Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Site of Canada

Proposed Vision and Key Strategic Directions

Proposed Vision

A waterbug becomes the world’s fastest boat. Sunlight transmits the sound of laughter. Staring out onto Baddeck Bay, the impossible becomes the possible. Here, the contemplative calm of the sparkling Bras d’Or Lakes became an inventor’s paradise, his inspiration. And like the grounds of Beinn Bhreagh before it, the Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Site is a testing ground for new technology, new ways of thinking. Just as the Bells hosted visitors and locals alike, the museum too draws people from all over the world to find muse in nature, to stand in awe of both Bell the genius and Bell the ordinary man, to marvel at the accomplishments and strength of the exceptional Mabel Bell and to celebrate tangible proof that ideas great and small can plant the seeds of discovery for generations.

Entering the front doors of the site is like entering the beehive that was Bell’s mind. Fantastical ideas drift past as images and sounds of his inventions great and small appear and disappear on the windows and panels around you, pulling you into Bell’s world. Everything feels alive and electric as you walk enthralled by the marvels he and his associates created. The many experiments and displays are reminiscent of the trials Bell put his own ideas through. Learning by doing, expecting the unexpected, your inner child is inspired. This is not a typical museum. This is a dynamic place, inspiring you to experience and think in new ways, see through new eyes.

Proposed Key Strategic Directions

Key Strategy 1: Creating a dynamic space

The intent of this key strategy is to rethink, renew and reinvigorate opportunities for visitor experience at Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Site in order to: encourage people to revisit the site, inspire new visitors to come discover Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Site and to engage the hearts and minds of visitors, communities and the many partners and stakeholders who are passionate about this special place.

This strategy proposes to:

  • improve and update interpretation programming, and develop a renewed concept for visitor experience opportunities for the site;
  • enhance and improve facilities and services by re-thinking existing use of the site, in order to broaden its appeal to a diverse range of potential visitors who may wish to visit for any number of reasons; and
  • offer significant opportunities at the site for developing its potential as a special events venue by using the site’s expansive grounds and beautiful setting with sweeping views of Baddeck Bay and Beinn Bhreagh.

Key Strategy 2: The Bell legacy, seeds of discovery

The cultural resources are part of the tangible expression of the deep sense of connection people feel to the human story of Alexander Graham Bell. The resources and the experience of meeting both Bell ‘the genius’ and Bell ‘the ordinary man’ distinguishes this national historic site from any other attraction. Visitors need to have opportunities to feel, touch and experience the most compelling resources that speak to the stories of this place.

However, the cultural resources are only part of the story. The untapped potential of the Bell story is the legacy of his work. Bell’s work with the deaf, the flight of the Silver Dart and the telephone that Bell invented were all incredible achievements, but it is the legacy of these achievements that link the future and present with the past. His extraordinary vision changed our world: how we communicate with each other and how we travel.

This strategy proposes to:

  • present more artefacts and replicas on-site to facilitate appreciation and enhance understanding by allowing visitors to see, touch and feel pieces of the past;
  • present Bell’s ideas through experimentation by enhancing and expanding hands-on learning and experimentation at the site; and
  • offer opportunities to discover, experience and appreciate the site’s resources and Bell’s legacy off-site through public outreach education.

Key Strategy 3: Family, friends, community

Although almost 600,000 visitors either stop in or pass by the Village of Baddeck throughout the year and the village markets itself as the beginning and the end of the Cabot Trail and is a key tourist destination in Nova Scotia, visitor numbers at the site continue to fall, and the site is attracting less than 15% of the regional traffic. The focus of this strategy is to continue to build on the success of the relationships fostered through the work of the Centennial Celebration of Flight and to work collaboratively with partners and stakeholders who are engaged and interested to enhance opportunities for visitor experience, marketing and promoting the site, fostering public outreach education and enhancing cultural resource management. This key strategy aims to place Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Site back on the map, and back in the hearts and minds of people of Canada and beyond.

This strategy proposes to:

  • partner more closely with the Baddeck Area Business and Tourism Association to formulate the creation of a new joint tourism brand, joint, revitalized marketing and activity initiatives;
  • explore options to connect the site to the main area of downtown Baddeck such as exploring the option of a trolley service;
  • work with area hotels to promote Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Site;
  • forge new partnerships and enhanced relationships with stakeholders to improve the visitor offer and reach expanded markets; and
  • explore an active role in the pursuit of the pending Bras d’Or Lakes UNESCO Biosphere Reserve application given Alexander Graham Bell’s interest in the Bras d’Or Lakes, and in the environment in general.

Planning the Future

Lieu historique national du Canada Alexander-Graham-Bell

Vision proposée et stratégies clés proposées

Vision proposée

Une punaise d’eau devient soudain le bateau le plus rapide du monde. Les rayons du soleil transmettent le son des éclats de rire. En contemplant la baie de Baddeck, l’impossible devient possible. Ici, le calme serein du scintillant lac Bras d’Or est devenu un paradis pour l’inventeur – sa source d’inspiration. Et comme le domaine de Beinn Bhreagh le fut autrefois, le lieu historique national du Canada Alexander-Graham-Bell constitue aujourd’hui un laboratoire pour les nouvelles technologies et les nouvelles façons de penser. Et tout comme le couple Bell accueillait jadis des visiteurs de partout, tant de l’étranger que des environs, le musée attire aujourd’hui des visiteurs du monde entier qui viennent trouver de l’inspiration dans la nature, admirer Bell le génie et Bell l’homme ordinaire, s’émerveiller devant les réalisations et la force de l’exceptionnelle Mabel Bell, et célébrer la preuve tangible que les idées, petites et grandes, peuvent parfois donner naissance à des découvertes qui marqueront des générations.

En franchissant les portes d’entrée du lieu historique national Alexander-Graham-Bell, c’est un peu comme si l’on faisait une incursion dans la ruche foisonnante qu’était le cerveau de cet inventeur. Des idées fantastiques défilent devant nos yeux tandis que les images et les sons des inventions de Bell, petites et grandes, apparaissent et disparaissent sur les fenêtres et les panneaux autour de nous, et nous attirent dans l’univers de l’inventeur. En marchant dans ce lieu historique, captivés par les merveilles que lui et ses associés ont créées, tout nous semble vivant et électrisant. Les nombreuses expériences et présentations illustrent les multiples essais auxquels les idées de Bell furent soumises. Apprendre par l’expérimentation, prévoir l’imprévu : l’enfant en nous se sent inspiré. Ce musée n’est pas comme les autres. C’est un endroit dynamique qui nous donne le goût d’expérimenter et de penser autrement, de voir les choses sous un œil nouveau.

Stratégies clés proposées

1re stratégie clé : créer un espace dynamique

Cette stratégie clé vise à repenser, renouveler et raviver l’expérience des visiteurs du Lieu historique national du Canada Alexander-Graham-Bell pour : encourager les gens à revisiter le site, inciter de nouveaux visiteurs à découvrir le Lieu historique national du Canada Alexander-Graham-Bell et toucher le cœur et l’esprit des visiteurs, des collectivités et des nombreux partenaires qui sont passionnés par cet endroit particulier.

Cette stratégie vise à :

  • améliorer et mettre à jour les programmes d’interprétation et élaborer un concept renouvelé d’expérience des visiteurs sur ce site;
  • améliorer et optimiser les installations et les services afin qu’un plus grand nombre de visiteurs soit attiré par l’idée de le visiter;
  • offrir des possibilités importantes, sur place, pour améliorer son potentiel comme lieu de présentation d’activités spéciales.

2e stratégie clé : l'héritage de Bell, l'origine de grandes découvertes

Les ressources culturelles font partie de l’expression concrète des rapports profonds que ressentent les gens pour l’histoire humaine d’Alexander Graham Bell. Les ressources et l’expérience qui découlent de la réunion de Bell « le génie » et de Bell « l’homme ordinaire » font de ce lieu historique national une attraction qui sort de l’ordinaire. Les visiteurs ont l’occasion de sentir, toucher et faire l’expérience des ressources les plus fascinantes qui touchent les anecdotes entourant cet endroit.

Le potentiel inexploité de l’histoire de Bell est le legs de son œuvre. Les travaux de Bell avec les sourds, le vol du « Silver Dart » et le téléphone qu’il a inventé sont autant de réalisations incroyables de Bell. Mais c’est le legs de ces réalisations qui relie l’avenir et le présent au passé. Son extraordinaire vision a changé notre monde, notre manière de communiquer entre nous et de voyager.

Cette stratégie vise à :

  • présenter davantage d’artefacts et de répliques sur place pour faciliter l’appréciation et améliorer la compréhension en permettant aux visiteurs de voir, toucher et sentir des éléments du passé;
  • présenter les idées de Bell par des expériences en améliorant et élargissant l’apprentissage pratique et l’expérimentation sur place;
  • offrir des occasions d’apprendre, de découvrir et d’apprécier les ressources du site et le legs de Bell à l’extérieur du site par l’éducation du public.

3e stratégie clé : Familly, amis, collectivité

Cette stratégie clé vise à rendre au Lieu historique national du Canada Alexander-Graham-Bell la place qui lui revient et de le remettre dans l’esprit et le cœur des Canadiens et de tous. Cette stratégie vise surtout à poursuivre et approfondir la réussite des relations forgées lors des travaux de célébration du Centenaire de l’aviation et dans le cadre de la collaboration avec des partenaires et intervenants qui se sont engagés et s’intéressent à améliorer les possibilités pour les visiteurs, ainsi qu’à commercialiser et à promouvoir le lieu afin d’encourager l’éducation du public et d’améliorer la gestion d’une ressource culturelle.

Cette stratégie vise à :

  • forger des partenariats plus étroits avec la Baddeck Area Business and Tourism Association pour énoncer la création d’une nouvelle marque de tourisme conjoint, revitaliser les initiatives en matière de marketing et améliorer les activités;
  • explorer les options pour relier le lieu au centre-ville de Baddeck, par exemple en étudiant la possibilité d’un service de trolleybus;
  • forger de nouveaux partenariats et resserrer les rapports avec les intervenants pour améliorer l’offre aux visiteurs et atteindre des marchés élargis;
  • explorer la possibilité de jouer un rôle actif dans la poursuite de la demande de désignation des lacs Bras d’Or comme réserve de la biosphère de l’UNESCO, étant donné l’intérêt exprimé par Alexander Graham Bell à l’égard du lac Bras d’Or et de l’environnement en général.

Préparer l'avenir