Port au Choix National Historic Site of Canada

History

Dorset Paleoeskimo

Composite harpoon exhibit at Port au Choix Visitor Centre
Composite harpoon exhibit at Port au Choix Visitor Centre
©Parks Canada

The Dorset Paleoeskimo is also an Arctic culture which expanded southwards and reached Labrador around 2500 years and arrived on the island of Newfoundland approximately 500 years later.

In Newfoundland and Labrador the Dorset Paleoeskimo refers to a later group of Paleoeskimos that followed the Groswater Paleoeskimo in time. It is unclear if there is any connection between these two peoples. Some radiocarbon dates suggest that the Dorset and Groswater Paleoeskimo occupation of Port au Choix overlapped. However, it is generally accepted that the Dorset Paleoeskimo lived at Port au Choix from 2000 to 1300 years B.P. and occupied the Phillip's Garden Site. Thus the Paleoeskimo represent the longest occupation of Port au Choix by any group of people.

Dorset burial cave at Port au Choix
Dorset burial cave at Port au Choix
©Parks Canada

The site at Phillip's Garden is very rich and one of the largest Dorset sites in the eastern Canadian Arctic. The site contains at least 50 house depressions and thousands of artifacts. Many of the bone artifacts were preserved in the alkaline soils thanks to Port au Choix's limestone geology. Among these artifacts were many harp seal bones, indicating the importance of this resource to their survival. Unlike the Groswater Paleoeskimo, it is believed that the Dorset occupation was a much more permanent settlement.

The overall spacing and greater organization of the houses, suggest a more permanent settlement rather than just a seasonal occupation. Excavation of the site has revealed a variety of dwelling features suggesting occupation in different seasons. The variety of excavated tools also indicate the site was much more than a specialized hunting camp. Some of the tools include sled runners, soapstone pots, awls, burin-like tools, scrapers, harpoon heads and small triangular harpoon endblades (as seen above) characteristic of Dorset technology.

Head exhibit at Port au Choix Visitor Centre
Head exhibit at Port au Choix Visitor Centre
©Parks Canada

The Dorset Paleoeskimos seemed to have disappeared from Port au Choix about 1300 years ago and from the island of Newfoundland by 1100 years B.P. Their disappearance from the island may be connected to the appearance of a new Indian population in the area at the same time, although the Indians could have returned because the Dorset had vacated the area. Another possible reason for the Dorset's abandonment of the island may be the result of a warming climate that occurred at this time. It is possible that an Arctic and Sub-arctic adapted culture would no longer find Newfoundland suitable. Ice conditions would have changed. This, in turn, could have affected the ability of these people to access the seal herds on which they were so dependent.

For whatever reason the Dorset disappeared from Newfoundland, it is known that they continued to survive in northern areas of Labrador until 600 years B.P.

Lieu historique national du Canada de Port au Choix

Histoire

Les Paléo-esquimaux du Dorset

Exposition sur un harpon composé en matériaux, Centre d'accueil de Port au Choix
Exposition sur un harpon composé en matériaux, Centre d'accueil de Port au Choix
©Parcs Canada

Les Paléo-esquimaux du Dorset étaient aussi originaires de l'Arctique. Prenant de l'expansion vers le sud, ils ont atteint le Labrador il y a quelque 2500 ans, puis Terre-Neuve, environ 500 ans plus tard.

À Terre-Neuve et au Labrador, le terme "Paléo-esquimaux du Dorset" s'applique à un groupe tardif de Paléo-esquimaux, postérieurs aux Paléo-esquimaux de Groswater. On ignore s'il existe un lien entre ces deux groupes. La datation de certains éléments au carbone 14 donne à penser que les périodes d'occupation de Port au Choix par les Paléo-esquimaux du Dorset et de Groswater se recoupent. Cependant, on pense généralement que les Paléo-esquimaux du Dorset ont vécu à Port au Choix, au site de Phillip's Garden, de l'an 2000 à l'an 1300. Ils représentent donc le groupe qui a occupé Port au Choix le plus longtemps.

Caveau funéraire Dorset, Port au Choix
Caveau funéraire Dorset, Port au Choix
©Parcs Canada

Le site de Phillip's Garden est très riche et constitue l'un des plus vastes sites dorsetiens de l'est de l'Arctique canadien. Il renferme au moins 50 dépressions associées à des habitations et des milliers d'artefacts, dont beaucoup sont en os et ont été préservés dans le sol calcaire alcalin de Port au Choix. Au nombre de ces artefacts se trouvent de nombreux os de phoques du Groenland qui témoignent de l'importance de cet animal pour la survie des Paléo-esquimaux du Dorset. Comparativement aux Paléo-esquimaux de Groswater, ceux du Dorset se seraient établis sur place de façon beaucoup plus permanente.

L'espacement général des habitations, et celles-ci mieux organisées, évoqueret un établissement permanent plutôt qu'une occupation saisonnière. Les fouilles effectuées sur place ont révélé une variété d'éléments d'habitation laissant supposer une occupation sur plusieurs saisons. La variété des outils mis au jour indique également que le site était bien autre chose qu'un simple camp de chasse spécialisé. Parmi ces outils, mentionnons des patins de traîneaux, des alènes, des sortes de burins, des grattoirs, des têtes de harpon et les petites pointes de harpon triangulaires (voir ci-dessus) caractéristiques de la technologie du Dorset.

Exposition sur les pointes de harpon, Centre d'accueil de Port au Choix Exposition sur les pointes de harpon, Centre d'accueil de Port au Choix
©Parcs Canada

Les Paléo-esquimaux du Dorset semblent avoir disparu de Port au Choix il y a environ 1300 ans et de l'île de Terre-Neuve il y a 1100 ans. Leur disparition de l'île est peut-être due à l'arrivée dans la région d'une nouvelle population indienne à la même époque, mais il se peut que les autochtones soient revenus parce que les représentants de la culture Dorset étaient partis. Il est également possible que les Paléo-esquimaux du Dorset aient quitté l'île à cause d'un réchauffement du climat. Adaptés à l'Arctique et au Sub-arctique, ils auraient trouvé que Terre-Neuve ne leur convenait plus. Les conditions des glaces auraient changé, ce qui les aurait empêchés d'avoir accès aux phoques dont ils étaient si dépendants.

Quelle que soit la raison de leur disparition de Terre-Neuve, les Paléo-esquimaux du Dorset ont survécu dans le nord du Labrador jusqu'à il y a 600 ans environ.