Hawthorne Cottage National Historic Site of Canada

Learning Experiences

Hawthorne Cottage
Hawthorne Cottage
©Parks Canada / J-P. Jérôme
  • Set aside 2 to 3 hours for your visit to Hawthorne Cottage National Historic Site.
  • Knowledgeable interpreters are available for guided tours seven days a week. For visitors who prefer to explore on their own, there are French/English listening posts located in each room which offer entertaining sound clips and descriptions of period artifacts.
  • Visit the Green Room upstairs and enjoy our featured exhibit. Each season a new exhibit related to the Bartlett story is created and displayed in the Green Room. Past exhibits include: A...time to feed the Walrus, Jack!@ - The John Bartlett Angel Collection of Greenland Clothing and Tools, AThe Bartlett Women of Brigus, Backbone in Petticoats@ and Hooked Mats from the Hawthorne Textile Collection .
  • Tune in to videos shown daily:
    The Ice Man - The Life and Times of Captain Bob Bartlett (CBC series)
    The Viking . 1931 - first feature length Atalkie@ filmed on location.
    White Thunder - the story behind The Viking, and the disaster which claimed the lives of the film and crew.
  • Relax outside in Hawthorne's beautiful heritage garden while you enjoy live theatre. Live!...on the Lawn is a series of dramatized vignettes which offer an entertaining interpretation of the story of Captain Bob Bartlett and life in Brigus. Plays are scheduled weekly throughout the summer.
  • Walk the winding streets of Brigus, and explore the history and architecture of this beautiful 400 year- old community. Be sure to visit the John N. Leamon - Ye Olde Stone Barn Museum and the Wilcox Garden, a designated Peace Park of Canada. Continue your stroll along the waterfront and simply enjoy the spectacular coastal scenery.
  • Learn about the famous American artist Rockwell Kent who maintained a summer residence and studio in Brigus during the early part of the twentieth century.
  • Come to Hawthorne during the Brigus Blueberry Festival (second week in August) and participate in the many special events and activities.
  • Join us each September in Brigus for the Bartlett Lecture. This annual event commemorates Captain Bartlett=s presentations on the lecture circuit in the United States. Today the lecture brings international awareness to his work and to his understanding and appreciation for human cultures and the natural environment of the Arctic, and ties in the connection Brigus had to Arctic exploration.
  • School Tours & Bus Tours - are always welcome!
    A visit to Hawthorne Cottage can be an ideal full day experience when combined with other attractions. In Brigus, Ye Olde Stone Barn Museum, The Forge and The Tunnel are all within walking distance and the lawn at Hawthorne is a lovely spot to enjoy a picnic lunch. As well, we can help you arrange visits to attractions in the nearby community of Cupids which offers a selection of walking trails, the John Guy Archaeological Dig, and the Present Miss@ exhibition on early school days at the Cupids Museum. Hawthorne Cottage National Historic Site=s school programming is suitable for students from Elementary to Grade 12. Cost per student is $1.00. We kindly request that every group of six students be accompanied by one chaperone, who will be admitted free of charge. Guided tours are offered from May through October and french tours can be arranged upon request. Reservations are essential.
  • Hawthorne Cottage National Historic Site is operated for Parks Canada by the Historic Sites Association of Newfoundland and Labrador

Lieu historique national du Canada Cottage-Hawthorne

Activités éducatives

Le cottage Hawthorne
Le cottage Hawthorne
©Parcs Canada / J-P. Jérôme
  • Vous devriez prévoir de deux à trois heures pour visiter le lieu historique national du Cottage-Hawthorne.
  • Sept jours par semaine, des interprètes bien informés sont sur place pour vous faire visiter les lieux. Si vous préférez découvrir le cottage sans aide, vous trouverez dans chaque pièce des artefacts et des postes d'écoute bilingues grâce auxquels vous entendrez des effets sonores et des voix de l'époque.
  • À l'étage, visitez la chambre verte, où nous aménageons chaque année une nouvelle exposition liée à l'histoire de la famille Bartlett. Au nombre des expositions passées, mentionnons "A time to feed the Walrus, Jack! ", The John Bartlett Angel Collection of Greenland Clothing and Tools, " The Bartlett Women of Brigus, Backbone in Petticoats " et Hooked Mats from the Hawthorne Textile Collection.
  • Assistez aux projections quotidiennes de vidéos : The Ice Man - The Life and Times of Captain Bob Bartlett (série télévisée de CBC); The Viking, premier long métrage documentaire parlant filmé sur les lieux; White Thunder, histoire de la réalisation de The Viking et du désastre qui a entraîné la mort de 27 membres de l'équipe de tournage et de l'équipage.
  • Détendez-vous au grand air dans le superbe jardin historique de Hawthorne et profitez-en pour assister à une pièce de théâtre. Live! & on the Lawn, une série de capsules historiques, offre une interprétation fascinante de l'histoire du capitaine Bartlett et de la vie quotidienne à Brigus. Ces représentations sont échelonnées de semaine en semaine durant tout l'été.
  • Parcourez les rues sinueuses de Brigus pour découvrir l'histoire et l'architecture de cette jolie localité quatre fois centenaire. Ne manquez pas de visiter le musée de John N. Leamon, Ye Olde Stone Barn Museum, ainsi que les jardins Wilcox, un parc canadien de la paix. Rendez-vous jusqu'au quai de Brigus pour admirer le littoral spectaculaire.
  • Apprenez-en davantage sur le célèbre artiste américain Rockwell Kent qui, au début du XXe siècle, venait passer l'été à Brigus dans une maison qui lui servait de studio.
  • Visitez Hawthorne durant le Festival des bleuets de Brigus (deuxième semaine d'août) et participez aux nombreuses activités organisées pour l'occasion.
  • Joignez-vous à nous en septembre pour assister à la Conférence Bartlett, un événement annuel qui commémore les exposés présentés par le capitaine Bartlett sur le circuit des conférences aux États-Unis. De nos jours, cette conférence rappelle au monde entier l'Suvre de Bartlett et sa compréhension des cultures humaines et du milieu naturel de l'Arctique, ainsi que le rôle important joué par Brigus dans l'épopée de l'exploration du Grand Nord.
  • Les visites scolaires et les voyages organisés sont toujours bienvenus !
    Une visite au Cottage-Hawthorne peut constituer une excellente occasion de sortie d'une journée si on l'associe à d'autres attraits. À Brigus, le musée Ye Olde Stone Barn, la Forge et le Tunnel sont tous à distance de marche; les parterres de Hawthorne sont aussi un très joli coin où pique-niquer le midi. De plus, nous pouvons vous aider à agencer vos visites aux activités tenues dans le village voisin de Cupids, où vous trouverez divers sentiers de randonnée, des fouilles archéologiques sur le site de la colonie de John Guy et une exposition sur l'école d'antan, " Present Miss ", aménagée au musée de Cupids. Le programme de visites scolaires du lieu historique national du Cottage-Hawthorne convient aux élèves de l'élémentaire jusqu'à la 12e année. Il coûte 1 $ par élève. Nous vous recommandons d'avoir un chaperon (admis gratuitement) par groupe de six élèves. Il y a des visites guidées de mai à octobre, et des visites en français peuvent être offertes sur demande. Dans tous les cas, il est essentiel de réserver.
  • Le lieu historique national du Cottage-Hawthorne est exploité pour Parcs Canada par la Historic Sites Association of Newfoundland and Labrador.