Common menu bar links

Signal Hill National Historic Site of Canada

Visitor Information  © Newfoundland Chocolate Café

Visitor Information

Signal Hill celebrates St. John’s rich communications and military history, amidst spectacular city and ocean views. Enjoy military and musical performances, stirring ceremonies, coastal hikes, dramatic fortifications, and the iconic Cabot Tower.

We're rehabilitating infrastructure at Signal Hill National Historic Site!
To learn more, go to: What to know before you visit

Browse the links below for useful up-to-date visitor information to plan your trip:

 Location Highlights:

  • Make the Visitor Centre your first stop, where Signal Hill’s communications and military history are brought to life. Friendly staff also offer great info on special programs, events, and guided tours.
  • Signal Hill was the reception point of the first transatlantic wireless signal from Cornwall, England. Guglielmo Marconi set up his radio receiving apparatus in an abandoned hospital and received the transatlantic wireless signal here on December 12, 1901. The broadcast, received from an antenna raised on a kite, was the letter "S" (dot, dot, dot) in Morse code.
  • Visit the Queen’s Battery and the barracks and learn about how St. John’s harbour was defended in the 19th century. The fortification of Signal Hill began during the French Revolutionary Wars and Napoleonic Wars (1792–1815).
  • St. John's most visible landmark, Cabot Tower, was built between 1897 to 1901, in honour of Queen Victoria's Diamond Jubilee, and the 400th anniversary of John Cabot's arrival on the island of Newfoundland.
  • On a clear day at the top of Signal Hill, you’ll enjoy marvellous views of the Atlantic and St. John’s harbour, and even spot icebergs (in spring and summer), birds and whales. Look out from the Cabot Tower to see waves crashing, spot Cape Spear Lighthouse and the most easterly point in North America.
  • Internationally known Signal Hill Tattoo perform drills, tactics and music in period uniform here in summer.
  • Bring your hiking shoes and enjoy Signal Hill’s breathtaking trails, including the popular 4km (2.5 miles) North Head Trail, offering great views of the Narrows.
  • Catch seasonal special events from live ghost stories to wine tastings and musical concerts.BOOM!! Fire the Noon Day Gun, and take part in a St. John’s tradition.

Lieu historique national du Canada de Signal Hill

Information aux visiteurs  © Parks Canada

Information aux visiteurs

Signal Hill met en valeur la riche histoire militaire de St. John’s et celle des communications, en plus d’offrir des vues spectaculaires sur la ville et l’océan. Laissez-vous séduire par les spectacles militaires et musicaux, les cérémonies émouvantes, les randonnées le long des côtes, le caractère dramatique des fortifications et la célèbre tour Cabot.  

Nous remettons en état les infrastructures du lieu historique national de Signal Hill!
Pour en savoir davantage, allez à:  Ce qu'il faut savoir avant votre visite



Parcourez les liens ci-dessous pour obtenir de l’information à jour qui vous aidera à planifier votre visite.


En vedette

  • Faites du centre d’accueil votre point de départ. Vous pourrez y revivre l’histoire militaire et l’aventure des communications dont Signal Hill a été le théâtre. Le personnel du centre vous renseignera sur les programmes spéciaux, les événements et les visites guidées.
  • Signal Hill était le point de réception du premier signal transatlantique sans fil émis depuis Cornwall en Angleterre. Guglielmo Marconi a installé son récepteur radio dans un hôpital abandonné et y a reçu le signal transatlantique sans fil, le 12 décembre 1901. La communication, reçue au moyen d’un cerf-volant auquel était fixée une antenne, était la lettre « S » (point, point, point) en code morse.
  • Visitez la batterie de la Reine et les casernes, et apprenez-en plus sur la défense du port de St. John’s au XIXe siècle. La fortification de Signal Hill commence pendant la Révolution française et les guerres napoléoniennes (1792-1815).
  • Emblème le plus visible de St. John’s, la tour Cabot est érigée entre 1897 et 1901 pour marquer le Jubilé de diamant de la reine Victoria et souligner le 400e anniversaire de l’arrivée de Cabot à l’île de Terre-Neuve.
  • Au sommet de Signal Hill, par temps clair, les vues sont imprenables sur l’Atlantique et le port de St. John’s. Vous pourrez repérer des icebergs (au printemps et en été) et des baleines. Depuis la tour Cabot, observez les vagues se briser, puis repérez le phare du Cap-Spear, le point le plus à l’est de l’Amérique du Nord.
  • Le tattoo de Signal Hill, de renommée internationale, présente en été des exercices de militaires en uniformes d’époque, des démonstrations de tactique et de la musique.
  • Enfilez vos chaussures de randonnée. Les sentiers à couper le souffle de Signal Hill vous appartiennent, notamment le populaire sentier du cap Nord qui compte 4 km et de superbes vues sur le goulet. 
  •  Profitez des événements saisonniers spéciaux : récits de fantômes, dégustation de vins, concerts et tir du canon de midi où vous perpétuerez une vieille tradition à St. John’s.