Cape Spear Lighthouse National Historic Site of Canada

Natural Heritage

Cape Spear National Historic Site of Canada is the most easterly point of land in North America. This location coupled with a microenvironment produces unique vegetation. Cape Spear's diverse plant community makes each visit to Cape Spear a different experience. For example, if you visit in the middle of July, you will see different plants blooming than if you visited just two weeks before.

Cape Spear's location also makes it a great place to watch for birds and whales. Many bird species that can be seen at Cape Spear, such as shearwaters, are usually only seen far out to sea. During the summer, Manx shearwater, Sooty shearwater, and Greater shearwater are apparent, as well as Murres, Razorbills, and if you are lucky, Skuas, and Jaegers.

The majestic and graceful Humpback is the most commonly sighted whale at Cape Spear. Their acrobatic displays always captivate and excite those privileged to catch a view of them. Visitors are also likely to see Minke and Fin whales. During the summer of 2002, Orcas were spotted at least four times with one pod having a minimum of 15 individuals! White-sided dolphins, Beaked dolphins, Porpoises, Harbour seals and Otters have all been seen from the most easterly point as well.

Lieu historique national du Canada du Phare-de-Cap-Spear

Patrimoine naturel

Le lieu historique national du Canada du Cap-Spear occupe la pointe de terre la plus à l'est de l’Amérique du Nord. Cet emplacement, associé à un micromilieu, héberge une flore unique. La communauté végétale diversifiée de Cap-Spear fait de chaque visite dans ce secteur une expérience différente. Ainsi, au mois de juillet, on assiste à la floraison d'espèces qu'on n'aurait pas remarquées deux semaines plus tôt.

La situation de Cap-Spear en fait également un excellent site d'observation des oiseaux. Nombre d'espèces observables de cet endroit, comme les puffins, ne se retrouvent d'ordinaire que loin en mer. Durant l'été, on peut en effet observer le puffin des Anglais, le puffin fuligineux et le puffin majeur, ainsi que les guillemots, les petits pingouins et, avec de la chance, les labbes.

Le rorqual à bosse, tout à la fois gracieux et majestueux, est le cétacé le plus souvent observé à Cap-Spear. Ses spectacles de nage acrobatique savent toujours captiver et enthousiasmer ceux qui ont le privilège d'y assister. Il est également assez fréquent de voir le petit rorqual et le rorqual commun. Durant l'été 2002, on a signalé des épaulards à quatre reprises, dont un groupe qui comptait pas moins de 15 individus! Le dauphin à flancs blancs de l'Atlantique, le dauphin à nez blanc, le marsouin, le phoque commun et la loutre ont aussi tous été observés depuis la pointe du continent!