Common menu bar links

Halifax Citadel National Historic Site of Canada

'Soldier for a Day' – A Signature Experience

Leave Your Mark on History!

'''

Over five hundred thousand British soldiers served at the Halifax Citadel between 1749 and 1906. Many left their mark on the new nation of Canada. Now you too can leave your mark by becoming a ‘soldier for a day’ and experience life in a far-flung colony of the British Empire.

Step back in time to 1869, as Canada was emerging from colony to nation, and find out what life was really like for the “redcoats” by living it yourself. Upon entering the historic Orderly Room at Parks Canada’s Halifax Citadel National Historic Site, all participants will sign their enlistment papers before receiving their soldier’s pay, the famous “Queen’s Shilling.”

Participants will be fitted for an authentic uniform consisting of a cotton shirt, wool kilt, sporran, red wool Highland “doublet,” wool socks, boots, spats, and a Glengarry bonnet bearing the brass badge of the 78th Highlanders. Once properly turned out, participants will venture to the parade square for their first lesson in foot drill. It may be hot, it may be dusty, or it may be foggy and raining, but this is the life of a soldier!

After perfecting the foot drills, participants, aged 16 years and over, will learn how to handle and fire an original Snider-Enfield rifle. Younger participants, aged 8-15, will learn to play the British Army brass shell field drum. All participants will then enjoy a private in-depth tour of the Citadel’s rooms, walls and tunnels. Finally, all participants will “stand down” and enjoy refreshments in the Sergeant’s Mess.

Dressing in authentic uniform Soldier for a Day
© Parks Canada/D. Wilson

Participants Receive:

  • Reproduction English shilling from 1869 and reproduction enlistment papers
  • Refreshment consisting of tea or lemonade and a scone
  • Opportunity to have photographs taken throughout experience

Booking Details:

Two sessions per day: 10am-1pm and 2pm-5pm, May 7 to October 31
Maximum number of participants/session: Four per session
Contact the Halifax Citadel Orderly Room at (902) 426-1990, or bookings@regimental.com.

Fees (HST is extra):

Adults (18+) $199
Children (8-15) $175
Couple/Group of 2 $250
Family Group of 3 $275
Family Group of 4 $300

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Citadelle-d'Halifax

« Soldat d’un jour » – Une expérience unique

Laisse ton empreinte dans l’histoire!

""

Plus de cinq cent mille soldats britanniques ont servi à la Citadelle d’Halifax de 1749 à 1906. Bon nombre d’entre eux ont laissé leur empreinte dans l’histoire de la nouvelle nation du Canada. Maintenant, tu peux toi aussi laisser ton empreinte en devenant un « soldat d’un jour » et en faisant l’expérience de la vie dans une colonie éloignée de l’Empire britannique.

Retourne dans le temps, en 1869, alors que le Canada étaient en voie de passer de l’état de colonie à l’état de nation, et découvre la vraie vie des « Habits rouges » en incarnant un de ces soldats. En entrant dans la Salle des rapports du lieu historique national du Canada de la Citadelle-d’Halifax, tous les participants signeront leurs documents d’enrôlement avant de recevoir leurs gages de soldat, le célèbre « shilling de la Reine ».

Les participants revêtiront un uniforme d’époque, composé d’une chemise de coton, d’un kilt de laine, d’un sporran, du pourpoint de laine rouge caractéristique des Highlands, de bas de laine, de bottes, de guêtres et d’un bonnet Glengarry portant l’insigne en laiton du 78e régiment des Highlanders. Une fois vêtus comme il se doit, les participants se dirigeront vers la place d’armes pour leur première leçon de manœuvres à pied. Peu importe la température, sous la pluie ou un soleil de plomb, un soldat est toujours à son poste!

Après avoir maîtrisé les manœuvres à pied, les participants de 16 ans et plus découvriront le maniement d’un fusil Snider Enfield d’origine alors que ceux de 8 à 15 ans apprendront à battre le tambour militaire en laiton typique de l’armée britannique. Tous profiteront ensuite d’une visite guidée complète et personnalisée des sallles, des remparts et des tunnels de la Citadelle. Par la suite, « repos » pour tous les participants qui pourront savourer des rafraîchissements dans le mess des sergents.

Dressing in authentic uniform « Soldat d’un jour »
© Parcs Canada/D. Wilson

Les participants reçoivent :

  • Une reproduction d’un shilling anglais de 1869 et une reproduction des documents d’enrôlement
  • Un rafraîchissement (thé ou limonade et scone)
  • Une occasion de se faire prendre en photo tout au long de l’expérience

Pour réserver :

Deux séances par jour : 10 h à 13 h et 14 h à 17 h, du 7 mai au 31 octobre
Nombre maximal de participants par séance : quatre
Pour réserver, communiquer avec la Salle des rapports de la Citadelle d’Halifax au 902 426 1990 ou à l’adresse bookings@regimental.com.

Frais (la TVH est en sus) :

Adultes (18 ans et plus) $199
Enfants (8 à 15 ans) $175
Couple/groupe de 2 personnes $250
Famille/groupe de 3 personnes $275
Famille/groupe de 4 personnes $300