Carleton Martello Tower National Historic Site of Canada

The 20th Century

A New Age
At the turn of the century, Carleton Martello Tower was an outdated fortification. It was, however, ready to adopt a new role, that of local attraction. Richard Damery, caretaker of the Tower, was asked to display his collection of antiques and artifacts there. It proved to be popular with the public and existed until 1915.

Black & white photo of Carleton Martello Tower with Signalman's house. The harbour and some houses can be seen in the background.
Carleton Martello Tower, ca.1905
© Provincial Archives of New Brunswick (P11-Erb, Isaac: Photographs collection)

The Tower was also used during the First World War, but not as a defence base. Rather, it operated as a detention center for deserters from the 69th Canadian Infantry Battalion. It has been estimated that over 50 soldiers were confined there for several months until their unit could be sent overseas.

With the outbreak of the Second World War, the security of Saint John was a top concern. Although not a major naval base, the city did have a large dry dock, and was the end point for supplies traveling by rail. As a result, gun batteries were installed around the harbour. Despite the Tower's status as a national historic site, it was decided to use it as an observation and fire command post. This meant the addition of a two storey concrete superstructure on the Tower's top. The superstructure was occupied by soldiers from the 3rd New Brunswick Coast Brigade from 1941, until it ceased operations in 1944.

The Fire Command Post model.  Model soldiers and equipment can be seen inside.
A model of the Fire Command Post
© Parks Canada/1984

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Tour-Martello- de-Carleton

Le 20e siècle

Une nouvelle époque
À l'aube du nouveau siècle, la tour martello de Carleton était devenue un ouvrage de fortification désuet. Elle était cependant prête à assumer un nouveau rôle, celui d'attraction locale. Richard Damery, gardien de la tour, a été invité à y exposer sa collection d'antiquités et d'artefacts, qui a joui d'une grande popularité auprès du public jusqu'en 1915.

Une photo en noir et blanc de la Tour-Martello-de-Carleton et la maisonnette. Le port et des maisons sont à l'arrière-plan.
La Tour-Martello-de-Carleton environ 1905
© Provincial Archives of New Brunswick (P11-Erb, Isaac: Photographs collection)

La tour a repris du service pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, mais pas comme ouvrage de défense. Elle faisait plutôt office de centre de détention pour les déserteurs du 69e Bataillon d'infanterie canadien. Plus de 50 soldats y auraient été emprisonnés pendant plusieurs mois jusqu'à ce que leur unité soit affectée outre-mer.

Au déclenchement de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, la sécurité de Saint John est devenue une grande source de préoccupation. Même si elle n'abritait aucune base navale, la ville possédait une importante cale sèche et servait de terminus pour les marchandises transportées par la voie ferrée. Des batteries de tir ont donc été installées partout autour du port. Même si la tour était déjà un lieu historique national à l'époque, il a été décidé d'en faire un poste d'observation et de commandement de tir. On a donc construit au sommet de la tour une superstructure en béton de deux étages, qui est demeurée occupée par des soldats de la 3e Brigade côtière du Nouveau-Brunswick de 1941 à 1944, année où celle-ci a cessé ses activités.

La maquette de la poste de commandement de tir.  Les miniatures des soldats et leur équipement peuvent être vu dedans.
Une maquette du poste de commandement de tir
© Parcs Canada