Common menu bar links

Grand Pré National Historic Site of Canada

View of the statue of Evangeline and the Memorial Church
The world-famous statue of Evangeline in front of the Memorial Church
© Parks Canada / Société Promotion Grand-Pré

Grand-Pré's Legacy

Close-up view of the statue of Evangeline Statue of Evangeline 
© Parks Canada / Société Promotion Grand-Pré

Grand-Pré is more strongly identified with the Deportation than any other site because of the detailed journal kept by Winslow in 1755, and because of Henry Wadsworth Longfellow chose it as the setting of his epic poem Evangeline: A Tale of Acadie published in 1847.

Longfellow's poem became a rallying point for the Acadian people following its publication in 1847. The story of a young Acadian girl from Grand-Pré, separated from her betrothed, touched millions of people around the world. Much more than a fictitious character, Evangeline symbolizes the perseverance of the Acadian people.

John Frederic Herbin purchased the site of the church and cemetery of Saint-Charles-des-Mines in 1907 and established Grand-Pré Park as a memorial to the Acadians. Two years later, Herbin erected a stone cross to mark the cemetery. In 1917, he sold the park to the Dominion Atlantic Railway on condition that the church site be deeded to the Acadian people. The railway company assumed responsibility for the park and landscaped the grounds the same year. In 1920, the company unveiled the statue of Evangeline near the park entrance, close to the train station.

At a special ceremony at Grand-Pré during the 1921 Acadian National Convention, the Société mutuelle de l'Assomption took official title to the church site. In 1922, the Société mutuelle de l'Assomption built the present day Memorial Church with funds donated by Acadians across North America. The interior of the Memorial Church was completed in 1930.

Grand-Pré continued as an important focus of the Acadian renaissance throughout the 1920s and beyond. The 1956 agreement between the federal government and the Société Nationale l'Assomption, acting on behalf of the Acadian people, acknowledged that "the Grand-Pré Park is considered the most important historic Site by the Acadian people, that it recalls their saddest and most heroic moments and must remain for future generations the example of courageous people whose culture and actions shall enrich more and more the Canadian nation".

The Government of Canada acquired Grand-Pré Memorial Park in 1957 and declared it a national historic site in 1961.

Lieu historique national du Canada de Grand-Pré

Vue de la statue d'évangeline et de l'église souvenir.
la statue d'Évangeline, célèbre dans le monde entier, en avant de l'église souvenir.
© Parcs Canada / Société Promotion Grand-Pré

L'héritage de Grand-Pré

Vue rapprochée de la statue d'Évangeline Statue d'Évangeline
© Parcs Canada / Société Promotion Grand-Pré

On associe Grand-Pré à la Déportation plus que tout autre lieu en raison du journal détaillé tenu par Winslow en 1755. C'est également ce lieu que choisit Henry Wadsworth Longfellow comme cadre de son poème épique Evangeline : un conte d'Acadie publié en 1847.

Le poème de Longfellow va provoquer l'éveil du peuple acadien. L'histoire d'une jeune acadienne de Grand-Pré, séparée de son fiancé, à touché des millions de lecteurs partout dans le monde. Évangéline, bien plus qu'un personnage fictif, symbolise le courage et la persévérance du peuple acadien.

John Frederic Herbin achète l'emplacement de l'église et du cimetière Saint-Charles-des-Mines en 1907 et y crée un parc à la mémoire des Acadiens et Acadiennes. Deux ans plus tard, Herbin fait installer une croix en pierre pour indiquer l'emplacement du cimetière. En 1917, il vend le parc à la compagnie de chemin de fer Dominion Atlantic Railway, à condition que le terrain de l'église soit remis au peuple acadien. La compagnie de chemin de fer prend en charge le parc et aménage le terrain la même année. En 1920, la compagnie inaugure la statue d'Évangéline à l'entrée du parc qui se situe, à l'époque, près de la gare.

Lors d'une cérémonie spéciale à Grand-Pré, tenue au cours de la Convention nationale acadienne de 1921, la Société mutuelle l'Assomption se voit remettre le titre officiel du terrain de l'église-souvenir. En 1922, la Société construit l'église-souvenir grâce à des dons de compatriotes des quatre coins de l'Amérique du Nord. L'intérieur est terminé en 1930.

Grand-Pré reste un symbole important de la renaissance acadienne tout au long des années 1920 et par la suite. L'entente conclue en 1956 entre le gouvernement fédéral et la Société Nationale l'Assomption, qui agit au nom du peuple acadien, reconnaît que « le Parc de Grand-Pré constitue le foyer historique le plus important du peuple acadien, qu'il évoque ses heures les plus douloureuses et les plus héroïques et qu'il doit rappeler aux générations futures l'exemple d'un peuple courageux, dont la culture et les actions ne cesseront d'enrichir la nation canadienne ».

Le gouvernement du Canada se porte acquéreur du parc commémoratif de Grand-Pré en 1957 et le classe lieu historique national en 1961.