Common menu bar links

Carleton Martello Tower National Historic Site of Canada

Guided Tours

There are guided tours available of the Tower (Interpreter availability permitting). There are four levels to explore, depicting three distinct eras of the Tower's history.

An interpreter shows 2 visitors the parts of a rifled musket. A Guided Tour
© Parks Canada/Brian Townsend, 2002

On the bottom floor, visitors will discover loopholes and a gunpowder magazine, restored to its appearance circa 1845. The second floor represents the barracks room as it would have looked in 1866. The upper 2 floors, or superstructure reveal the Tower's role as an observation and fire command post during World War II.





Programs

Enemies of the King beware... Saint John Privateers are here!

Children and interpreter pose with the flags they’ve made at the 'Saint John Privateers' program Look what we made at Saint John Privateers
© Parks Canada/C Reardon, 2008

During the War of 1812, lawful pirates known as privateers scoured the Bay of Fundy for enemy ships. Join us for "Saint John Privateers" and see if your family has what it takes to be part of the crew!

Discover how to tell a privateer apart from a pirate; Learn the ins and outs of naval artillery; Craft your own ship's flag, then set out on a privateer hunt and flaunt your skills!

This one hour program happens every Sunday in July and August (available in French at 1 pm and in English at 2:30 pm). Regular admission applies. Spaces are limited so please contact us at 506-636-4011 to sign up or to learn more. This activity is appropriate for families with children ages six to eleven.

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Tour-Martello- de-Carleton

Visites guidées

Des visites guidées sont offertes aux visiteurs (lorsque les interprètes sont disponibles). L'ouvrage de fortification comporte quatre niveaux, qui évoquent trois différents chapitres de l'histoire de la tour.

Une interprète présente les pièces d'un fusil rayé à 2 visiteurs. Une visite guidée
© Parcs Canada/Brian Townsend, 2002

Au rez-de-chaussée, les visiteurs peuvent découvrir les meurtrières et la poudrière, qui a retrouvé l'apparence qu'elle avait vers 1845. Le premier étage abrite les casernes telles qu'elles se seraient présentées en 1866. Les deux étages supérieurs, qui forment la superstructure, révèlent le rôle de la tour en tant que poste d'observation et de commandement de tir pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale.




Activités d'interprétation

Que les ennemis du roi prennent garde ... Les corsaires de Saint John sont là!

Des enfants et un interprète présentent les drapeaux qu`ils ont fait au programme « Les Corsaires de Saint John ». Regardez ce que nous avons fait aux Corsaires de Saint John!
Parcs Canada/C Reardon, 2008

Pendant la Guerre de 1812, des pirates légaux sillonnaient les eaux de la baie de Fundy à l'affût de navires ennemis du roi. Voyez si votre famille a la trempe de ces braves marins en participant aux « Corsaires de Saint John »!

Découvrez la différence entre un corsaire et un pirate; apprenez comment fonctionne une pièce d'artillerie navale; créez votre propre drapeau puis exhibez votre savoir-faire en faisant une course au trésor!

Soyez des nôtres les dimanches en juillet et en août (offerte en français à 13h; en anglais à 14h30). Le programme dure une heure et le nombre de places est limité. Pour réserver ou pour de plus amples renseignements, contactez-nous au 506-636-4011. Cet activité est conçue pour les familles avec des enfants âgés de six à onze ans.