Common menu bar links

Cape Spear Lighthouse National Historic Site

Cape Spear Historic Dinners

Cape Spear Historic Dinners

Just steps from the most spectacular view of the Atlantic Ocean, some of the province’s finest chefs bring exquisite local cuisine to the oldest surviving lighthouse in Newfoundland. Accompanied by the sounds of traditional music, dinners at the Cape Spear Lighthouse National Historic Site offer a spectacular dining experience only possible in Eastern Newfoundland.
 
The heritage of Cape Spear and Newfoundland fine dining come together at the Cape Spear historic lighthouse dinners. Parks Canada and the Restaurant Association of Newfoundland give visitors the rare opportunity to experience local food, music and culture in the historically authentic Cape Spear Lighthouse.

To find out more about the Restaurant Association of Newfoundland, visit: ranl.ca

Restaurant Association of Newfoundland & Labrador

Dates

Dinners are hosted at the Cape Spear Lighthouse National Historic Site every Sunday from June 22, 2014 to August 31, 2014 at 6:00 p.m. A maximum of 26 people can attend each evening, where a three course meal is served. We add an element of surprise by letting the menu unknown to guests until the very beginning of the evening!

2014 Dinner Dates     Restaurants                     Number of Seats Available 
June 22     The Reluctant Chef      SOLD OUT*
June 29  Chinched Bistro  SOLD OUT*
July 6 Bacalao       SOLD OUT*
July 13  Fogo Island Inn   SOLD OUT*
July 20  Uptown   SOLD OUT*
July 27  Reluctant Chef       SOLD OUT*
August 3  Uptown   SOLD OUT*
August 10  Bacalao   SOLD OUT*
August 17  Grates Cove Cafe   SOLD OUT*
August 24  Grates Cove Cafe   SOLD OUT*
August 31      Delta St. John's Hotel  Limited space remaining

*Please call 709-765-8483 to be added to the waitlist for a sold out event. 

Restaurants

The Reluctant Chef

June 22 & July 27

The Reluctant Chef  Photo: The Reluctant Chef
© Parks Canada

 

At the Reluctant Chef, local ingredients come together in a multi-course meal served with your choice of fine wine. With no set menu, each dish is a truly unique creation. Executive Chef Mike Boyd prepares a diverse selection of dishes to tantalize the palette: fresh breads, meats and fishes, pastas and cheeses, salads and desserts.

Location: 281 Duckworth Street, St. John’s
Contact: 709-754-6011
Website: thereluctantchef.ca

Chinched Bistro

June 29

Chinched Bistro Photo: Chinched Bistro
© Parks Canada

Chinched Bistro Chef/Owners Shaun Hussey and Michelle LeBlanc specialize in contemporary bistro cuisine, developing seasonal menus that are delicious to both the eye and taste. Their food is proudly made from scratch and served in a stylish and relaxed dining atmosphere in both a bar and dining room.

Location: 7 Queen Street, St. John’s
Contact: 709-722-3100
Website: chinchedbistro.com

Bacalao

July 6 & August 10

Bacalao celebrates the cuisine and culture of Newfoundland & Labrador with “Nouvelle Newfoundland Cuisine”, an innovative presentation of the foods and flavours of the province. With a focus on local produce, products and spirits, Chef and Owner Andrea Maunder creates “familiar flavours in new presentations” with her unique interpretation of local cuisine.

Location: 65 Lemarchant Road, St. John’s
Contact: 709-579-6565
Website: bacalaocuisine.ca

Fogo Island Inn

July 13

Fogo Island Inn Photos: Fogo Island Inn
© Parks Canada

 

Located off the Northeast Coast of Newfoundland, the relaxed fine dining experience of the Fogo Island Inn invites guests to taste the Island’s ‘seven seasons’ through food. Chef Murray McDonald creates a menu focused on wild things from the North Atlantic, foraged plants and berries, and local seasonal produce.

Location: Joe Batt's Arm, Newfoundland
Contact: 709-658-3444
*reservations are required for outside guests
Website: fogoislandinn.ca

Uptown

July 20 & August 3

Uptown Gourmet Grill & Bar is a premier St. John’s restaurant pairing contemporary soul food under the direction of Chef Norm Mitchell. Home of Yuk Yuks St. John’s, Uptown is an ideal destination for both relaxed dining and entertainment. Uptown focuses on excellent service for guests enjoying dinner with or without a show.

Location: 193 Kenmount Road, St. John’s
Contact: 709-753-3463
Website: experienceuptown.com

Grates Cove Café

August 17 & August 24

Grates Cove Café Photo: Grates Cove Café
© Parks Canada

The Café at Grates Cove Studios offers home cooked Newfoundland, Cajun and fusion dishes created by owners Terrence and Courtney Howell. From comfort dishes that will make you feel at home to new creations like the Snow Crab Etouffee, the Howells have created a menu reflective of their background and international travels. Grates Cove Studios is located in the historic town of Grates Cove along the Baccalieu Trail.

Location: Main Street, Grates Cove
Contact: 709-587-3880
Website: gratescovestudios.com

Delta St. John's Hotel

August 31

Chef: Steven Gugelmeier

Location: 120 New Gower Street, St John's
Contact: 709-739-6404
Website: deltahotels.com

Prices & Reservations

Three course dinner: $75 per person
Three course dinner & alcohol: $85 per person

For reservations, call 709-765-8483.

Lieu historique national du Canada du Phare-de-Cap-Spear

Dîners au Lieu historique national du Canada du Phare-de-Cap-Spear

Dîners au Lieu historique national du Canada du Phare-de-Cap-Spear

À quelques pas seulement de la vue la plus spectaculaire de l’océan Atlantique, des chefs de renom de la province présentent une cuisine locale exquise au plus ancien phare toujours debout de Terre-Neuve. Cette expérience culinaire unique en son genre dans l’Est de Terre-Neuve est offerte dans le cadre de dîners accompagnés de musique traditionnelle au Lieu historique national du Canada du Phare-de-Cap-Spear.

Le patrimoine du Cap-Spear et la fine cuisine de Terre-Neuve vous attendent aux dîners offerts au Lieu historique national du Canada du Phare-de-Cap-Spear. Parcs Canada et la Restaurant Association of Newfoundland (l’association des restaurateurs de Terre-Neuve) proposent aux visiteurs une occasion unique de savourer la cuisine locale et de découvrir la musique et la culture dans le phare historique authentique du Cap-Spear.

Pour un complément d’information sur la Restaurant Association of Newfoundland (l’association des restaurateurs de Terre-Neuve), veuillez visiter le site : ranl.ca.

L’Association des restaurateurs de Terre-Neuve

Dates

Il y a des dîners au Lieu historique national du Canada du Phare-de-Cap-Spear tous les dimanches, à 18 h, du 22 juin au 31 août 2014. Au maximum, 26 convives peuvent prendre ce repas à trois services chaque dimanche. Nous avons ajouté un élément de surprise à ces dîners : nous dévoilerons le menu à nos invités seulement à leur arrivée! 

Dates des dîners pour la saison 2014     Restaurants                  Nombre de places
le 22 juin The Reluctant Chef Complet
le 29 juin Chinched Bistro Complet
le 6 juillet Bacalao Complet
le 13 juillet Fogo Island Inn Complet
le 20 juillet Uptown Complet
le 27 juillet Reluctant Chef Complet
le 3 août Uptown Complet
le 10 août  Bacalao Complet
le 17 août  Grates Cove Cafe Complet
le 24 août  Grates Cove Cafe Complet
le 31 août  Delta St. John's Hotel Places disponibles limitées

Restaurants

The Reluctant Chef

le 22 juin et le 27 juillet

The Reluctant Chef Photo: The Reluctant Chef
© Parks Canada

Au restaurant The Reluctant Chef, des repas à plusieurs services sont préparés avec des ingrédients locaux et arrosés d’une sélection de bons vins. Il n’y a pas de menu fixe; chaque plat est une création tout à fait unique. Le premier chef Mike Boyd cuisine divers plats pour titiller les papilles gustatives : pain, viande et poisson, pâtes et fromages, salades et desserts.

Adresse : 281, rue Duckworth, St. John’s
Téléphone : 709-754-6011
Site Web : thereluctantchef.ca

Chinched Bistro

le 29 juin

Chinched Bistro Photo: Chinched Bistro
© Parks Canada

Les chefs et propriétaires de Chinched Bistro, Shaun Hussey et Michelle LeBlanc, se spécialisent dans la cuisine contemporaine de style bistrot. Leur menu est fonction des saisons et leurs plats sont succulents et très attrayants à l’œil. Tous les mets sont cuisinés sur place et servis dans une atmosphère détendue et chic au bar et dans la salle à manger.

Adresse : 7, rue Queen, St. John’s
Téléphone : 709-722-3100
Site Web : chinchedbistro.com

Bacalao

le 6 juillet et le 10 août

Bacalao met en valeur la cuisine et la culture de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador au moyen de la Nouvelle Newfoundland Cuisine (nouvelle cuisine de Terre-Neuve), une présentation novatrice des aliments et des saveurs de la province. La chef et propriétaire Andea Maunder utilise des ingrédients, des produits et des boissons alcoolisées locaux pour créer des « saveurs connues dans de nouvelles présentations » en interprétant la cuisine locale à sa manière.

Adresse : 65 Lemarchant Road, St. John’s
Téléphone : 709-579-6565
Site Web : bacalaocuisine.ca

Fogo Island Inn

le 13 juillet

Fogo Island Inn Photo: Fogo Island Inn
© Parks Canada

Situé sur la côte Nord-Est de Terre-Neuve, Fogo Island Inn offre aux convives une expérience gastronomique dans une ambiance détendue et les invite à apprécier les « sept saisons » par la nourriture. Le chef Murray McDonald crée un menu basé sur les produits de l’Atlantique Nord, les plantes fourragères et les baies, et les produits locaux de saison.

Lieu : Joe Batt's Arm, Terre-Neuve
Téléphone : 709-658-3444
*Les réservations sont obligatoires pour les visiteurs de l’extérieur.
Site Web : fogoislandinn.ca/

Uptown

le 20 juillet et le 3 août

Uptown Gourmet Grill & Bar est un restaurant de choix de St. John’s. Le chef Norm Mitchell offre une cuisine à la fois contemporaine et américaine noire. Ce resto où ont lieu les soirées Yuk Yuks – St. John’s est l’endroit idéal pour prendre un repas et se divertir dans une atmosphère détendue. Uptown se targue d’offrir un excellent service aux convives qui sont venus prendre un bon repas, avec ou sans spectacle.

Adresse : 193 Kenmount Road, St. John’s
Téléphone : 709-753-3463
Site Web : experienceuptown.com

Grates Cove Café

les 17 et 24 août

Grates Cove Café Photo: Grates Cove Café
© Parks Canada

 Le café de Grates Cove Studios offre des plats maison terre-neuviens et cajuns et des plats fusion créés par les propriétaires Terrence et Courtney Howell. Depuis des plats réconfortants qui vous feront vous sentir comme chez vous jusqu’à de nouvelles créations comme du crabe des neiges à l’étouffée, les Howell ont établi un menu qui reflète leurs antécédents et leurs voyages à l’étranger. Grates Cove Studios est situé dans la localité historique de Grates Cove le long du sentier Baccalieu.

Adresse : Rue Main, Grates Cove
Téléphone : 709-587-3880
Site Web : gratescovestudios.com/restaurant

Delta St. John's Hotel

le 31 août

Chef : Steven Gugelmeier
Adresse : 120, rue New Gower, St John's
Téléphone : 709-739-6404
Site Web : deltahotels.com

Prix et réservations

Repas trois services : 75 $ par personne
Repas trois services et alcool : 85 $ par personne

Pour faire une réservation, veuillez composer le 709-765-8483.