Carleton Martello Tower National Historic Site of Canada

Martello Towers

A Solid Presence
Carleton Martello Tower is just one of over 200 defence towers that the British built worldwide. Between 1810 and 1847, eleven Martello towers were constructed in British North America. In an age of smoothbore artillery, these towers were seen as an effective and affordable way to protect coastal areas from enemy attack.

But what makes a tower a Martello tower? Martello towers, whether in Canada, England, or Mauritius, all had certain features in common. For instance, these structures were circular in shape with a flat roof on which artillery could be mounted. The towers were accessible through a doorway in the second storey, or barrack floor. The ground floor had storage space and a gunpowder magazine. The key feature was a round, brick pillar that supported both the roof and the arched brick ceiling which, along with the thick walls, was designed to absorb artillery fire. Based on these elements, it is easy to see why Martello towers gained a reputation for strength.

Drawing showing the characteristic parts of Carleton Martello Tower
Interior view of Carleton Martello Tower
© Parks Canada

It is believed that Martello towers were named after a place in Corsica called Cape Mortella (the "o" and the "a" would eventually be transposed). It was there, in 1794, that the Royal Navy attacked a circular stone tower being held by the French. Overtaking the tower was no easy task, and the strength of that stone tower made a lasting impression on the British. When Napoleon was threatening to invade Great Britain some ten years later, Britain's faith in the Martello tower design was shown with the addition of over 100 of them on England's southeast coast.

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Tour-Martello-de-Carleton

Les tours Martello

Une présence solide
La tour martello de Carleton n'est qu'une des quelque 200 tours de défense construites par les Britanniques dans le monde entier. De 1810 à 1847, onze d'entre elles ont été érigées en Amérique du Nord britannique. À l'époque des armes à âme lisse, ces tours étaient considérées comme un moyen efficace et abordable de protéger les zones côtières contre les offensives ennemies.

Quelles sont donc les caractéristiques distinctives des tours martello? Que ce soit au Canada, en Angleterre ou à l'île Maurice, ces tours possédaient toutes des caractéristiques communes. Par exemple, elles avaient une forme circulaire et étaient surmontées d'un toit plat conçu pour servir de plate-forme d'artillerie. Les tours étaient accessibles par une porte ménagée à l'étage, où se trouvait la caserne. Le rez-de-chaussée renfermait des entrepôts et une poudrière. Un pilier circulaire en brique soutenait le toit et le plafond voûté en brique, qui, tout comme les murs épais, devait absorber les tirs d'artillerie. Compte tenu de ces éléments, il est facile de voir pourquoi les tours martello étaient reconnues pour leur solidité.

Dessin montrant les parties distinctives de la Tour-Martello-de-Carleton
L'intérieur de la Tour-Martello-de-Carleton.
© Parcs Canada

Les tours martello doivent leur nom, semble-t-il, à un endroit en Corse appelé cap Mortella (le " o " et le " a " auraient été intervertis au fil des ans). C'est là qu'en 1794, la Royal Navy attaqua une tour de pierre de forme circulaire que défedaient les Français. Cette tour se révéla fort difficile à capturer, et sa robustesse imprima un souvenir durable chez les Britanniques. Lorsque, une dizaine d'années plus tard, les Anglais durent faire face à la menace napoléonienne, ils montrèrent toute la confiance qu'ils vouaient à ce type d'architecture en faisant construire une centaine de tours martello sur la côte Sud-Est de l'Angleterre.