Saint Croix Island International Historic Site

Pierre Dugua, Sieur de Mons

Bust of Pierre Dugua, Sieur de Mons, which is at Fort Anne, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia
Bust of Pierre Dugua, Sieur de Mons, which is at Fort Anne, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia. The bust commissioned to the artist Hamilton MacCarthy in the early 1900
© Parks Canada / Theresa Bundbury

Pierre Dugua, Sieur de Mons, was born in the Royan region during the time of the religious wars. As a Huguenot, he participated in the religious conflicts. In 1594, as King of France, Henri IV rewards those who supported him. Dugua is given a pension and the title of "gentilhomme ordinaire de la Maison du Roi".

In 1596, Dugua married Judith Chesnel, a Catholic. She would give him a dowry of 25,000 pounds. "It would be (...) for the Sieur de Mons, a great contribution to the project that he cherished and for which he was already trying to raise the necessary funds." ( Naissance de la Nouvelle-France; Pierre Dugua de Mons, Texte : Marie-Claude Bouchet, Société du Musée de Royan, p. 7, juin 2000 )

This great project was to be named Lieutenant General for the "New World". Henri IV granted him this title on 8 November 1603 and gave him the monopoly on the land located between the 40th and 46th parallels. Having sold his belongings to finance his enterprise, he agreed to "conquer" this land in the name of King Henri IV and to establish permanent French settlements.

Dugua left for l'Acadie with his crew in 1603 to establish a permanent French settlement. He would return to France in October 1605 to tell of his achievements to the King. Upon his return, De Mons faced quite a number of difficulties, one of which being that his opponents tried to discredit him before his protector and King. After years of fighting for his interest, he finally lost his trade monopoly.

Dugua was never to set foot in America again. He died on 22nd February 1628 in his house in Ardenne.

Lieu historique international de l'Île-Sainte-Croix

Pierre Dugua, sieur de Mons

Buste de Pierre Dugua, sieur de Mons, qui se trouve au Fort-Anne à Annapolis Royal, Nouvelle-Écosse
Buste de Pierre Dugua, sieur de Mons qui se trouve au Fort-Anne à Annapolis Royal, Nouvelle-Écosse. Le buste a été créé par l'artiste Hamilton MacCarthy au début des années 1900.
© Parcs Canada / Theresa Bundbury

Pierre Dugua, sieur de Mons, est né dans la région de Royan à l'époque des guerres de religions. Huguenot pour sa part, il participa aux luttes de religions. En 1594, devenu roi de France, Henri IV récompense les gens qui l'ont soutenu. Dugua se voit octroyer une pension et le titre de gentilhomme ordinaire de la Maison du Roi.

En 1596, Dugua épouse Judith Chesnel, une catholique. Celle-ci lui verse une dot de 25 000 livres. « C'était pour le sieur de Mons, un apport non négligeable pour la mise en œuvre du grand projet qu'il mûrissait et pour lequel il s'effor&ccedilait déjà de réunir les sommes nécessaires. » (Naissance de la Nouvelle-France; Pierre Dugua de Mons, Texte : Marie-Claude Bouchet, Société du Musée de Royan, p. 7, juin 2000)

Le grand projet, c'était d'être nommé Lieutenant-général « aux terres neuves d'Amériques ». Ce titre lui fut accordé le 8 novembre 1603 et lui donna le monopole des terres entre le 40e et le 46e degré de latitude nord. Ayant vendu ses biens pour financer ses entreprises, il s'engagea à « conquérir » ces terres au nom du roi Henri IV et d'y créer des établissements français permanents.

Dugua appareilla pour l'Acadie avec ses équipages en 1603 pour y fonder le premier établissement français permanent. Il retourna en France en octobre 1605 pour faire part de ses réussites au roi. À son retour en France, de Mons dut faire face à de nombreuses difficultés, entre autres, des opposants à son monopole des terres d'Amérique tentaient de le discréditer aux yeux de son protecteur et roi. Après de nombreuses années à défendre ses intérêts, il perdit finalement son monopole.

Dugua ne devait plus remettre les pieds en Amérique. Il décéda le 22 février 1628 dans sa maison d'Ardenne.