Common menu bar links

Bloody Creek National Historic Site of Canada

History

Plaque text © Parks Canada/T. Fry

In 1932, the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada erected a plaque to mark the national historic significance of two military encounters in the Bloody Creek area. The plaque reads:
 
Commemorating two combats between British garrisons of Annapolis Royal and allied French and Indians in the half century of conflict for possession of Acadia: on the north bank of the Annapolis River, 10th June, 1711; and here, 8th December, 1757.


10 June 1711

The first incident occurred on 10 June 1711 (21 June on today’s calendar) during a period of tension between the garrison stationed at the fort in Annapolis Royal (formerly Port-Royal), Nova Scotia, and the Acadians of the surrounding area. Eight months earlier, in October of 1710, British and New England forces had captured the fort and, with it, Port-Royal, the capital of Acadia. A temporary garrison of 450 men, consisting of British and New England troops, had been left at the fort for the winter.

Relations between the British administrators and garrison occupying the fort and the Acadians living along the Annapolis River had been tense during the winter of 1710-1711. Great Britain and France were still at war in the War of the Spanish Succession. Only a three-mile radius around the fort had been surrendered with the fort, leaving the Acadians outside the designated area in an ambiguous position. There existed the real possibility that the French might regain the fort, either by attack or by peace treaty; Britain had returned the fort to France at the conclusion of previous wars.
 
To discourage Acadians from assisting the British garrison, Philippe de Rigaud de Vaudreuil, governor-general of New France, had appointed Bernard-Anselme d’Abbadie de Saint-Castin, as leader of First Nations and French forces in Acadia and given him added authority by making him an officer in the compagnies franches, the troops which served in France’s colonies. Although young, Saint-Castin was an experienced and respected leader of the Abenakis in what is now Maine and very familiar with the former Port-Royal area. Saint-Castin and Aboriginal fighters, primarily Abenakis and Maliceets, spent the winter of 1710-1711 in the Annapolis Royal area, harassing the fort and threatening Acadians who cooperated with the British.

The provision of building materials to repair the fortifications became a major issue. By the spring of 1711, the fort was in bad condition, with large breaches in the ramparts. Alexander Forbes, the fort engineer, requested Acadians along the river to provide 2000 poles and 400 beams for filling the breaches and revetting the fort walls. Some Acadians cooperated while others did not, especially Acadians on the upper river. Acadians found themselves in a difficult position, caught between the demands from the fort and threats of retaliation from Aboriginal fighters and excommunication from the Catholic Church. Aboriginal fighters, and possibly some of the more recalcitrant Acadians, cut the rafts of timber before they could reach the fort. The supply of timber and lumber dwindled. After fort officials sent troops to meet with Acadians on the upper river, supply resumed but then slowed again. Officials decided to send another detachment.

On 10 June (21 June NS), Captain David Pidgeon led a 70-man detachment up the river with Forbes (the engineer) and about 20 volunteers, including Captain John Bartlet, leader of the previous detachment, and the Fort Major. The detachment was intended as a show of force to demonstrate to the Acadians’ harassers that the British were forcing them to supply timber. Pidgeon’s orders were to threaten the Acadian suppliers and to kill some fowl, if necessary, but to pay compensation.
 
The expedition made its way up the river in a whaleboat and two flatboats. As the whaleboat carrying the engineer, fort major and others reached a narrow bend in the upper river, Aboriginals fighters attacked. All but one man were killed. The men in the other two boats were killed, wounded or taken prisoner. The wounded were ransomed while the prisoners began a trek, to Quebec.

The attackers had consisted primarily of about 40 Abenakis and their leader Simhouret, all recently arrived Pentagouet (now Castine, Maine) and put in place by Saint-Castin. The British believed that there had been 150 fighters. Some of the wounded claimed that a few French men, painted to look like Aboriginal fighters, had also taken part. No Acadians were known to have taken part.

Father Antoine Gaulin, missionary to the Abenakis, presented an alarming interpretation of the situation. He claimed that the British detachment had planned to attack Mi=kmaq families on the upper river, to remove the principal French inhabitants and to burn the settlements on the upper river. The perceived threat by Pidgeon’s men and their defeat mobilized Acadian resistance to the British and New Englanders at the fort, resulting in several weeks of increased tensions, which passed without major incident.

8 December 1757

The second combat commemorated in the plaque at Bloody Creek occurred on 8 December 1757 during another period of tension between Acadians and the administrators and garrison at the fort in Annapolis Royal. In 1755, the government of Nova Scotia had deported the Acadians of Annapolis Royal and other major centres of Acadian settlement. Acadian men who had eluded deportation formed a guerilla force which kept the garrison at the fort closely confined, unable to venture out of town without a covering party. This was particularly the case after the 43rd, a British regiment unfamiliar with Nova Scotia, began to garrison the fort in October 1757.

The battle at Bloody Creek on 8 December was precipitated by an attack, two days earlier, on a party sent out from the fort, across the Annapolis River, to cut firewood. A small force of “Frenchmen” killed a grenadier and took several men prisoner, including John Eason, the master carpenter at the fort. A detachment sent out to rescue the men returned empty-handed. Adding insult to injury, the attackers returned and taunted the fort by a firing their muskets in a victorious feu de jeu. A larger detachment was then organized and set out the same evening.
 
The detachment consisted of two captains, two lieutenants, two ensigns, four sergeants, two drummers and 100 rank and file, supported by approximately 20 volunteers from the fort and town and led by local men, including John Dyson, the Ordnance Storekeeper. John Knox, a lieutenant in the 43rd , gave a first-hand account in his journal. The goal of the detachment was to recover the prisoners and “to give a sensible check to the rabble for their insolence.”
 
The British force made its way along the south side of the Annapolis River, searching for a place to cross to the other side, where the Acadians and the prisoners were. After two nights and one day of exposure to the cold, wet December weather, and three unsuccessful attempts to ford the river, the detachment began the trek back to the fort. At eleven o’clock, on the morning of 8 December, as the British crossed a narrow, plank bridge over the René Forest River (now Bloody Creek), the French attacked, killing the commanding officer. After some confusion and cries of “retreat,” the last of the men fought their way across the bridge, to face more fire from a make-shift battery on the other side. The attackers then fled, pursued briefly by the soldiers. Afraid that they would be attacked again further ahead, the British hurried back to Annapolis Royal, leaving most of the dead and wounded behind. Knox reported that the losses amounted to Captain Peter Pigou (the commander of the detachment), a sergeant and 22 soldiers.

Seven months later, in July 1758, some of the prisoners from the firewood party, who had escaped from their captors, arrived at Fort Cumberland, on the Isthmus of Chignecto. A letter from an officer at the fort provided details of the attacks, as told by the prisoners. They stated that the attackers of 6 December numbered about 15 while those of 8 December numbered about 56. The latter consisted of a party that was in the area in search of cattle and provisions. After ambushing the detachment, which greatly outnumbered them, the “enemy” had continued to fight, encouraged by the frightened cries of “retreat.” According to the prisoners, seven of the attackers had been killed and nine wounded. The officer claimed that none of the wounded left behind by the British had been brought back as prisoners, so apparently had been killed. William Johnson (Guillaume Jeanson), whose father had been in the British garrison at Annapolis Royal and whose mother was Acadian, was said to have been the leader of the attackers. 


Learn More:

Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada

Lieu historique national du Canada Bloody Creek

Histoire

Texte de la plaque © Parcs Canada/T. Fry

En 1932, la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada a érigé une plaque afin de souligner l’importance historique nationale de deux affrontements militaires dans la région de Bloody Creek. Voici le texte figurant sur la plaque :

Commémoration des deux batailles entre les garnisons britanniques d’Annapolis Royal, les alliés français et les autochtones durant le demi-siècle de conflit pour la possession de l’Acadie : sur la rive nord de la rivière Annapolis, le 10 juin 1711; et ici même, le 8 décembre 1757.

10 juin 1711

La première bataille a lieu le 10 juin 1711 (le 21 juin selon le calendrier actuel) durant une période de tension entre la garnison stationnée au fort d’Annapolis Royal (anciennement Port Royal), en Nouvelle Écosse, et les Acadiens de la région. Huit mois auparavant, en octobre 1710, des forces de la Grande Bretagne et de la Nouvelle Angleterre avaient pris possession du fort, et par le fait même, de Port Royal, la capitale de l’Acadie. Une garnison temporaire de 450 hommes, composée de troupes britanniques et de Nouvelle Angleterre, est demeurée au fort durant l’hiver.

Les relations entre les administrateurs et la garnison britanniques occupant le fort et les Acadiens vivant aux abords de la rivière Annapolis sont tendus durant l’hiver 1710 1711. La Grande-Bretagne et la France s’opposent toujours dans la guerre de succession d’Espagne. Seule la superficie dans un rayon de trois milles du fort a été cédée avec le fort, ce qui laisse les Acadiens à l’extérieur de la zone désignée dans une posture ambiguë. Il est plus que probable que les Français regagnent le fort, soit par la force ou par un traité de paix; la Grande Bretagne a rendu le fort à la France à la conclusion de certaines guerres précédentes.

Pour dissuader les Acadiens de venir en aide aux garnisons britanniques, Philippe de Rigaud de Vaudreuil, gouverneur général de la Nouvelle France, a nommé Bernard Anselme d’Abbadie de Saint Castin à titre de commandant des Premières Nations et des forces françaises et lui a donné plus d’autorité en le nommant officier des Compagnies franches, les troupes ayant servi dans les colonies françaises . Malgré son jeune âge, Saint Castin est un commandant expérimenté, respecté des Abénaquis dans le Maine actuel et connaît bien l’ancienne région de Port Royal. Saint Castin et les guerriers autochtones, surtout des Abénaquis et des Malécites, passent l’hiver 1710 1711 dans la région d’Annapolis Royal à lancer des attaques contre le fort et à menacer les Acadiens collaborant avec les Britanniques.

L’approvisionnement en matériaux de construction pour réparer les fortifications devient un problème sérieux. Au printemps 1711, le fort est en mauvais état et présente de larges brèches dans les remparts. Alexander Forbes, ingénieur du fort, demande aux Acadiens vivant aux abords de la rivière de fournir 2000 perches et 400 poutres pour combler les brèches et pour recouvrir les parois du fort. Certains Acadiens acceptent de collaborer tandis que d’autres refusent, notamment les Acadiens vivant en amont de la rivière. Coincés entre les demandes émanant du fort, les menaces de représailles des guerriers autochtones et l’excommunication de l’Église catholique, les Acadiens se trouvent en bien mauvaise posture. Les guerriers autochtones, et possiblement certains Acadiens parmi les plus récalcitrants, libèrent les billots de bois disposés en radeau avant qu’ils ne parviennent au fort. L’approvisionnement en bois diminue. Les dirigeants du fort envoient ensuite des troupes à la rencontre des Acadiens vivant en amont; ainsi, l’approvisionnement reprend puis ralentit à nouveau. Les dirigeants décident alors d’envoyer un autre détachement.

Le 10 juin (le 21 juin selon le calendrier actuel), le Capitaine David Pidgeon mène un détachement de quelque 70 soldats en amont de la rivière, ainsi que Forbes (l’ingénieur) et une vingtaine de volontaires, dont le Capitaine John Bartlet, commandant du détachement précédent et major du fort. Le détachement se veut un moyen de forcer les Acadiens récalcitrants à se plier aux ordres des Britanniques de leur fournir du bois. Les ordres de Pidgeon sont les suivants : menacer les fournisseurs acadiens et tuer quelques hommes récalcitrants, au besoin, plutôt que de payer une compensation.

L’expédition remonte la rivière à bord d’une baleinière et de deux plates. Au moment où la baleinière transportant l’ingénieur, le major du fort et les autres atteint une courbe étroite en amont de la rivière, les guerriers autochtones passent à l’attaque. Tous les hommes à bord de la baleinière sont tués, sauf un, tandis que ceux à bord des deux plates sont tués, blessés ou fait prisonniers. Les blessés sont échangés contre des rançons tandis que les prisonniers entreprennent un long périple vers Québec.

Le groupe d’assaillants se composait essentiellement d’une quarantaine d’Abénaquis et de leur commandant Simhouret, tous récemment arrivés de Pentagouët (maintenant Castine, dans le Maine), et mis en place par Saint Castin. Les Britanniques ont cru qu’il s’agissait de 150 guerriers. Certains des soldats blessés affirment que des Français, déguisés en guerriers autochtones, ont pris part à la bataille. Il semblerait qu’aucun Acadien n’y ait pris part.

Père Antoine Gaulin, missionnaire auprès des Abénaquis, présente une version alarmante des événements. Il affirme que le détachement britannique avait planifié d’attaquer les familles Mi=kmaq vivant en amont de la rivière, de déporter la majorité des habitants français et de mettre le feu aux établissements en amont . La menace posée par les hommes de Pidgeon et leur défaite poussent la résistance acadienne à se mobiliser contre les troupes de Grande-Bretagne et de Nouvelle Angleterre occupant le fort, ce qui entraîne une augmentation des tensions durant plusieurs semaines, lesquelles s’écoulent sans incident majeur.

8 décembre 1757

La deuxième bataille commémorée par la plaque de Bloody Creek a lieu le 8 décembre 1757 durant une autre période de tension entre les Acadiens et les administrateurs et la garnison occupant le fort d’Annapolis Royal. En 1755, le gouvernement de la Nouvelle Écosse avait déporté les Acadiens d’Annapolis Royal et d’autres établissements acadiens d’importance. Les Acadiens ayant réussi à fuir lors de la déportation forment des groupes de résistance. Ceux-ci gardent la garnison confinée au fort, qui n’est pas en mesure de s’aventurer en dehors de la ville sans un détachement de couverture. C’était particulièrement le cas lorsque le 43e régiment, un régiment britannique connaissant peu la Nouvelle Écosse, est placé en garnison en octobre 1757.

La bataille de Bloody Creek du 8 décembre est précipitée par l’assaut, deux jours auparavant, d’un groupe envoyé de l’autre côté de la rivière Annapolis pour couper du bois de chauffage. Un petit groupe de miliciens français tue un grenadier et fait prisonniers plusieurs hommes, dont John Eason, maître charpentier du fort. Un détachement envoyé à la rescousse de ce dernier rentre bredouille. Ajoutant l’insulte à l’injure, les assaillants reviennent et raillent le fort en tirant du mousquet en un victorieux « feu de jeu ». Un détachement de plus grande envergure est ensuite organisé et envoyé en mission le soir même.

Le détachement était composé de deux capitaines, deux lieutenants, deux enseignes, quatre sergents, deux tambours et 100 soldats, soutenu par une vingtaine de volontaires du fort et de la ville et dirigé par des hommes de la région, dont John Dyson, magasinier de l’artillerie. John Knox, un lieutenant du 43e régiment, donne un compte rendu de première main dans son journal . L’objectif de ce détachement était de libérer les prisonniers et « de donner une bonne leçon aux canailles pour leur insolence » .

Le détachement britannique parcourt le côté sud de la rivière Annapolis, à la recherche d’un point pour traverser sur l’autre rive, là où les Acadiens et les prisonniers se trouvaient. Après deux nuits et un jour d’exposition au froid et trois tentatives échouées de traverser la rivière, le détachement rebrousse chemin en direction du fort. Le matin du 8 décembre vers onze heures, au moment de traverser le pont étroit de rondins sur la rivière René Forêt (maintenant Bloody Creek), les Britanniques subissent l’assaut des forces françaises et l’officier de commandement est tué. Après un moment de confusion et des cris de retraite, les derniers hommes parviennent à traverser le pont pour ensuite faire face aux tirs de batterie de fortune de l’autre côté. Les assaillants fuient ensuite, poursuivis brièvement par les soldats. Craignant une nouvelle attaque plus en avant, les Britanniques battent en retraite vers Annapolis Royal en laissant derrière la plupart des soldats morts et blessés. Knox évalue les pertes humaines au Capitaine Peter Pigou (le commandant du détachement), à un sergent et à 22 soldats.

Sept mois plus tard, en juillet 1758, certains prisonniers du groupe parti couper du bois, ayant réussi à s’échapper de leurs ravisseurs, se rendent au Fort Cumberland, sur l’isthme de Chignectou. Une lettre d’un officier du fort donne une description détaillée des assauts, tels que rapportés par les prisonniers . Ils affirment que le 6 décembre, les assaillants étaient une quinzaine tandis que le 8 décembre, ils étaient environ 56. Ce dernier groupe était en fait dans la région à la recherche de bétail et de provisions. Après avoir tendu une embuscade au détachement qui se trouvait en grande infériorité numérique, l’« ennemi » a continué à se battre, encouragé par les cris apeurés de retraite. Selon les prisonniers, sept des assaillants ont été tués et neuf, blessés. L’officier affirme qu’aucun des blessés laissés derrière par les Britanniques n’ont été fait prisonniers et qu’ils ont apparemment été tués. William Johnson (Guillaume Jeanson), dont le père était dans la garnison britannique d’Annapolis Royal et dont la mère était acadienne, agissait apparemment à titre de chef des assaillants.

Apprenez plus :

Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada