Signal Hill National Historic Site of Canada

Facilities and Services

The Signal Hill Visitor Centre was re-opened to the public on Parks Day 2006. The modernized exhibit introduces the Signalman, who tells visitors the site's stories throughout the exhibits and film. Visitors are invited to learn about Signal Hill's prominent role in military and communications history. They will discover fascinating details on everything from the French attacks on St. John's in the 1600s to the Second World War, when the Hill was manned by American and Canadian soldiers. There is something for everyone at the Visitor Centre. Children and adults alike will enjoy the interactive displays and kiosks where they can send their own messages and even fire a cannon!

Bilingual service is available year round. The Visitor Centre, washrooms and Lookout Trail are wheelchair accessible. Washrooms are located in the Visitor Centre. Because of the historic architecture of Cabot Tower, it is not wheelchair accessible.

Gift Shop: In Cabot Tower, visit the Heritage Gift Shop operated by the Historic Sites Association of Newfoundland and Labrador where you can purchase Newfoundland crafts, jams, souvenirs and much more. Gift shop is closed mid-January to end of March. Call during these months to confirm.

The Society of Newfoundland Radio Amateurs (SONRA) operates a ham radio station during the summer months from the second floor of Cabot Tower, commemorating Marconi's great wireless feat in 1901.

Signal Hill Tattoo: This colourful and exciting demonstration of drills, tactics and ceremony of the Royal Newfoundland Regiment of Foot is a must-see. Dressed in full military costume circa 1795, the soldiers of the Royal Newfoundland Regiment of Foot treat audiences to a military concert by the Regimental fifes and drums. Infantry soldiers demonstrate the musket, drills and battle formations of the time. The Artillery adds to the performance with an exhibition of cannon fire. Where better to hold this spectacle of military prowess than at Signal Hill National Historic Site of Canada, where the Regiment was garrisoned? Here, in 1796, they held the high ground in the defence of St. John's.

Every summer, from early July to mid-August, the Signal Hill Tattoo is presented at the performance field adjacent the Visitor Centre. Performances take place (weather permitting) every Wednesday, Thursday, Saturday and Sunday at 11:00 a.m. and 3:00 p.m.

New ! Signal Hill Visitor Center now has a canteen! Come on in to enjoy a hot coffee, a comforting soup or a delicious Panini. These are all great ways to complete your visit of Signal Hill. You will also have the opportunity to taste Newfoundland traditional plates. For information and opening hours please call (709) 772-5367.

Lieu historique national du Canada de Signal Hill

Installations et services

Le Centre d'accueil de Signal Hill a été rouvert au public en 2006, à l'occasion de la Journée des parcs. L'exposition modernisée présente le « signaleur » qui raconte aux visiteurs l'histoire de lieu au moyen des expositions et du film. Les visiteurs peuvent ainsi se renseigner sur le rôle important joué par Signal Hill dans l'histoire militaire et l'histoire des communications. Ils découvriront des détails fascinants sur toutes les facettes de cette histoire, depuis les attaques de St. John's par les Français dans les années 1600 jusqu'à la Seconde Guerre mondiale, quand les soldats américains et canadiens étaient en garnison sur la colline de Signal Hill. Le Centre d'accueil saura plaire aux visiteurs de tous âges. Tant les enfants que les adultes aimeront les expositions et les kiosques interactifs d'où ils pourront envoyer leurs propres messages et même tirer un canon!

Le lieu historique national de Signal Hill dispense ses services dans les deux langues officielles. Le Centre d'accueil, les toilettes et le sentier du Poste de guet sont accessibles en fauteuil roulant. Les toilettes se trouvent au Centre d'accueil. Le cachet historique de l'architecture de la tour Cabot n'a pas permis de la rendre accessible aux personnes en fauteuil roulant.

Boutique - Dans la tour Cabot, la boutique de cadeaux Heritage, exploitée par la Historic Sites Association of Newfoundland and Labrador, vend des objets artisanaux, des confitures maison, des souvenirs et divers autres produits associés à Terre-Neuve. La boutique est fermée de mi-janvier à la fin de mars, contactez-nous durant ces mois pour confirmer

Durant l'été, la Society of Newfoundland Radio Amateurs (SONRA) exploite une station radio amateur au premier étage de la tour Cabot, poursuivant une pratique amorcée grâce à la percée scientifique effectuée par Marconi en 1901.

Tattoo de Signal Hill - Colorée et fascinante, cette démonstration d'exercices, de tactiques et de cérémonials des fantassins du Royal Newfoundland Regiment est à ne pas manquer! Vêtus de pied en cap de l'uniforme de ce corps d'armée vers 1795, ces soldats offrent au public un concert militaire de fifres et de tambours. L'infanterie procède ensuite à des démonstrations de tir du mousquet, d'exercices et de formations de bataille, tels qu'ils étaient pratiqués au XVIIIe siècle. L'artillerie est de la partie avec une démonstration de tir de canon. Et quel endroit est plus indiqué pour ce spectacle de prouesses militaires que le lieu historique national du Canada de Signal Hill? En effet, c'est en cet emplacement dominant que le régiment était caserné en 1796 pour assurer la défense de St. John's.

Tous les étés, du début de juillet au milieu d'août, le Tattoo de Signal Hill est présenté au champ d'exercice adjacent au Centre d'accueil. Les spectacles ont lieu tous les mercredis, jeudis, samedis et dimanches, à 11 h et à 15 h., lorsque le temps le permet.

Nouveau ! Le centre des visiteurs de Signal Hill a maintenant un service de restauration! Quoi de mieux qu'un breuvage chaud, une soupe réconfortante ou un panini bien garni pour compléter votre visite! Vous aurez aussi la possibilité de goûter à des spécialités typiquement terre-neuviennes! Contactez le (709) 772-5367 pour connaître les heures d'ouverture.