Fort Anne National Historic Site of Canada

People


Jeanne Motin

Jeanne Motin was a French settler and daughter of an associate of Razilly’s trading company. In 1636, at the age of 20, she sailed from France accompanied by her two sisters and her brother-in-law. In the same year, she married Charles de Menou d’Aulnay, who was some 12 years her senior. The couple had four sons, who entered the army and died in battle, and four daughters, all of whom became nuns.

By the time d’Aulnay died in 1650, Port-Royal comprised of around 300 French residents. As his widow, Madame D’Aulnay’s ability to carry on with her husband’s work was limited considerably by his debts incurred from his colonizing efforts and battles with Charles de Saint-Étienne de La Tour.

Persistent creditors demanded payment from Madame d'Aulnay. Among the most aggressive was Emmanuel LeBorgne from La Rochelle, France, the future governor of Acadia, claiming the d’Aulnay estate owed him 260,000 livres. Others that made claims against Madame d'Aulnay included Nicolas Denys, the holder of one of the largest seigneuries in Acadia. In 1651, LeBorgne sent an agent to Port-Royal to seize the fort. Capuchin priests tried to intervene, but the fort was pillaged. The situation was further complicated after Madame d’Aulnay’s intendant went to France and made unauthorized arrangements with the Duc de Vendome to assume half the depts in exchange for half of d’Aulnay’s estate and an equal share in the fur trade.

Around this time, hearing of d'Aulnay's death, La Tour returned to Paris where he was absolved of any wrongdoing, stemming from his attack on the fort in 1643. He was made governor of Acadia and returned to Port-Royal, then to his old fort along the Saint John River. With the exception of Denys's seigneury, La Tour once again came to control Acadia.

On February 24, 1653, La Tour, at the age of 57, and the widow of his old enemy, Jeanne Motin, married. The couple would have five children.

The family lived at the mouth of the Saint John River until about 1656 when they moved to Cape Sable. La Tour and Jeanne Motin died in the 1660s. Their five children would remain in Acadia and play important roles in the later history of Port-Royal.


Back
back   
Continue
continue

Lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Anne

Personnes


Jeanne Motin

Jeanne Motin, pionnière française, est la fille de l’un des associés de la compagnie de traite de Razilly. En 1636, à l’âge de 20 ans, elle part pour l’Acadie avec ses deux sœurs et son beau frère. La même année, elle épouse Charles de Menou d’Aulnay, de douze ans son aîné. Le couple donne naissance à quatre garçons, qui s’engagent dans l’armée et périssent au combat, et à quatre filles, qui deviennent toutes religieuses.

Au moment du décès de d’Aulnay en 1650, Port Royal compte environ 300 résidents français. La capacité de madame d’Aulnay à poursuivre les travaux entrepris par son mari est lourdement compromise par la dette considérable que ce dernier a accumulée de par ses efforts de colonisation et ses batailles l’opposant à Charles de Saint-Étienne de La Tour.

Les créanciers, qui se montrent de plus en plus pressants, insistent pour que madame d'Aulnay rembourse la dette de son mari. Emmanuel LeBorgne de La Rochelle, en France, qui prétend que la famille d’Aulnay lui doit 260 000 livres, est parmi les plus agressifs. Nicolas Denys, propriétaire d’une des plus grandes seigneuries en Acadie, revendique également des créances auprès de madame d'Aulnay. En 1651, LeBorgne envoie un officier à Port Royal pour saisir le fort. Des prêtres capucins tentent d’intervenir, mais le fort est tout de même pillé. La situation se complique au moment où madame d’Aulnay charge son intendant d’aller en France défendre ses intérêts; celui ci conclut une entente non autorisée avec le duc de Vendôme selon laquelle ce dernier assumerait la moitié des dettes de d’Aulnay en échange de la moitié de son patrimoine et d’une part équivalente du commerce des fourrures.

Apprenant la mort de d’Aulnay, La Tour retourne à Paris où on l’absout de tout méfait découlant de son attaque du fort en 1643. Il est nommé gouverneur de l’Acadie et retourne à Port Royal, puis se rend à son ancien fort construit sur le rivage de la rivière Saint Jean. La Tour gagne à nouveau le contrôle de l’Acadie, à l’exception de la seigneurie de Denys.

Le 24 février 1653, La Tour, alors âgé de 57 ans, et la veuve de son ancien rival, Jeanne Motin, se marient. Cinq enfants naissent de cette union.

Le couple s’installe à l’embouchure de la rivière Saint Jean et y vit jusque vers 1656, année à laquelle il déménage au cap Sable. La Tour et Jeanne Motin meurent dans les années 1660. Leurs cinq enfants demeureront en Acadie et joueront à leur tour un rôle important dans l’histoire de Port Royal.
 

Retour
retour  
Suite
suite