Common menu bar links

Boishébert and Beaubears Island Shipbuilding National Historic Sites of Canada, J. Leonard O'Brien Memorial

Boishébert and Beaubears Island Shipbuilding National Historic Sites of Canada, J. Leonard O'Brien Memorial

Natural Wonders & Cultural Treasures

Boishébert National Historic Site of Canada

Portrait of Charles Deschamps de Boishébert et de Raffetot, Marquis de Boishébert (1727-1797), c. 1753.  Head and shoulder frontal portrait of the Marquis with arms akimbo, wearing metal armour with the Order of Saint-Louis attached with rose ribbon on chest; fur backdrop.  The painting is part of the permanent collection of the McCord Museum, McGill University, in Montréal, Québec.
Portrait of Charles Deschamps de Boishébert et de Raffetot, Marquis de Boishébert (1727-1797), c. 1753. The painting is part of the permanent collection of the McCord Museum, McGill University, in Montréal, Québec.
© McCord Museum, McGill University, Montréal

For thousands of years, the Miramichi area has been home to the Aboriginal people who utilized the rich resources of the river and adjacent woodlands. It is believed that Quoomeneegook (Pine Island) and its surrounding areas were used by the Mi'kmaq for camping and for ceremonial purposes. Later, the rich resources of the area led European entrepreneurs to the region.

In 1636, the trader Nicolas Denys was granted a large seigneury by the King of France that included the confluence of the Southwest and Northwest Miramichi. By the mid-18th century, a number of Acadian settlements developed around Miramichi Harbour and along the Miramichi River. These settlements fluctuated in size as some Acadians moved northward to Quebec and Restigouche and as others came north from the Bay of Fundy area. After the 1755 deportation of the Acadians, a French-Canadian officer active in the region, Charles Deschamps de Boishébert, brought several large groups of Acadians to the Miramichi area. The first substantial group probably arrived in the summer of 1756.

The Miramichi settlements appear to have been used by the French during 1757 and 1758 as a gathering point for expeditions both against the English in Nova Scotia and in support of the French at Louisbourg and as a transhipment point for supplies for Louisbourg. The earliest surviving description of the area suggests that the bulk of the settlement was on what is now known as Wilsons Point.

In 1785, the surveyor Benjamin Marston stated "there was formerly on this very Point a considerable French Village the ruins of which are yet remaining." Similarly Robert Cooney's early history of northeastern New Brunswick located the settlement on the point. He described the settlement as "...a Town comprising upwards of two hundred houses, including a Chapel and Provision Stores, at Beaubair's [sic] Point..." and noted "...on Beaubair's [sic] point, the remains of cellar walls, wells, and chimneys are visible."

During the winters of 1756-57 and 1757-58, the inhabitants of the settlements at Miramichi suffered severely from famine and sickness. Precise mortality figures are not available but both contemporary and later references suggest well over a thousand people may have died in the three main settlements in these years. In September 1758, Colonel James Murray destroyed several Acadian settlements along the lower Miramichi River. Colonel Murray did not travel as far up river as Beaubears Island and it is likely that the settlement there, which had already been declining as the inhabitants moved northwards to Quebec, was destroyed by Captain John Byron of the HMS Fame in June 1760.

Lieux historiques nationaux du Canada de Boishébert et du Chantier-naval-de-l'île Beaubears, J. Leonard O'Brien Memorial

Lieux historiques nationaux du Canada de Boishébert et du Chantier-naval-de-l'île Beaubears, J. Leonard O'Brien Memorial

Merveilles naturelles et trésors culturels

Lieu historique national du Canada de Boishébert

Portrait de Charles Deschamps de Boishébert et de Raffetot, Marquis de Boishébert (1727-1797), c. 1753.  Peinture du marquis, tête et torse, portant une armure de métal.  Il porte l'Ordre de Saint-Louis attaché avec un ruban rose sur la poitrine. La peinture fait partie de la collection permanente du Musée McCord, McGill University à Montréal, Québec.
Portrait de Charles Deschamps de Boishébert et de Raffetot, Marquis de Boishébert (1727-1797), c. 1753. La peinture fait partie de la collection permanente du Musée McCord, McGill University à Montréal, Québec.
© McCord Museum, McGill University, Montréal

Depuis des millénaires, la région de la Miramichi est occupée par des Autochtones qui vécurent des richesses de la rivière et des forêts adjacentes. Les archéologues croient que les Mi'kmaqs se servaient de Quoomeneegook, l'île des Pins et des environs comme campement et comme lieu de cérémonie. Plus tard, les riches ressources de la région attirèrent les entrepreneurs européens dans la région.

En 1636, le commerçant Nicolas Denys se vit conférer une vaste seigneurie qui englobait le confluent de la Miramichi Sud-Ouest et de la Miramichi Nord-Ouest. Au milieu du 18e siècle, plusieurs hameaux acadiens avaient vu le jour autour du port de Miramichi et le long de la rivière. La population de ces petits établissements ne cessait de fluctuer, certains Acadiens choisissant d'aller vivre plus au nord, au Québec et dans la région de la Ristigouche, et d'autres arrivants de la région de la baie de Fundy. Après la Déportation des Acadiens en 1755, un officier canadien français affecté à cette région, Charles Deschamps de Boishébert, amena plusieurs grands groupes d'Acadiens dans la région de la Miramichi. Le premier de ces groupes serait arrivé dans la région pendant l'été de 1756.

En 1757 et en 1758, il semble que les Français se soient servis des hameaux de la Miramichi comme points de rassemblement pour des campagnes contre les Anglais de la Nouvelle-Écosse et pour des expéditions à l'appui des Français à Louisbourg. Ils l'utilisaient également comme station de transbordement des marchandises destinées à Louisbourg. La description la plus ancienne de ce secteur donne à entendre que le hameau se trouvait en grande partie sur ce qui est aujourd'hui la pointe Wilson.

En 1785, l'arpenteur Benjamin Marston indiquait en effet qu'il existait jadis sur cette pointe un village français de taille considérable dont les ruines étaient alors encore visibles. De même, dans ses écrits sur les débuts du Nord-Est du Nouveau-Brunswick, l'historien Robert Cooney associe lui aussi le hameau à cette pointe. À ses dires, la pointe Beaubair's [sic] comprenait autrefois plus de deux cents bâtiments, y compris une chapelle et des magasins de provisions, et on pouvait encore y voir les ruines de caves, de puits et de cheminées.

Pendant les hivers de 1756-1757 et de 1757-1758, les habitants des hameaux de la Miramichi furent terrassés par la famine et la maladie. Personne ne sait précisément combien en moururent, mais les ouvrages de référence de l'époque et ceux des années subséquentes laissent entendre que le nombre de victimes aurait atteint bien au-delà de 1 000 personnes dans les trois principaux hameaux. En septembre 1758, le colonel James Murray détruisit plusieurs hameaux acadiens à l'embouchure de la rivière Miramichi. Il ne voyagea pas jusqu'à l'île et il se peut que le hameau de l'île Beaubears, qui était déjà en déclin par suite de l'exode des familles vers le Québec, fut détruit par l'Anglais John Byron, capitaine du Fame en juin 1760.