Common menu bar links

Grand Pré National Historic Site of Canada

Statue of Evangeline
Inspired by the story of the deportation at Grand Pré, in 1847, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow published the poem Evangeline. In 1920, the Dominion Atlantic Railway erected a statue of Evangeline, designed by the sculptor Philippe Hébert, and executed by his son Henri. 
© Parks Canada / F. Gaudet

Conservation Treatment of the Evangeline Statue

A conservator rinces off the statue of Evangeline. The conservator is rinsing the surface of the statue of Evangeline before starting the waxing process.
© Parks Canada / F. Gaudet

Outdoor bronze sculptures, such as Evangeline at Grand Pre, are exposed to the elements 365 days a year; their surfaces get covered in pollen, dirt and bird droppings and become home to numerous insects and spiders. Every two years Parks Canada conservators step in to clean these valuable objects and protect them for years to come.

Below is an overview of the steps needed to protect the statue of Evangeline at Grand Pré National Historic Site.

Assessing the statue's condition

Step one is to examine the surface of the statue and make a report on its condition. This includes looking for any areas that may have become weakened or cracked. If these areas exist, great care will be taken to avoid more damage during treatment, and if need be repairs to the sculpture are undertaken.

Cleaning the statue

A conservator is brushing off any areas where the dirt is tenaciously adhering to the surface of the Evangeline statue. The conservator is applying wax to the sculpture. The wax will help protect the statue against the elements.
© Parks Canada / F. Gaudet

Step two is to remove dirt, pollen, insects / pests, and bird droppings. These are unsightly and their acid by-products can lead to corrosion of the bronze surface. Being near the sea, the Evangeline statue is also exposed to salty air, and so salt deposits need to be removed as well. Finally, any old coatings from previous treatments are removed to so that the new protective coat will create a uniform barrier. This cleaning is done using a simple soap and water solution.

Loose debris and dirt are removed from the surface using a pressure washer. Next the conservator will use a solution of mild soap and water and a stiff, non-metallic bristle brush to scrub off any areas where the dirt is tenaciously adhering to the surface. After a final rinse of the statue with water, the surface is ready for waxing.

Applying Wax 

Step three of the process involves heating the surface and applying a custom blend of hard waxes. Regular paste wax would be too soft for an outdoor sculpture and would break down too quickly.

The surface is heated using a propane torch, and when a sufficient temperature is reached the wax is applied using a brush. The heated wax flows across all areas of the statue and soaks into its semi porous surface. Any excess wax is removed while it is still hot.

A man wipes down the statue of Evangeline. The final step consists of buffing the waxed surface of the Evangeline statue using a lint free cloth.
© Parks Canada / F. Gaudet

Buffing

Step four involves letting the statue cool and then buffing the waxed surface with a lint free cloth.

The wax coating will keep future dirt and debris and the salt air from having direct contact with the metal and will reduce the amount of corrosion that would otherwise form naturally. It also brings the patina to a uniform appearance and a more saturated look.

By the time two years has passed, the wax succumbs to the elements and the statue of Evangeline will need to be treated again.

Lieu historique national du Canada de Grand-Pré

Statue d'Évangeline
S'inspirant de l'histoire de la déportation à Grand-Pré, en 1847, le poète américain Henry Wadsworth Longfellow publie le poème Evangeline. En 1920, le Dominion Atlantic Railway érige un statue d'Évangéline, conçue par le sculpteur Philippe Hébert, et exécutée par son fils Henri.
© Parcs Canada / F. Gaudet

Traitement de conservation de la statue d’Évangéline

Le conservateur rince la statue d'Évangeline. Le restaurateur rince la surface de la statue avant de commencer le processus de cirage.
© Parcs Canada / F. Gaudet

Les sculptures de bronze extérieures, telles que la statue d’Évangéline au lieu historique national de Grand-Pré, sont exposées aux éléments 365 jours par année. Elles se recouvrent peu à peu de pollen, de poussière et d’excréments d’oiseaux, et elles servent de refuge à un grand nombre d’insectes et d’araignées. Tous les deux ans, les restaurateurs de Parcs Canada interviennent pour nettoyer ces objets précieux et les protéger pour les années à venir.

Examen de la statue

La première étape consiste à examiner la statue et à rendre compte de son état. Les restaurateurs cherchent des endroits où la surface pourrait avoir été affaiblie ou fissurée. S’ils en trouvent, ils prennent un grand soin à éviter d’autres dommages pendant le travail de conservation. Au besoin, des travaux de réparation sont entrepris.

Nettoyage

Le restaurateur applique de la cire sur la statue. Le restaurateur applique de la cire sur la sculpture. Cette cire protègera la statue contre les éléments.
© Parcs Canada / F. Gaudet

Au cours de la deuxième étape, les restaurateurs débarrassent la statue de la saleté, du pollen, des excréments ainsi que des insectes et des autres animaux nuisibles qui y ont élu domicile. Ces accumulations de matière sont inesthétiques, et leurs sous-produits acides peuvent entraîner la corrosion de la surface en bronze. Comme elle se trouve près de la mer, la statue d’Évangéline est également exposée à l’air salin, de sorte qu’il faut aussi en enlever les dépôts de sel. En outre, les restaurateurs doivent enlever les couches appliquées lors de traitements de conservation antérieurs, pour qu’une nouvelle couche protectrice puisse créer une barrière uniforme. Ce travail de nettoyage se fait à l’aide d’une simple solution d’eau et de savon.

Les restaurateurs se servent d’un pulvérisateur à jet d’eau sous pression pour enlever les débris meubles et la saleté. Ensuite, ils utilisent une solution d’eau et de savon doux ainsi qu’une brosse à soies non métalliques dures pour enlever la saleté tenace. Après un dernier rinçage à l’eau, la surface de la statue est prête pour le cirage.

Application de la cire 

La troisième étape du processus consiste à élever la température de la surface pour y appliquer un mélange de cires dures. La cire en pâte ordinaire ne serait pas assez robuste pour une sculpture extérieure et se dégraderait trop rapidement.

Pour faire chauffer la surface de la statue, les restaurateurs se servent d’un chalumeau au propane. Lorsque la température est suffisamment élevée, ils appliquent la cire au pinceau. La cire chaude enrobe les moindres recoins de la statue et pénètre dans sa surface semi-poreuse. L’excès est ensuite enlevé pendant que la cire est encore chaude.

La statue est nettoyée par le restaurateur. Pour la dernière étape, la surface cirée est poncée avec un linge sans charpie.
© Parcs Canada / F. Gaudet

Le ponçage de la statue

À la quatrième étape, il faut laisser refroidir la statue, puis poncer la surface cirée avec un linge sans charpie.

La couche de cire empêche la saleté, les débris et l’air salin d’entrer en contact direct avec le métal et ralentit la corrosion qui se formerait naturellement en l’absence de cette protection. Elle donne aussi à la patine une apparence uniforme et plus saturée.

Au bout de deux ans, la couche de cire succombe aux éléments, et la statue d’Évangéline doit à nouveau être soumise à un traitement de conservation.