Common menu bar links

Halifax Citadel National Historic Site of Canada

Special Events 2014

Canada Day concert Mascot with visitors
Canada Day
© Parks Canada/H. Thompson

Special Events by Month
June
July
August
September
October
Community Events
Community Events

June

June 7 and June 8 - Doors Open Halifax and the Old Town Clock

For Doors Open Halifax, from 10am to 4pm, Parks Canada will be giving people the chance to peek inside the ground level of the Old Town Clock, part of the Halifax Citadel National Historic Site. There will be historic images presenting a timeline of the Old Town Clock’s history as well as pictures of the upper floors and the clock’s mechanisms. From 1pm to 4pm each day, people will have the opportunity to visit with an historian. For safety reasons, the upper floors will not be available. For more information on Doors Open Halifax, visit www.DoorsOpenHalifax.com

June 7th - Halifax Citadel Commemoration Concert

Enjoy the sights and sounds of young musicians performing inside the historic walls of the Halifax Citadel National Historic Site. Performers from the Dartmouth All-City Senior Concert Band will join forces with the Cadet Tri-Service band to perform traditional music from this era dating back to the War of 1812.

June 7- 8th - Second World War D-Day Display

Join Parks Canada and the World War II Living History Association as they mark the 70th anniversary of D-Day (June 6, 1945) with the opportunity to tour displays inside the walls of the Halifax Citadel National Historic Site. Displays featuring uniformed re-enactors, dioramas, models and authentic period vehicles help tell the story of this historic milestone.


July

Tuesday, July 1st - Canada Day - FREE ADMISSION

The official HRM celebration continues to be a huge draw for Haligonians to celebrate the nation’s birthday. It all starts with the firing of the iconic noon cannon followed by the traditional 21-gun salute. Take in the Bands, choir, military drill and the official Canada Day cake served by a Highlander – be part of this annual historic celebration!

July 19th - Parks Day

Join Parks Canada as Canadians celebrate Parks Day by visiting local parks and Historic Sites across the country. At the Halifax Citadel National Historic Site, visitors can enjoy a showcase of pageantry and fun with the 78th Highlanders. Get up close to the noon gun, take your photo with a sentry and get a new appreciation for the bagpipes – who said history can’t be fun!


August

August 4th - 100th anniversary of the First World War

August 4th 2014 marks the 100th anniversary of the beginning of the First World War, and the Halifax Citadel is commemorating the event with a unique opportunity for all visitors to learn more about this important chapter in history. Listen as the people at the very heart of it recount key moments of the early hours of the Great War that was to forever change Canada. Get a sense of what it was like to enlist for service at a recruiting station, and find out how the brave men and women who served lived through these difficult times. Soldiers in WW1 uniforms, films and displayed artifacts give visitors a glimpse into wartime life. Witness the firing of four field guns - one for every year that the war lasted. Visit the Army Museum's newest exhibit, Road to Vimy and Beyond , which honours the sacrifice of the soldiers, many of them from Nova Scotia. The commemoration will begin after the noon gun firing, from 12:10 pm to 4 pm, on Monday August 4.

August 16th - Fab Forts

The Halifax Citadel, one of Great Britain’s most impressive forts, was built to protect a city, a culture and a way of life! Fab Forts Day is your opportunity to rediscover why the Citadel is so fabulous! Enjoy fun activities for the whole family; don’t miss the launch of Citadel Adventure, an exciting spy mission for kids that lets them find clues and save the fort! Catch the rifle firing demonstrations, enjoy the bagpipes and drums and watch soldiers as they carry out their military drills. It all happens between 10 am and 4 pm.

August 22nd - Freedom of the City

Join the 78th Highlanders as they exercise the Freedom of the City of Halifax by parading through the town with drums beating, colours flying and bayonets fixed! It all starts with an inspection inside the walls of the historic Citadel followed by a march to Grand Parade and onto Government House. Don’t miss the excitement!

Schedule of events:

  • 11:10 am
    Halifax Citadel – Pre-parade presentation and inspection.

  • 12:00 pm
    Parade to Government House. Departure following noon gun.
    (Route: east on Sackville Street, south on Brunswick Street, east on Spring Garden Road, south on Barringtion Street)

  • 12:15 pm
    Inspection at Government House.

  • 12:45 pm
    Parade continues to Grand Parade.
    (Route: north on Barrington Street)

  • 1:00 pm
    Proclamation ceremony at Grand Parade.


September

Saturday, September 20-21st - American Revolutionary War Encampment

Find out what life was like at the time of the American Revolution at our annual living history encampment, as up to one hundred historic re-enactors set up an authentic military camp in the Citadel’s ditch. Special displays will include camp cooking, costumes of the period, musket and cannon firings, and a mock battle on Saturday!


October

October 18-19th - First World War Display

As part of the one hundredth anniversary of the beginning of the First World War, volunteer living history enthusiasts will present a special display illustrating the early months of Canada’s involvement inside the walls of the Halifax Citadel National Historic Site. The display will include a recreated recruiting office, uniforms and equipment. In addition, the Army Museum will commemorate the centennial starting in May 2014 with a special exhibit entitled, The Road to Vimy and Beyond. The exhibit tells the story of how Nova Scotia and Canada contributed to the Allied victory with a focus on the individual soldiers and units that took part in the Great War.

Other Parks Canada Special Events in Nova Scotia


In the community:
Halifax Regional Municipality events

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Citadelle-d'Halifax

Activités spéciales 2014

concert de La fête du Canada mascotte avec des visiteurs
La fête du Canada
© Parcs Canada/H. Thompson

Calendrier
Juin
Juillet
Août
Septembre
Octobre
Événements communautaires
Événements communautaires

juin

le 7 juin et le 8 juin 2014 - Portes ouvertes Halifax et la vieille tour de l’horloge

Dans le cadre de l’activité Portes ouvertes Halifax, qui se déroule de 10 h à 16 h, Parcs Canada offrira aux personnes intéressées la possibilité de jeter un coup d’œil au rez-de-chaussée de la vieille tour de l’horloge, qui se trouve au lieu historique national du Canada de la Citadelle-d'Halifax. Des images historiques présentant l’histoire de la vieille tour de l’horloge seront affichées, ainsi que des photos des étages supérieurs et des mécanismes de l’horloge. Durant les deux jours, de 13 h à 16 h, le public aura la possibilité de discuter avec un historien. Pour des raisons de sécurité, l’accès aux étages supérieurs ne sera pas permis. Pour obtenir de l’information sur l’activité Portes ouvertes Halifax, visitez le site suivant : www.DoorsOpenHalifax.com (en anglais seulement)

le 7 juin - Concert commémoratif de la Citadelle d'Halifax

Faites vous plaisir en voyant et en écoutant de jeunes musiciens se produire dans l'enceinte du lieu historique national de la Citadelle d'Halifax. Des musiciens de l'All-City Senior Concert Band de Dartmouth se joindront à la Musique interarmées des cadets pour interpréter des œuvres traditionnelles remontant jusqu'à la guerre de 1812.

les 7 et 8 juin : Exposition sur le jour J de la Seconde Guerre mondiale

Joignez vous à Parcs Canada et à la World War II Living History Association, qui marqueront le 70e anniversaire du jour J (le 6 juin 1945). Vous pourrez voir des expositions installées dans les murs du lieu historique national de la Citadelle d'Halifax, et notamment des reconstitutions faisant appel à des acteurs en uniforme, des dioramas, des maquettes et d'authentiques véhicules d'époque évoquant cette journée historique.


juillet

le mardi 1 juillet - Fête du Canada – ENTRÉE GRATUITE

La célébration officielle de la Municipalité régionale d'Halifax continue d'attirer les résidents en grand nombre pour fêter l'anniversaire de notre pays. Le coup d'envoi est donné par le célèbre canon de midi, suivi de la traditionnelle salve de 21 coups de canon. Tout y est : musiques, chorale, exercices militaires et gâteau officiel de la Fête du Canada servi par un Highlander! Ne manquez pas cette célébration historique annuelle!

le 19 juillet - Journée des parcs

Joignez vous à tous les Canadiens de partout au pays qui célèbrent la Journée des parcs, en visitant les parcs et les lieux historiques nationaux de leur région. Au programme, au lieu historique national de la Citadelle d'Halifax, spectacle d'apparat et divertissement avec les 78th Highlanders. Gravissez la colline pour vous approcher du canon de midi, faites vous prendre en photo avec une sentinelle et posez un regard nouveau sur les cornemuses. Eh oui, apprendre l'histoire, ça peut aussi être intéressant!


août

le 4 août - le 100e anniversaire du début de la Première Guerre mondiale

Le 4 août 2014 marque le 100e anniversaire du début de la Première Guerre mondiale, et la citadelle d’Halifax souligne l’événement en offrant à tous les visiteurs une occasion exceptionnelle d’en apprendre davantage sur cet important chapitre de notre histoire. Écoutez les témoignages véridiques de ceux qui ont vécu les premières heures de la Grande Guerre – le conflit qui allait changer à tout jamais le Canada. Découvrez ce à quoi ressemblait l’enrôlement à un poste de recrutement et explorez la vie de ces braves hommes et femmes qui ont servi notre pays en ces temps difficiles. Des soldats en uniforme de la Première Guerre mondiale, des films et des artefacts en exposition donnent aux visiteurs un aperçu de la vie en temps de guerre. Assistez au tir de quatre canons de campagne – une pièce pour chaque année des hostilités. Visitez la toute dernière exposition du Musée de l’Armée, The Road to Vimy and Beyond, qui rend hommage au sacrifice des soldats, dont bon nombre venaient de la Nouvelle Écosse. Ne manquez pas cette activité commémorative, qui aura lieu le lundi 4 août. Elle débute à 12 h 10, après le canon de midi, et se termine à 16 h.

le 16 août - Journée des forts célèbres

La citadelle d'Halifax, une des forteresses les plus impressionnantes construite par les Britanniques, fut érigée pour protéger une ville, une culture et un mode de vie. La Journée des forts célèbres est l'occasion ou jamais de redécouvrir le côté extraordinaire de la citadelle. Profitez des activités amusantes organisées pour toute la famille; prenez part au lancement du programme Aventure à la Citadelle, une mission d'espionnage excitante pour les enfants qui leur permet de partir à la recherche d'indices et de tenter de sauver le fort! Ne manquez pas les démonstrations de tirs d'artillerie, les cornemuses et tambours et les soldats qui effectuent leurs exercices. Le tout se déroule entre 10 h et 16 h.

le 22 août - Droit de cité

Venez voir les 78th Highlanders exercer le Droit de cité dans la ville d'Halifax en défilant dans les rues tambour battant, avec drapeau et baïonnettes! Tout commence par une inspection dans l'enceinte de la citadelle historique, suivie d'un défilé jusqu'à Grand Parade et Government House. À ne pas manquer!


septembre

Les 20 et 21 septembre - Rassemblement militaire de la Révolution américaine

Découvrez la vie quotidienne à l'époque de la Révolution américaine lors de notre rassemblement militaire historique annuel. Près d'une centaine d'acteurs animeront un authentique camp militaire installé dans le fossé de la citadelle. Au programme, préparation de repas au campement, costumes d'époque, tir de mousquet et de canon et présentation de techniques médicales militaires. Le samedi, venez assister à notre bataille simulée sur la colline à 13 h, et à un mariage du XVIIIe siècle à 15 h!


octobre

les 18 et 19 octobre - exposition sur la Première Guerre mondiale

Dans le cadre du centenaire du déclenchement de la Première Guerre mondiale, des bénévoles passionnés de reconstitutions historiques présenteront, dans l'enceinte du lieu historique national de la Citadelle d'Halifax, une exposition spéciale illustrant les premiers mois de la participation du Canada à ce conflit. Vous pourrez y voir, entre autres, une réplique de bureau de recrutement, des uniformes et du matériel. Par ailleurs, le Musée de l'Armée commémorera le centenaire à partir de mai 2014, avec une exposition spéciale intitulée The Road to Vimy and Beyond, qui retrace la contribution de la Nouvelle Écosse et du Canada à la victoire des Alliés, en mettant particulièrement en lumière les soldats et les unités qui ont participé à la Grande Guerre.

Autres activités spéciales de Parcs Canada en Nouvelle-Écosse


Événements communautaires:

Événements dans la municipalité de la région d'Halifax (en anglais seulement)