Fort Beauséjour – Fort Cumberland National Historic Site of Canada

Cultural Heritage

History

The commemorative intent of Fort Beauséjour National Historic Site of Canada is to commemorate the role of the Fort in the struggle between France and Britain, and subsequently between Britain and the American colonies, for North America, 1751-1783.

At Fort Beauséjour National Historic Site, you will step back in time to an era when England and France were caught up in a tug-of-war for supremacy in Acadia. You will also learn about the origins and history of the area's inhabitants.

The Isthmus of Chignecto, the land bridge between New Brunswick and Nova Scotia, has been a focus of overland travel routes for centuries for the area's Aboriginal peoples and the Europeans who followed.

In the middle years of the 18th century, a small river called the Missaquash traversed the area and served as a frontier between the imperial forces of England and France.

Overview of the fort's ramparts and soldiers' barracks in the foreground. In the background a panoramic view of the Bay of Fundy and the Tantramar marshlands.
Overview of the fort's ramparts and soldiers' barracks.
© Parks Canada

Fort Beauséjour was built by the French in 1751 to defend their interests in the region and to counterbalance the construction of the British Fort Lawrence built a year previously in the area. After four years of an uneasy stalemate, the Fort fell to British and colonial forces after a two-week siege in June 1755. It played a role in the Deportation of the Acadians in the late 1750s and early 1760s.

The fort was renamed Fort Cumberland after it was captured by the British in 1755. A generation later, in 1776 during the early stages of the American Revolution, dozens of disgruntled English-speaking inhabitants of the Chignecto region and beyond, along with smaller numbers of Acadians, Maliseet, Passamaquoddy and Mi'kmaq, joined a group of American patriots to attack Fort Cumberland. The British soldiers successfully defended the fort, dispersing the rebels and capturing many of them. Reinforced for the War of 1812, it was abandoned in 1835 and declared a national historic site in 1926.

For a more comprehensive history of Fort Beauséjour-Fort Cumberland National Historic Site of Canada please click on the above image.

This publication/booklet offers an overview of the colourful past that occurred within and near Fort Beauséjour-Fort Cumberland National Historic Site of Canada, both when it was known as the French fort at Beauséjour and when it defended British interests and was called Fort Cumberland. The basic elements of the story communicated are:

  • Acadians first settled in the region in the 1670s;
  • the French erected a fort atop Beauséjour ridge in 1750-51, to protect strategic interests in the Chignecto Isthmus;
  • British and New England troops captured the fort from the French after a siege in June 1755;
  • The Nova Scotia council used the limited Acadian participation in the defence of Fort-Beauséjour as one of the reasons to begin a Deportation of Acadians in the Chignecto region in 1755;
  • and under the name of Fort Cumberland, this same fort witnessed a British garrison rout a rebel force from the United States under Jonathan Eddy on November 1776.

To access the content of this booklet please click on the image of the booklet above Fort Beauséjour-Fort Cumberland Une Histoire / A history

NOTE-This publication is available in the museum boutique at Fort Beauséjour -Fort Cumberland National Historic Site For information, E-mail Fort beauséjour-Fort CumberlandNHSC: (fort.beausejour@pc.gc.ca)

Lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Beauséjour – Fort-Cumberland

Patrimoine culturel

Histoire

La visée commémorative de ce lieu historique national du Canada est de commémorer le rôle du fort Beauséjour dans les luttes entre la France et l'Angleterre, puis entre l'Angleterre et ses colonies américaines, pour l'hégémonie en Amérique du Nord entre 1751 et 1783.

Au lieu historique national du Fort-Beauséjour, vous remonterez à une époque où l'Angleterre et la France se disputaient le contrôle de l'Acadie. Vous apprendrez à connaître les origines et le sort des habitants de cette région.

L'isthme de Chignecto, la chaussée naturelle qui sépare le Nouveau-Brunswick de la Nouvelle-Écosse, a été pendant des siècles la voie de communication privilégiée par les peuples autochtones de la région et par les Européens qui les ont suivis.

Vers le milieu du XVIIIe siècle, une petite rivière, la Missaguash, déroulait ses méandres dans la région et servait de frontière entre les forces impérialistes de la France et celles de l'Angleterre.

Vue, à l'avant plan, d'une caserne de soldats et de remparts herbeux. À l'arrière plan, vue panoramique sur la baie de Fundy et les marais du Tantramar.
Vue des remparts du fort et d'une caserne des soldats.
© Parcs Canada

Le fort Beauséjour a été construit par les Français en 1751 afin de défendre leurs intérêts dans la région et pour servir de contrepoids à l'érection par les Britanniques l'année précédente du fort Lawrence.

Après quatre années de luttes sans issue, le fort tomba aux mains des Britanniques et des forces coloniales au terme d'un siège de deux semaines : on était en juin de 1755. Le fort joua un rôle dans la Déportation des Acadiens qui débuta vers la fin de 1750 et se poursuivit jusqu'au début des années 1760.

Après avoir pris le fort en 1755, les Britanniques le rebaptisèrent fort Cumberland. Une génération plus tard, en 1776, au début de la Révolution américaine, des dizaines d'anglophones mécontents qui habitaient la région de Chignecto et aux alentours, quelques Acadiens, des Maliseet, des Passamaquoddy et des Mi'kmaq se joignirent à un groupe de patriotes américains pour attaquer le fort Cumberland. Les soldats britanniques défendirent le fort avec succès, dispersèrent les rebelles et en capturèrent plusieurs. Refortifié pour la Guerre de 1812, il fut abandonné en 1835 et c'est en 1926 qu'on le déclara lieu historique national.

Pour une histoire plus complète du lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Beauséjour-Fort-Cumberland, veuillez cliquer sur l'image ci dessus.

Ce livret présente un aperçu du passé mouvant de cette fortification, aussi bien à l'époque où elle était connue par les Français sous le nom du fort à Beauséjour qu'à celle où, devenue le fort Cumberland, elle défendait les intérêts des britanniques. Voici les éléments fondamentaux du récit:

  • Les acadiens colonisent la région dans les années 1670;
  • Les Français érigent un fort au sommet de la crête Beauséjour en 1750-1751 pour protéger leurs intérêts stratégiques dans l'isthme de Chignecto;
  • Des troupes de la Grande-Bretagne et des colonies de la Nouvelle-Angleterre  investissent le fort des Français et en prennent possession en juin 1755;
  • Le conseil de la Nouvelle-Écosse se sert de la participation limitée des Acadiens à la défense du fort Beauséjour comme motif pour amorcer la déportation des Acadiens de la région de Chignectou en 1755;
  • En novembre 1776, le même fort rebaptisé Cumberland, est le théâtre d'une offensive lancée par des sympathisants de la Révolution américaine menées par Jonathan Eddy. La garnison britannique inflige une défaite à ses assaillants

Pour accéder au contenu du livret veuillez cliquer sur l'image du livret. plus haut

Note : Ce livret se vend à la boutique du lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Beauséjour- Fort-Cumberland. Pour plus d'information : (fort.beausejour@pc.gc.ca)