Common menu bar links

Cape Spear Lighthouse National Historic Site of Canada

Activities

Cape Spear Lighthouse National Historic Site

Step into the life of a 19th century lighthouse keeper’s family and learn about maritime history at the restored Cape Spear Lighthouse. Hike the headlands, exploring the ruins of Fort Cape Spear, a Second World War coastal defense battery, while watching for hundreds of migrating whales whose arrival is celebrated with an annual Cape Spear Lighthouse Whale Festival. Then, savour the unique experience of dining by candlelight in the 1836 lighthouse amid vistas of passing icebergs.


Featured Activities

Campfires at the Cape
Campfires at the Cape 
Get a taste of traditional Newfoundland music at our family-friendly campfire sing-alongs! Make sure to bring a warm sweater, a mug for hot chocolate and of course your singing voice! July 13th and 27th; August 10th and 24th. 7-8pm. Admission fee required. Meet at kiosk in parking lot!
Tea in the Lighthouse
Tea in the Lighthouse
Take a step back in time and join us for a Victorian low tea! Taste some 19th Century teas and pastries and learn how to be a proper tea guest in the restored Historic Lighthouse! August 28 and September 4.
Cape Spear Lighthouse Historic Dinners
Cape Spear Lighthouse Historic Dinners
Dine by candlelight on gourmet cuisine prepared by some of Newfoundland and Labrador’s finest chefs while you enjoy stunning views overlooking the Atlantic Ocean from the 1836 Cape Spear Lighthouse.
A Whale of a Festival!
A Whale of a Festival!
Celebrate the arrival of thousands of migrating whales to feed in the waters off Newfoundland and Labrador during the annual Cape Spear Whale Festival.

All Activities

Lieu historique national du Canada du Phare-de-Cap-Spear

Activitiés

Lieu historique national du Canada du Phare-de-Cap-Spear

Dans le phare restauré du cap Spear, suivez les traces de la famille d’un gardien de phare au XIXe siècle, et découvrez un pan de l’histoire maritime. Promenez-vous sur le cap, explorez les vestiges du fort du cap Spear, une batterie de défense côtière datant de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Contemplez les centaines de baleines en pleine migration, dont l’arrivée est célébrée chaque année lors du Festival des baleines du phare du cap Spear. Profitez ensuite d’une expérience unique en dégustant un délicieux souper à la lueur des chandelles dans le phare de 1836, en admirant les icebergs qui dérivent au loin.


Featured Activities

Campfires at the Cape
Feux de camp au cap
Découvrez la musique traditionnelle de Terre-Neuve en chantant autour du feu avec parents et amis! N’oubliez pas d’apporter un chandail, une tasse pour le chocolat chaud et bien sûr votre voix pour chanter! Les 13 et 27 juillet et les 10 et 24 août, de 19 h à 20 h. Droits d’entrée exigés. Rendez-vous au kiosque dans le stationnement!
Tea in the Lighthouse
Thé au phare
Venez prendre le thé au phare historique du cap Spear. En compagnie d’interprètes en costumes d’époque, vivez cette tradition séculaire du thé d’après-midi, avec des gâteaux préparés selon des recettes du XIXe siècle! Le 28 août et le 4 septembre.
Profitez des plaisirs de la table au phare du cap Spear
Profitez des plaisirs de la table au phare du cap Spear
À la lueur des chandelles, dégustez un délicieux souper préparé par certains des chefs les plus renommés de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, tout en admirant la vue saisissante sur l’océan Atlantique depuis le phare du cap Spear..
Participez à un festival qui voit gros
Participez à un festival qui voit gros
Participez au Festival des baleines du cap Spear pour célébrer l’arrivée des milliers de ces mammifères marins qui viennent se nourrir au large de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador au cours de leur migration.

Activités