Common menu bar links

Fort Beauséjour – Fort Cumberland National Historic Site of Canada

Frequently Asked Questions

  1. Why is the fort shaped like a star?

    The 17th century French military engineer, Sébastien le Prestre de Vauban, designed star-shaped fortifications, which included angled earthen walls, bastions and cannon platforms. Because of its high flat walls, a castle was an easy target for cannon balls. A star-shaped fort, on the other hand, with its many angles and corners was harder to hit.

    The cannons were placed on top of each bastion and could fire in every direction (cross-fire) thus protecting the fort from all sides. This eliminated any blind spots.

  2. What is a casemate?

    A casemate is an underground area used to store provisions. It was also used for shelter during bombardments and as temporary quarters in times of emergency.

  3. Why is it so windy at Fort Beauséjour-Fort Cumberland NHSC?

    Indeed it is often very windy at this site because the fort is built on a high ridge of land, overlooking the Tantramar Marsh. It is also located between two bodies of water, the Cumberland Basin and the Northumberland Strait.

  4. Are the foundations we see inside the fort the actual ruins?

    Yes, the stone ruins from both the French and the British periods have been stabilized and partially restored. The wood in the underground casemates is not original.

  5. Where was Fort Lawrence?

    Fort Lawrence was built in 1750 by the British on the east (Nova Scotian) side of the Missaguash River, on the former site of the French Acadian village of Beaubassin. Fort Beauséjour was built by the French on the ridge on the west (New Brunswick) side of the Missaguash in 1751.

  6. Where did the Deportations begin?

    The deportations began at Fort Cumberland in August 1755.When Fort Beauséjour fell to the British in June 1755, they renamed it Fort Cumberland. and it  was used as the initial headquarters to round up and imprison many of the French Acadians of the area.

Lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Beauséjour – Fort-Cumberland

Foire Aux Questions

  1. Pourquoi le fort est-il en forme d'étoile?

    Au XVIIe siècle, l'ingénieur militaire français, Sébastien le Prestre de Vauban, conçut les fortifications en forme d'étoile avec des murs de terre disposés en angles, des bastions et des plateformes à canons. À cause de leurs murs élevés et droits, les châteaux font d'excellentes cibles pour les boulets de canon. Par contre, un fort en forme d'étoile avec ses nombreux angles et coins est plus difficile à atteindre.
    Les canons étaient placés au sommet de chaque bastion et pouvaient faire feu dans n'importe quelle direction (feux croisés), protégeant ainsi le fort de tout côté et éliminant les angles morts.

  2. Qu'est-ce qu'une casemate?

    Une casemate est une structure souterraine servant à entreposer des provisions. Les casemates servaient également d'abris lors des bombardements et de quartiers temporaires en cas d'urgence.

  3. Pourquoi vente-t-il tellement au lieu historique national du Fort-Beauséjour – Fort-Cumberland?

    Effectivement, il s'agit d'un endroit très venteux, et c'est parce que le fort est construit sur une crête dominant le marais Tantramar. De plus, le fort est situé entre deux plans d'eau, le bassin de Cumberland et le détroit de Northumberland.

  4. S'agit-il des ruines du fort original?

    Oui, les anciens ouvrages en pierre de l'époque du régime français et de l'époque du régime britannique ont été stabilisés et partiellement restaurés. Cependant, le bois des casemates souterraines n'est pas original.

  5. Où se trouvait le fort Lawrence?

    Le fort Lawrence fut construit en 1750 par les Britanniques sur la rive est de la rivière Missaguash (en Nouvelle-Écosse), à l'endroit où se trouvait l'ancien village francophone acadien de Beaubassin. Le fort Beauséjour fut érigé par les Français sur une crête de la rive ouest de la Missaguash (au Nouveau-Brunswick) en 1751.

  6. Où la déportation a-t-elle commencé?

    La déportation commença au fort Cumberland en août 1755. Lorsque le fort Beauséjour tomba aux mains des Britanniques en juin 1755, il fut rebaptisé fort Cumberland et servit, au départ, de quartier général pour le rassemblement et l'emprisonnement de nombreux Acadiens de la région.