Castle Hill National Historic Site of Canada

Learning Experiences

Spend an hour or more with us … there’s plenty to see and do!

  • Take a tour of the Visitor Centre exhibits and grounds, and learn about the life of the inhabitants of Plaisance during the mid-1600s.
  • See the Detached Redoubt and Le Gaillardin.
  • Visit the Ruins of Fort Royal and take the time to view the panorama of the Town of Placentia.
  • About one hour from Placentia, 52 kilometres (32 miles) east on the Salmonier Line on Route 90, is the Salmonier Nature Park. Here you can see moose, caribou, lynx, fox, bald eagles, and many other animals found in this part of Newfoundland.
  • 60 kilometres (40 miles) south of Castle Hill is the Cape St. Mary’s Ecological Reserve, where you’ll find the second largest colony of nesting gannets in North America. Also seen at the Cape are black-legged kittiwakes, Atlantic murres and northern razorbills. A magnificent sea stack rises out of the ocean, just off the Cape. A bird watcher’s must-see and a photographer’s delight.
  • About a half-hour from Castle Hill at Ship Harbour, visit the Ship Harbour Monument, commemorating the drafting of the Atlantic Charter by Winston Churchill and Franklin D. Roosevelt, on a warship off Ship Harbour Point in 1941.

Visitor Centre

While at Castle Hill National Historic Site of Canada, be sure to go to the Visitor Centre and view the exhibits. Interpretive panels explain about the fort and its evolution through French and British occupations.

Be sure to browse through the Historic Sites Association gift shop for reminders of your trip to Castle Hill.

Lieu historique national du Canada de Castle Hill

Activités éducatives

Que vous y passiez une heure ou davantage, le lieu historique national de Castle Hill vous propose toutes sortes de spectacles et d’activités!

  • Pour en savoir davantage sur la vie des habitants de Plaisance au milieu du XVIIe siècle, faites une visite des expositions et des environs du Centre d’accueil.
  • Rendez-vous à la redoute isolée et au Gaillardin.
  • Visitez les ruines du fort Royal et prenez le temps de contempler le saisissant panorama sur la ville de Plaisance.
  • La faune de la province est en vedette au parc Salmonier, situé à environ une heure de Placentia, soit à 52 km vers l’est par la route 90, appelée Salmonier Line. Dans leur cadre naturel, on peut y observer orignaux, caribous, lynx, renards, aigles à tête blanche et nombre d’autres animaux de l’est de Terre-Neuve.
  • À 60 km au sud de Castle Hill, ne manquez pas un site incontournable : la réserve écologique du cap St. Mary, deuxième plus grande colonie de nidification des fous de Bassan en Amérique du Nord. Les fous, ainsi que les mouettes tridactyles, les guillemots et les petits pingouins qui fréquentent le site, nichent sur un magnifique éperon d’érosion marine à quelques mètres de la plate-forme d’observation : un paradis pour ornithologues et photographes de tout poil.
  • À Ship Harbour, à environ une demi-heure de Castle Hill, un monument rappelle que c’est sur un bateau de guerre ancré au large de la pointe que Winston Churchill et Franklin D. Roosevelt ont rédigé la Charte de l’Atlantique en 1941.

Centre d’accueil

Durant votre passage au lieu historique national de Castle Hill, ne manquez pas de visiter l’exposition au Centre d’accueil : des panneaux d’interprétation vous y décrivent le fort et son évolution au gré des occupations française et anglaise.

Pour ramener un souvenir de votre visite à Castle Hill, vous pourrez fureter sur les rayons de la boutique de cadeaux tenue par la Historic Sites Association.