Georges Island National Historic Site of Canada

History

Map of Georges Island

1750-1783

Early sketch of Georges Island
Early sketch of Georges Island
© Library and Archives Canada / H. S. Murrell

Georges Island was first armed with a seven-gun smooth bore battery of cannons in 1750. Its role was to protect the fledgling settlement of Halifax from a sea attack.

Georges Island was also used as a prison in the early years. During the years of the Acadian Deportation (1755-1763), the island became a holding area for large numbers of Acadians. No buildings from that period remain.

During the American Revolution, Georges Island, along with the rest of the defences in Halifax, were updated and renewed. The defences mainly consisted of sprawling, irregular earthworks. The Americans did attack several Nova Scotia locations during their war for independence, but not Halifax.

1793-1850s

Stone walls of Fort Charlotte
Stone walls of Fort Charlotte
© Parks Canada

When Great Britain and France again went to war in 1793, Halifax’s role as a fortified stronghold and naval base once more came to the fore. Prince Edward, Duke of Kent, a son of George III and later the father of Queen Victoria, sailed into Halifax in 1794 to become its commandant.

Prince Edward had an immediate impact in Halifax and, among other projects, built a proper fort on Georges Island in 1798. He named the star-shaped fortification Fort Charlotte after his mother, Queen Charlotte. Later, during the war of 1812, a Martello Tower was added to the fortifications on the island. Altogether five such towers were eventually built in Halifax.

In the aftermath of the War of 1812, the British reassessed the likelihood of more conflict with the United States. In Halifax the priority was the construction of a new more powerful fort atop Citadel Hill. This fourth fort was the most elaborate of Halifax’s defences and is still there today.

1850s-1906

Fort Charlotte Lower Battery
Fort Charlotte Lower Battery
© Parks Canada

The invention of rifled ordnance in the late 1850s had a drastic impact on warfare and fortifications around the world, including those on Georges Island. These new guns fired shells farther and with greater accuracy, which necessitated a wholesale change in harbour defence strategy.

The need to update the Halifax defences with the new rifled muzzle-loading guns (RMLs) became a priority during the American Civil War. There was concern that the conflict might widen and involve Britain's North American colonies. Among the many changes made to the Halifax fortifications at this time was the construction of a new Fort Charlotte on Georges Island.

The new fort was largely subterranean, with a maze of tunnels, corridors, powder magazines, storage rooms and sleeping quarters buried deep inside the island. Eight 9-inch RMLs were installed in an upper battery and four 10-inch RMLs in the underground lower battery.

In the 1880s and 1890s, the rapid pace of weapons development soon rendered Fort Charlotte’s RML guns obsolete. In response, the British installed a new torpedo system and established a manually operated submarine mine field across the harbour channel. The addition of quick-fire guns was also undertaken as a defence against fast torpedo boats. With the introduction of long-range and more accurate breech-loading cannons (BLs) the main harbour defences had to be moved farther out from the central harbour. This resulted in the building of new forts on McNabs Island. The overall impact of these changes saw Fort Charlotte on Georges Island gradually reduced to a minor role in the defence of Halifax harbour.

1906-1965

Fort Charlotte with Halifax in background
Fort Charlotte with Halifax in background
© Canada / Department of National Defence

The island remained a seaward defence after the Government of Canada assumed responsibility for the Halifax defences from the British in 1906. Georges Island played a minor role in the defence of the harbour in World War I, and a submarine net was erected on both sides of the island to prevent enemy submarines entering the inner harbour. During World War II an anti-aircraft unit was stationed there. They were the last soldiers to serve on the island. The island was declared a national historic site in 1965.

Lieu historique national du Canada de l'Île-Georges

Histoire

Carte de l'Île Georges

De 1750 à 1783

Esquisse créée tout au début de l'Île-Georges
Esquisse créée tout au début de l'Île-Georges
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / H. S. Murrell

L'île Georges fut d'abord armée en 1750 d'une batterie de canons à âme lisse composée de sept pièces d'artillerie. Son rôle était de protéger la nouvelle colonie d'Halifax contre les attaques à partir de la mer.

Dans les premiers temps, l'île Georges servit aussi de prison. Durant la Déportation des Acadiens (de 1755 à 1763), l'île devint un lieu de détention pour un très grand nombre d'Acadiens. Il ne reste aucun bâtiment de cette époque.

Durant la Révolution américaine, l'île Georges, ainsi que les autres défenses d'Halifax, furent mises à niveau et renouvelées. Les défenses consistaient principalement en des ouvrages en terre irréguliers et épars. Les Américains attaquèrent plusieurs endroits en Nouvelle-Écosse durant leur guerre pour l'indépendance, mais pas Halifax.

De 1793 aux années 1850

Murs de pierre de « fort Charlotte »
Murs de pierre de « fort Charlotte »
© Parcs Canada

Quand la guerre éclata une fois de plus entre la Grande-Bretagne et la France en 1793, Halifax reprit un rôle de premier plan en tant que place forte et base navale. Le prince Edward, duc de Kent, fils de Georges III et plus tard père de la reine Victoria, se rendit à Halifax en 1794 pour en assurer le commandement.

Le prince Edward eut un impact immédiat sur Halifax. Il fit entre autres construire un fort en bonne et due forme dans l'île Georges en 1798. Il nomma la fortification en forme d'étoile «fort Charlotte», en l'honneur de sa mère, la reine Charlotte. Plus tard, durant la guerre de 1812, une tour Martello fut ajoutée aux fortifications de l'île. En tout, cinq tours du genre furent construites à Halifax.

À la suite de la guerre de 1812, les Britanniques réévaluèrent les chances que d'autres conflits ne se déclarent avec les États-Unis. À Halifax, on accorda la priorité à la construction d'un nouveau fort plus imposant au sommet de la colline de la Citadelle. Ce quatrième fort, la plus élaborée des défenses d'Halifax, existe encore de nos jours.

Des années 1850 à 1906

Batterie inférieure de « fort Charlotte »
Batterie inférieure de « fort Charlotte »
© Parcs Canada

L'invention de nouveaux systèmes d'artillerie à âme rayée vers la fin des années 1850 eut d'importantes répercussions sur la conduite de la guerre et les fortifications dans le monde, y compris à l'île Georges. Compte tenu de la portée et de la précision accrues de ces nouveaux canons, la stratégie de défense du port dut être améliorée.

La modernisation des défenses d'Halifax à l'aide des nouveaux canons à âme rayée et à chargement par la bouche devint une priorité durant la guerre de Sécession. On craignait que le conflit ne s'étende aux colonies britanniques d'Amérique du Nord. Les fortifications d'Halifax subirent alors de nombreux changements, dont la reconstruction du fort Charlotte dans l'île Georges.

Une grande partie du nouveau fort se trouvait sous terre et comprenait un réseau de tunnels, de couloirs, de poudrières, de magasins et de dortoirs aménagés dans les profondeurs de l'île. Huit canons à âme rayée et à chargement par la bouche de 9 pouces furent installés dans une batterie supérieure et quatre canons à âme rayée et à chargement par la bouche de 10 pouces furent installés dans la batterie inférieure souterraine.

Au cours des années 1880 et 1890, les canons du fort Charlotte devinrent désuets en raison de la rapide évolution des systèmes d'armes. Les Britanniques installèrent donc un nouveau système de torpilles et créèrent un champ de mines sous-marines à commande manuelle dans le chenal du port. Des canons à tir rapide furent également ajoutés pour assurer la défense contre les torpilleurs rapides. En raison de l'introduction de canons à chargement par la culasse plus précis et à longue portée, on dut déplacer les principales défenses du port plus loin vers le large. De nouveaux forts furent donc construits dans l'île McNabs. Tous ces changements réduisirent grandement le rôle du fort Charlotte dans la défense du port d'Halifax.

De 1906 à 1965

« Fort Charlotte » et la vue sur Halifax
« Fort Charlotte » et la vue sur Halifax
© Canada / Le Ministère de la Défense nationale

L'île demeura un point de défense maritime après le retrait de la Grande-Bretagne et la prise de possession des défenses d'Halifax par le gouvernement du Canada en 1906. Durant la Première Guerre mondiale, l'île Georges joua un rôle mineur dans la défense du port, et un filet anti-sous-marins fut installé des deux côtés de l'île pour empêcher les sous-marins ennemis d'entrer dans l'arrière-port. Pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, une unité anti-aérienne fut stationnée dans l'île. Les soldats de cette unité furent les derniers à servir dans l'île. L'île fut désignée lieu historique national en 1965.