Common menu bar links

Fort Anne National Historic Site of Canada

Recreation

Children playing at Fort Anne © Parks Canada/A. Rierden

Perimeter Walking Trail

The fortifications at Fort Anne are based on a raised earthen wall in the shape of a star. A short trail following this wall affords an excellent view of the fortifications, as well as the Annapolis River and Basin. This accessible walking trail is approximately ½ kilometre long.


Photography

Visitors to Fort Anne National Historic Site take home a wealth of memories in the many photographs and images taken of the fort and Garrison Cemetery. Fort Anne nests within a natural and cultural setting that exhibits the beauty and simplicity of this portion of Nova Scotia and offers historic structures and memorials that complement this historic landscape.

Fort Anne landscape © Parks Canada


Kite Flying

There is often a stiff breeze at Fort Anne and it’s a great place to fly kites. The views are spectacular!


Croquet

This popular Victorian game is enjoying resurgence in popularity. Try your hand at this gentle sport by borrowing the site’s croquet set and setting up on Parade Square. Be sure to bring a picnic lunch and make it an afternoon.

Lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Anne

Loisirs

Des enfants jouent au Fort-Anne © Parcs Canada/A. Rierden

Sentier périphérique de promenade

Les fortifications du fort Anne sont construites sur un mur de terre ayant la forme d'une étoile. Du court sentier longeant ce mur, vous aurez une excellente vue des fortifications ainsi que du bassin de l'Annapolis. Le sentier, accessible aux fauteuils roulants, est long d'un demi-kilomètre.


Photographie

Les personnes qui visitent le lieu historique national du Fort-Anne ramènent à la maison de nombreux souvenirs du fort et du cimetière de la garnison grâce aux nombreuses photos qu’ils prennent. Le lieu historique est établi dans un cadre naturel et culturel qui met en valeur la beauté et la simplicité de cette région de la Nouvelle Écosse et présent les structures historiques et des monuments commémoratifs qui formant un tout avec ce paysage historique.

paysage du Fort-Anne © Parcs Canada


Cerfs-volants

Il souffle souvent une forte brise au fort Anne, ce qui est idéal pour les cerfs-volants. Et les vues sont spectaculaires!


Croquet

Ce jeu très populaire à l’époque victorienne connaît un regain d’intérêt. Empruntez les accessoires de croquet du lieu et essayez-vous à ce jeu de détente sur le terrain de rassemblement. Profitez en pour pique-niquer, vous pourrez ainsi jouer tout l’après midi!