Common menu bar links

Signal Hill National Historic Site of Canada

Hiking

North Head Trail

There are several hiking trails at Signal Hill National Historic Site, all of which boast panoramic views and captivating scenery. Bring appropriate footwear, a bottle of water, binoculars, a camera, and explore the trails. Signal Hill's trail system also connects to the Grand Concourse which leads to most parts of the City of St. John's.

Want to know what you can expect? Explore Signal Hill National Historic Site through the unique panoramic lens of Google Street View.


Hiking Trails at Signal Hill

Hiking Trails at Signal Hill  

_ _ _ Burma Road Trail

One way 1.2 km - Easy

This trail leads to Cuckold's Cove Lookout where hikers can continue on to Quidi Vidi village or retrace their steps to the Ladies Lookout trail and loop to the top of the hill. The trail begins by George's Pond across the road from the Visitor Interpretation Centre.

_ _ _ Gibbet Hill Lookout

Round trip 1 km - Intermediate

This trail begins by the Tattoo Performance Field adjacent the Visitor Interpretation Centre and leads to the top of Gibbet Hill. The hill gets its name from a hangman's platform (a gibbet) used in the St. John's colonial period to deter criminal activity. The hiker is rewarded with a spectacular view of St. John's harbour and the Waterford Valley.

_ _ _ Queen's Battery Barracks Trail

One way 500 m - Intermediate
Queen's Battery Barracks Trail Queen's Battery Barracks Trail
© Destination St. Johns

This trail will take the visitor from the Visitor Interpretation Centre up to the Queen's Battery Barracks and on to Cabot Tower at the top of Signal Hill. The Queen's Battery Barracks offers an amazing view of the Narrows, Fort Amherst and the Southside of the harbour.

_ _ _ Ladies Lookout

One way 650 m - Intermediate

This trail has significant value as Signal Hill was originally known as Ladies Lookout. Beginning at the top parking lot, it will take the visitor to Cuckold's Cove Lookout or they can loop around the summit and return to the parking area.

_ _ _ North Head Trail

3.7 km loop - Difficult

The North Head Trail is the most popular hiking trail at Signal Hill National Historic Site. Hikers can connect with it from the parking lot at the top of the hill. From there they will descend boardwalk stairs and follow a footpath to North Head at the entrance to St. John's Harbour, along the narrows where they eventually connect to the Lower Battery Road. This 1.7 km hike will take approximately 90 minutes and descends almost 500 feet. The trail is maintained for safety and enjoyment but the following safety rules are recommended:

  • Young children and persons who have difficulty walking long distances on steep terrain should not attempt this trail. This trail is classified as difficult.
  • Be prepared - wear sturdy footwear with ankle support and be sure to let someone know where you are going.
  • Stay on the trail and do not attempt short cuts. Parts of the coastline can be dangerous.
  • In the event of wet weather, fog, or strong winds you should postpone your hike.
  • If in doubt or if you have questions, please check with a Park official before starting.

_ _ _ Lookout Trail

300 m - Easy

The Lookout Trail, which is fully accessible, circles the summit of Signal Hill and offers visitors the best vistas of St. John's and surrounding area. Hold on to your hat; it's the windiest place on site!

Lieu historique national du Canada de Signal Hill

Sentier du cap Nord Sentier du cap Nord
© Destination St. John's


Randonnée pédestre

Au lieu historique national du Canada de Signal Hill, plusieurs sentiers vous permettent d'admirer des panoramas majestueux et des paysages saisissants. Pour profiter de votre randonnée, préparez-vous en conséquence : chaussures et vêtements appropriés, bouteille d'eau, jumelles et appareil-photo. Les sentiers de Signal Hill sont reliés au Grand Concourse, un réseau de randonnée qui parcourt la ville de St. John's en long et en large.

Sentier Burma Road

Ce sentier, qui commence à côté de l'étang George, de l'autre côté de la route devant le Centre d'accueil, mène au belvédère de l'anse Cuckold. De là, les randonneurs peuvent pousser jusqu'au village de Quidi Vidi ou revenir sur leurs pas, emprunter le sentier du Belvédère des Dames et retrouver le sommet de la colline.

Point de vue de la colline du Gibet

Ce sentier commence en bordure du champ d'exercice du Tattoo, à côté du Centre d'accueil, et mène au sommet de la colline du Gibet. C'est en haut de ce monticule qu'était installée la potence utilisée à l'époque coloniale pour décourager les activités criminelles. Le randonneur y trouvera une vue spectaculaire du port de St. John's et de la vallée de la rivière Waterford.

Du centre d'accueil à la tour Cabot, en passant par la caserne de la batterie de la Reine

À partir du Centre d'accueil, les promeneurs empruntent ce sentier pour se rendre d'abord à la caserne de la batterie de la Reine, puis à la tour Cabot, au sommet de Signal Hill. De la caserne, on a une vue saisissante du goulet, du fort Amherst et du côté sud du havre.

Belvédère des dames

Ladies Lookout (belvédère des dames) : c'est ainsi qu'on a d'abord appelé Signal Hill. Ce sentier débute au terrain de stationnement de la tour Cabot et conduit les randonneurs au belvédère de l'anse Cuckold, ou les ramène au stationnement en faisant le tour du sommet.

Sentier du cap Nord

Ce sentier est certes le plus populaire auprès des randonneurs qui visitent le lieu historique national du Canada de Signal Hill. On peut l'emprunter à partir du terrain de stationnement du sommet de la colline. Il suffit de descendre l'escalier de bois pour suivre le sentier qui mène au cap Nord, à l'entrée du port de St. John's, longe le goulet et aboutit au chemin Outer Battery. Cette randonnée de 1,7 km, qui dure environ 90 minutes, vous fait descendre de près de 175 mètres. Le sentier est entretenu pour assurer la sécurité et le plaisir des visiteurs. Toutefois, il importe d'observer les règles suivantes :

  • Les jeunes enfants et les personnes qui ne peuvent pas marcher sur de longues distances devraient s'abstenir d'emprunter ce sentier, qui est classé comme difficile.
  • Soyez bien préparé : portez des chaussures solides, qui soutiennent bien la cheville, et prévenez quelqu'un de votre itinéraire.
  • Demeurez sur le sentier et n'essayez pas de prendre de raccourcis. Des sections de la côte sont dangereuses.
  • En cas de pluie, de brume ou de forts vents, il vaut mieux remettre votre randonnée.
  • Si vous avez des doutes ou des questions, n'hésitez pas à vous informer auprès d'un représentant de Parcs Canada avant de vous mettre en route.