Grand Pré National Historic Site of Canada

Grand-Pré Rural Historic District

Today, the name Grand-Pré is applied to a loosely defined geographic area, which consists of several thousand acres of cultivated marshlands and gently rolling uplands containing farms, orchards and the continuous villages of Grand-Pré, North Grand-Pré and Hortonville.

The Acadians landscape, with its overlay of Planter cultural resources, continues to define the unique sense of place of Grand-Pré and the surrounding area. On June 20, 2004, the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada unveiled a plaque commemorating the national significance of the Grand-Pré Rural Historic District.

View of Grand-Pré's surroundings.  In front, the commemorative church steeple at Grand-Pré National Historic Site of Canada; in the background, the farmlands, the dykes and Cap Blomidon.
View of Grand-Pré's surroundings with the commemorative church steeple, the farmlands, the dykes and Cap Blomidon
© François Gaudet, 2000

The villages of Grand-Pré and Hortonville, and the fertile farmlands, which surround them, comprise one of the oldest settlement and land use patterns of European origin in Canada. Acadians began settling near Grand-Pré in the 1680s, attracted by the vast stretches of tidal marshes. Employing ingenious dyke-building techniques developed at Port-Royal, Acadian farmers enclosed over one thousand acres of marshland which, when desalinated, created superior cropland. The houses of Grand-Pré village, scattered amidst the orchards and woodlots of the uplands fringe, stood along the southern boundary of the principal marsh. Following the Acadian deportation in 1755, a British township survey was superimposed on the area for the settlement of New England Planters, who adopted the existing marshland agricultural technology. The Planters' main settlement, which survives as the present villages of Grand-Pré and Hortonville, developed on the site of its Acadian predecessor. The combined agricultural traditions of the Acadians and the Planters have evolved to create the distinctive rural landscape of today's Grand-Pré.

Lieu historique national du Canada de Grand-Pré

Arrondissement historique rural de Grand-Pré

Aujourd'hui on désigne par le nom de Grand-Pré un territoire géographique vaguement délimité, qui comprend plusieurs milliers d'acres de marécages cultivés et de coteaux vallonnés, où sont implantés des fermes, des vergers et les villages contigus de Grand-Pré, de North Grand-Pré et de Hortonville.

Le paysage acadien, avec sa superposition de ressources culturelles des Planters, continue de nourrir le sentiment de lieu unique qui émane de Grand-Pré et de la région avoisinante. Le 20 juin 2004, la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada a dévoilé une plaque pour commémorer l'importance historique nationale de l'arrondissement historique rural de Grand-Pré.

Vu des environs de Grand-Pré.  À l'avant plan le pignon de l'église-commémorative au lieu historique national du Canada de Grand-Pré, en arrière plan les fermes, les aboiteaux et le cap Blomidon.
Vu des environs de Grand-Pré avec le pignon de l'église-commémorative, les fermes, aboiteaux et le cap Blomidon.
© François Gaudet, 2000

Les villages de Grand-Pré et de Hortonville, ainsi que les fertiles terres agricoles qui les entourent, présentent un des modèles européens de colonisation et d'utilisation des terres parmi les plus anciens au Canada. Attirés par les vastes marias côtiers, les Acadiens s'établirent dans les environs de Grand-Pré à partir des années 1680. Les fermiers acadiens utilisèrent les techniques ingénieuses de construction de digues développées à Port-Royal pour enclore plus de mille acres de marais qui, une fois dessalés, constituèrent des terres labourables de grande qualité. Les maisons du village de Grand-Pré, situées au milieu des vergers et des boisés des hauteurs périphériques, bordaient la limite sud du marais principal. Après la déportation des Acadiens en 1755, les terres furent redivisées en cantons, à la manière britannique, en vue de l'arrivée des Planters de la Nouvelle-Angleterre, qui adoptèrent la technologie agricole en place. Le principal établissement des Planters, aujourd'hui les villages de Grand-Pré et de Hortonville, se développa sur le site de l'établissement acadien précédent. Le paysage rural distinctif de l'actuel Grand-Pré est le produit de l'évolution des traditions agricoles des Acadiens et des Planters.