Common menu bar links

Fort Anne National Historic Site of Canada

People


Rose Fortune

After the American Revolution, several thousand people who remained aligned with the British emigrated to Nova Scotia. This wave of refugees included a contingent of black men and women. Like thousands of blacks living in the Thirteen Colonies during the war, some had crossed lines and joined the British in exchange for their freedom. Others remained the slaves or indentured servants of white loyalists. The black emigrants who arrived in Annapolis Royal during this period represented a mixture of these three groups. Among them was Rose Fortune.

While few records exist to tell a detailed and accurate story about her early origins, some historians have taken note of the Annapolis Royal muster roll from 1784. The log describes a child over ten years old of parents “Fortune and wife,” listing them as “Free Negroes.” Whether this was Rose Fortune remains a mystery. What is clear is that Rose Fortune grew to become an entrepreneur and one of Annapolis Royal’s most notable and respected figures during the first half of the 19th century.

watercolour portrait of Rose Fortune © Parks Canada. Used with permission of Nova Scotia Archives and Records Management
The clearest depiction of her comes from a watercolour painted in the 1830s. It shows a middle-aged woman wearing a man’s overcoat and a straw hat on top of a lace cap tied tightly under her chin. She is carrying a straw basket and appears to be on the move. The image reflects testimonials from those who encountered Rose Fortune and described her as bold and determined. Around 1852, a Lieutenant-Colonel Sleigh of the 77th Regiment wrote of an encounter with Rose Fortune:
“I was aided in my hasty efforts to quit the abominable inn [where he had been staying] by a curious old Negro woman, rather stunted in growth…and dressed in a man’s coat and felt hat. She had a small stick in her hand which she applied lustily to the back of all who did not jump instantly out of the way. She was evidently a privileged character.”

By the time her portrait was painted, she had developed a successful cartage business in Annapolis Royal. Using a wheelbarrow or wagon, she transported luggage between the busy ferry docks and nearby homes and hotels. She also offered a wake-up service to customers to make certain they caught their boat to Digby or Saint John on time.

Later, Rose Fortune became the town's unofficial police officer, patrolling the town and wharf. She imposed curfews and kept the youth of the busy seaport town in line. She lived to around 90 years old.

James Whitman Lewis  with "Max" James Whitman Lewis with 'Max'
© Parks Canada
James Lewis Jr. and company truck James Lewis Jr. and company truck
© Parks Canada

 

Daurene Lewis Daurene Lewis
© Parks Canada

After Rose Fortune’s death, her descendents carried on her business under the name Lewis Transfer. The business was sold in 1960 but continued under new ownership until 1980.

In 1984, Daurene Lewis, a descendant of Rose Fortune, became the first black mayor of Annapolis Royal and the first black female mayor in Canada.

Back
back

Lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Anne

Personnes


Rose Fortune

Après la Révolution américaine, plusieurs milliers de loyalistes émigrent en Nouvelle Écosse. Cette vague de réfugiés comprend un contingent d’hommes et de femmes de race noire. Emboîtant le pas de milliers d’individus de race noire vivant dans les Treize colonies pendant la guerre, ces émigrants traversent les frontières et se joignent aux Britanniques en échange de leur liberté. D’autres demeurent les esclaves ou les serviteurs liés par contrat de loyalistes européens. Les émigrants de race noire qui débarquent à Annapolis Royal au cours de cette période constituent un mélange de ces trois groupes. Parmi eux se trouve Rose Fortune.

Bien qu’il soit difficile, faute de documents, de reconstituer le récit exact et détaillé des origines de Rose Fortune, certains historiens réussissent à tirer des renseignements des feuilles d’appel d’Annapolis Royal de 1784. Le journal de bord décrit Rose Fortune comme une enfant de plus de dix ans dont les parents, « Fortune et son épouse », sont classés comme des « Nègres libres ». Difficile de savoir s’il s’agit vraiment de Rose Fortune. En revanche, il est évident que Rose Fortune est devenue une femme d’affaires et l’une des personnes les plus remarquables et les plus respectées d’Annapolis Royal durant la première moitié du XIXe siècle.

Aquarelle représentant Rose Fortune © Parks Canada. Reproduite avec l’autorisation de Nova Scotia Archives and Records Management
Une aquarelle datant de 1830 est la seule image représentant clairement Rose Fortune. On y voit une femme d’âge moyen portant un pardessus pour homme et un chapeau de paille sous lequel dépasse un bonnet de dentelle attaché solidement sous le menton. La femme transporte un panier de paille et semble être en train de marcher. Cette image reflète bien les témoignages de ceux qui l’ont rencontrée et qui la décrivent comme une femme audacieuse et déterminée. Aux environs de 1852, le lieutenant colonel Sleigh du 77e régiment décrit sa rencontre avec Rose Fortune :
« Une étrange vieille femme nègre, plutôt chétive, m’aida à quitter l’auberge abominable [où le colonel logeait alors] …elle portait un manteau pour homme et un chapeau de feutre. Elle tenait un petit bâton dans sa main, qu’elle n’hésitait pas à employer sur quiconque ne s’enlevait pas immédiatement de son chemin. Elle était de toute évidence un personnage unique. »

Au moment où son portrait est peint, Rose Fortune dirige une entreprise lucrative de bagagiste à Annapolis Royal. À l’aide d’une brouette ou d’un chariot, elle transporte des bagages entre les quais des traversiers très occupés et les maisons et les hôtels avoisinants. Elle met également sur pied un service de réveil pour rappeler aux touristes l’heure de départ de leur navire pour Digby ou Saint Jean.

Plus tard, Rose Fortune devient l’agent de police non officiel de la ville, patrouillant la ville et le quai. Elle impose des couvre-feux et discipline les jeunes gens traînant autour des quais. Elle meurt à l’âge d’environ 90 ans.

James Whitman Lewis et « Max » James Whitman Lewis et « Max »
© Parcs Canada
James Lewis Jr. et camion de l’entreprise James Lewis Jr. et camion de l’entreprise
© Parcs Canada

En 1984, Daurene Lewis est élue mairesse d’Annapolis Royal Daurene Lewis
© Parcs Canada
Après la mort de Rose Fortune, ses descendants prennent la relève de son entreprise qu’ils baptisent « Lewis Transfer ». La compagnie, vendue en 1960, continue d’être exploitée par de nouveaux propriétaires jusqu’en 1980.

En 1984, Daurene Lewis, une descendante de Rose Fortune, devient le premier maire de race noire d’Annapolis Royal et la première femme de race noire mairesse en Canada.

 

 

Retour
retour