belle journée familiale parrainée par la municipalité du comté de l’Annapolis et organisée en collaboration avec Parcs Canada. De 13 h à 16 h.

Samedi, 19 septembre et dimanche, 20 septembre – Rassemblement militaire de la Révolution
Lieu historique national de la Citadelle-d’Halifax
Voyez ce qu’était la vie à l’époque de la Révolution américaine à l’occasion du campement annuel d’histoire vivante, alors qu’une centaine d’interprètes en reconstitution historique établiront un camp militaire dans le fossé de la Citadelle. Les démonstrations comporteront des reconstitutions de batailles, de techniques culinaires dans les camps et de costumes d’époque, de tirs de canon et de mousquet, et de techniques médicales militaires.

octobre

Vendredi, 9 octobre au dimanche, 11 octobre – Fin de semaine de l'Action de grâces à Kejimkujik
Parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik

En compagnie d’amis et de membres de la famille, voyez les couleurs éclatantes de l’automne à Kejimkujik – une tradition propre à Keji! Participez au concours annuel de sculptures de citrouilles, à la randonnée hantée, et ne manquez pas la baignade « chair de poule » annuelle.

Samedi, 17 octobre et dimanche, 18 octobre – Commémoration des guerres mondiales
Lieu historique national de la Citadelle-d’Halifax
Parcs Canada et des amateurs d’histoire vivante présentent une exposition spéciale sur la participation du Canada aux deux guerres mondiales, à l’intérieur des murs du lieu historique national de la Citadelle-d’Halifax. Les visiteurs y verront une tranchée et un parcours à obstacle de la Première Guerre mondiale, des uniformes, des armes, des modèles d’époque et des interprètes en costumes d’époque. Le Musée de l’Armée présente l’exposition Road to Vimy and Beyond, qui raconte comment la Nouvelle-Écosse et le Canada ont contribué à la victoire des Alliés, en mettant en vedette les soldats et les unités qui ont pris part à la Grande Guerre.