Common menu bar links

York Factory National Historic Site of Canada

Human History

wide angled cannon
Recovered cannon artifacts in depot building
© Parks Canada / Dwight Allan, circa 1999

Between 1684 and its closing 273 years later in 1957, York Factory served as a trading post, distribution point and administrative centre for a vast network of fur posts throughout the West. From 1812 to the late 1850s, it was also the main entry point for European immigration to Western Canada.

York Factory was one of a series of fur-trading posts established in the late 17th century on Hudson Bay by the Company of Adventurers of England Trading into the Hudson's Bay today known as the Hudson's Bay Company.

As early as 1670 an attempt was made by the Company to establish a post at the mouth of the Nelson River, but fierce winds hindered landing and the crew sailed back to England. By 1682, however, three groups of traders from New England, England and France had established a series of fur-trading forts in the area of the Hayes and Nelson rivers to compete for control of the territory and fur trade of western Hudson Bay In 1684, the Hudson's Bay Company built York Fort on the north shore of the Hayes River, eight kilometres upstream from the Bay.

cannon muzzle
Cannon muzzle
© Parks Canada / York Factory Collection / Dwight Allan, circa 1999

Between 1694 and 1697, the French and English battled for control of the original York Factory. Under the command of Pierre Le Moyne d'Iberville, the French captured York Factory in 1694, lost it to the English in 1696, recaptured it the following year, and renamed it Fort Bourbon. It remained under French control until the signing of the Treaty of Utrecht in 1713 which awarded Hudson's Bay Company exclusive trading rights on Hudson Bay. York Factory quickly became the Company's single most important trading post on the Bay, although its monopoly was successfully challenged by traders from New France who had established a series of posts far to the south in the Lake Superior and Lake Winnipeg regions.

cannon balls
12 and 24 pound cannonballs
© Parks Canada / York Factory Collection / Dwight Allan, circa 1999

Despite diminishing fur returns, the Hudson's Bay Company made no serious attempt to construct any inland posts or to challenge its competitors from New France. With the fall of Quebec in 1760, new merchants- largely Scottish and Métis traders who later formed the NorthWest Company- assumed control of the Montréal-based fur trade and succeeded in capturing much of the trade of the Aboriginal peoples who had traditionally made the long journey to York Factory to exchange pelts for European guns, kettles, knives and blankets.

York Factory (1770's)by Samuel Hearne. Engraving coloured, March 1, 1797.
York Factory, 1770's by Samuel Hearne. Engraving coloured, March 1, 1797.
© Hudson's Bay Co. Archives, Provincial Archives of Manitoba / Engraver: Wise / HBCA P-228 (N8317)

In order to meet its competitors head-on, the Hudson Bay's Company abandoned its sleep by the frozen sea, and in 1774, with the building of Cumberland House in northeastern Saskatchewan, the Company began the construction of a series of inland posts.

York Factory played an important role from the 1680s until approximately 1850, first as a major trading post and then as the main Hudson's Bay Company entrepôt providing the vital link between the vast fur resources of the interior of the continent and the markets of Europe.

Historic dock, engraving by Schell & Hogan
Historic dock, engraving by Schell & Hogan from Picteresque Canada, vol.1, pg. 317 ( Toronto, 1882)
© Parks Canada
tower building plans
Lookout tower building plans
© Parks Canada / York Factory Collection / Dwight Allan, circa 1999

In 1810, York Factory became the headquarters for the Hudson's Bay Company's newly established Northern Department. Aside from administrative and financial functions, York Factory also served as the entry point for most Europeans bound for Rupert's Land. York Factory, particularly as headquarters for the Northern Department after 1810, represents the HBC's role as an imperial factor in British North America.






man looking out of tower
Man looking out of tower
© Parks Canada / York Factory Collection / Dwight Allan, circa 1999

Over the next century, York Factory changed from a fur-trade post to a warehousing and transshipment depot with considerable administrative responsibilities. As headquarters of the Company's vast Northern Department, York Factory at its peak in the mid-19th century boasted over fifty buildings and a large complement of officers, clerks, tradesmen and labourers, as well as a seasonal workforce of Native traders and hunters. With the establishment of new southern supply lines to Rupert's Land after 1860, however, York Factory's role by the end of the century had diminished to that of a regional trading post.

Aerial photo circa 1926
Aerial photo circa 1926
© Provincial Archives of Manitoba, 1926

rafters of York Factory
Rafters of York Factory
© Parks Canada / Parks Canada York Factory Collection / Dwight Allan, circa 1999

The design of York Factory as a whole was typical of the approach of the Hudson's Bay Company regarding what was appropriate for its posts. Its design was both simple and utilitarian. The buildings of the fort were originally laid out in an "H" shape with the depot building or "Great House" (known in the Cree language as "Kichewaskahikun"), the guest-house, and a summer mess house forming the centre bar. The wings of the "H" were composed of fur stores, provision shops, trading rooms, officers' and servants' quarters. The formality of this scheme was reinforced by the main gate in the encircling wooden palisade being directly in line with the entrance to the depot. Outside of the formality of this public area of the fort the inter-relationship of the other structures further from the river, such as the manufacturing shops and dwellings, was not based on as rigid a plan. Subsidiary buildings were arranged around a network of boardwalks much like the streets of a small village. The boardwalk system in place today replicates the historical circulation patterns and, in combination with the vestigial remains of an extensive system of drainage ditches, provides evocative echoes of the historic landscape and the HBC's response to the environment.

stained glass windows
Stained glass windows
© Parks Canada / York Factory Collection / Dwight Allan, circa 1999

By the 1860s, York Factory comprised over fifty buildings, reflecting the specialized activities of a busy trade centre. Other structures within the palisades included: a doctor's house, Anglican church, clergyman's residence, school, hospital, photographic room, library, cooperage, blacksmith shop, bakehouse, middlemen's dwelling, and net house. North of the fort is a powder magazine, once surrounded by a palisade, and a graveyard.





stove
Stove
© Parks Canada / York Factory Collection / Dwight Allan, circa 1999

Throughout the history of York Factory, the involvement of Aboriginal peoples has been integral to the operation of York Factory and the fur trade. Initially, the Hudson's Bay Company's trade at York Factory was conducted through Cree and Assiniboine middlemen who acquired furs from tribes living in the interior plains and woodlands. The history of the fur trade was one of cultural and socio-economic interaction between Natives and their trading partners (primarily the Hudson's Bay Company). From their initial position as middlemen and traders of commodities, the role of the Home Guard Cree after 1820 gave way to a market function based principally upon the sale of their labour. The immediate area around the Factory was inhabited by the Cree who trapped, hunted and fished for the Company. A native community was situated one kilometre downstream of the fort. There are also communities scattered throughout the immediate vicinity of York Factory, for example, Ten Shilling Creek, Crooked Bank, Kaska and Port Nelson just to name a few.

The site of the York Factory complex must be considered as a single coherent unit. Its extreme isolation and its original status as the only development for many miles emphasize the value of the historical inter-relationship between individual elements on the site. Only two buildings, two visible ruins, a cemetery, vestigial remnants of planned landscapes and extensive archaeological remains exist today of what was once a large complex.

stained glass window and font
Stained glass window and font
© Parks Canada / York Factory Collection / Dwight Allan, circa 1999
side glass window
Side glass window
© Parks Canada / York Factory Collection / Dwight Allan, circa 1999

Lieu historique national du Canada York Factory

Histoire

canon
Canon
© Parcs Canada / Dwight Allan, vers 1999

Entre 1684 et sa fermeture 273 ans plus tard, soit en 1957, York Factory a fait office de poste de traite, de point de distribution et de centre administratif d'un vaste réseau de postes de traite dispersés dans l'Ouest. De 1812 à la fin des années 1850, York Factory était aussi le principal point d'entrée des immigrants dans l'Ouest du Canada.

York Factory était l'un des maillons de la chaîne de postes de traite des fourrures établis à la fin du XVIIe siècle aux abords de la baie d'Hudson par la Company of Adventurers of England Trading into the Hudson's Bay (aujourd'hui « Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson »). En fait, la Compagnie avait essayé dès 1670 d'établir un poste à l'embouchure du fleuve Nelson, mais des vents violents avaient empêché le navire d'accoster et l'équipage avait fait demi-tour pour retourner en Angleterre. En 1682, cependant, trois groupes de marchands de Nouvelle-Angleterre, d'Angleterre et de France avaient établi une série de forts dans la région de la rivière Hayes et du fleuve Nelson et se livraient une concurrence serrée pour avoir le monopole sur le territoire et la traite des fourrures à l'ouest de la baie d'Hudson. Ainsi, en 1684, la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson (CBH) construisit le fort York sur la rive nord de la rivière Hayes, huit kilomètres en amont de la baie.

canon
Canon
© Parcs Canada / York Factory / Dwight Allan, vers 1999

Entre 1694 et 1697, les Français et les Anglais se sont battus pour avoir le monopole sur le fort d'origine de York Factory. Sous les ordres de Pierre Le Moyne d'Iberville, les Français s'emparèrent de York Factory en 1694, le perdirent aux Anglais en 1696, le reprirent l'année suivante, et le rebaptisèrent alors fort Bourbon. Le fort demeura sous contrôle français jusqu'à la signature du traité d'Utrecht en 1713, qui cédait à la CBH les droits exclusifs sur la baie d'Hudson. York Factory devint alors très vite le plus important poste de traite de la Compagnie dans la baie, bien que son monopole fut mis à rude épreuve par des marchands de Nouvelle-France qui avaient établis des postes loin au sud, dans les régions du lac Supérieur et du lac Winnipeg.



Boulets de canon
Boulets de canon
© Parcs Canada / York Factory / Dwight Allan, vers 1999

Malgré une diminution du volume de fourrures, la CBH ne fit aucune tentative sérieuse pour construire des postes à l'intérieur du pays ou pour défier ses concurrents de Nouvelle-France. À la chute de Québec, en 1760, de nouveaux marchands, principalement Écossais et Métis qui formeraient ultérieurement la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest, prirent le contrôle du commerce des fourrures à Montréal et réussirent à s'approprier une grande partie du commerce avec les Autochtones qui auparavant faisaient le voyage jusqu'à York pour échanger leurs pelleteries contre les produits d'Europe (fusils, casseroles, couteaux, couvertures, etc.).

York Factory, 1770's par Samuel Hearne
York Factory, 1770's par Samuel Hearne
© Hudson's Bay Co. Archives, Provincial Archives of Manitoba/ graveur: Wise 1797/ HBCA P-228 (N8317)

La CBH se trouvait maintenant contrainte d'affronter ses concurrents et pour ce faire elle devait abandonner sa position dormante au bord de la mer glacée. C'est ainsi qu'en 1774, avec la construction de Cumberland House dans le nord-est de la Saskatchewan, la Compagnie amorçait la construction d'une série de postes à l'intérieur des terres.

York Factory a joué un rôle important à partir des années 1680 jusqu'à environ 1850, d'abord en tant que poste de traite principal et, ensuite, en tant qu'entrepôt principal de la CBH; il assurait l'indispensable lien entre les vastes ressources en fourrures de l'intérieur du continent et les marchés d'Europe.

Embarcadère historique, gravure par Schell & Hogan
Embarcadère historique, gravure par Schell & Hogan de Picteresque Canada, vol.1, pg. 317 ( Toronto, 1882)
© Parcs Canada
Plans de la tour
Plans de la tour
© Parcs Canada / York Factory / Dwight Allan, vers 1999

En 1810, York Factory devint le siège du nouveau Département du Nord de la CBH. En plus des fonctions administratives et financières qui s'y exerçaient, York Factory a aussi servi de point d'entrée à la plupart des Européens qui se rendaient à la Terre de Rupert. York Factory, surtout en tant que siège du Département du Nord après 1810, évoque le rôle de la CBH en tant que facteur impérial en Amérique du Nord britannique.





Homme a la tour d'observation
Homme a la tour d'observation
© Parcs Canada / York Factory / Dwight Allan, vers 1999

Au cours du siècle suivant, York Factory perdit sa vocation de poste de traite des fourrures pour devenir un dépôt d'entreposage et de transbordement avec des responsabilités administratives considérables. En tant que siège du vaste Département du Nord de la CBH, York Factory comptait à son apogée, vers le milieu du XIXe siècle, plus de cinquante bâtiments et un grand contingent d'officiers, de commis, de marchands et de manoeuvres, de même qu'une main-d'oeuvre saisonnière constituée de marchands et de chasseurs autochtones. Cependant, l'établissement après 1860 de nouvelles lignes d'approvisionnement dans le sud, vers la Terre de Rupert, contribua au déclin de York Factory qui, à la fin du siècle, avait perdu de son importance au profit d'un poste de traite régional.

Photographie aérienne vers 1926
Photographie aérienne vers 1926
© Provincial Archives of Manitoba, 1926

Flotteurs des bois à York Factory
Flotteurs des bois à York Factory
© Parcs Canada / York Factory / Dwight Allan, vers 1999

La conception de York Factory dans son ensemble reflète la position de la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson (CBH) quant à ce qui était approprié pour ses postes. Sa conception était à la fois simple et utilitaire. À l'origine, les bâtiments du fort étaient disposés en H, la barre centrale étant formée du bâtiment d'entreposage ou Grande Maison (Kichewaskahikun en cri), de la maison des invités et du mess d'été. Les barres latérales du H abritaient des magasins de fourrures, des magasins de provisions, des salles de commerce et des quartiers pour les officiers et les serviteurs. L'aspect formel de cette disposition était renforcé par l'emplacement de l'entrée principale dans la palissade en bois, directement en face de celle de l'entrepôt. Outre l'aspect formel de ce secteur public du fort, la disposition des bâtiments plus éloignés du cours d'eau, tels que les ateliers de fabrication et les habitations, ne s'appuyait pas sur un plan si rigide. Les bâtiments auxiliaires étaient disposés le long d'un réseau de trottoirs qui ressemblaient aux rues d'un petit village. Le réseau de trottoirs que l'on peut voir aujourd'hui est la réplique historique des habitudes de circulation et, combiné au vaste réseau de rigoles de drainage, évoque bien le paysage historique et l'attitude de la CBH vis-à-vis de l'environnement.

verrière
verrière
© Parcs Canada / York Factory / Dwight Allan, vers 1999

Dans les années 1860, York Factory comprenait plus de cinquante bâtiments qui reflétaient les activités spécialisées d'un centre de traite animé. Parmi les autres bâtiments se trouvant à l'intérieur de la palissade, notons la maison du médecin, l'église anglicane, la résidence du pasteur, l'école, l'hôpital, la salle d'exposition de photos, la bibliothèque, la tonnellerie, la forge, la boulangerie, le logement des intermédiaires de commerce et l'entrepôt des filets. Au nord du fort, on trouve la poudrière, jadis entourée d'une palissade, et un cimetière.




cuisinière
Cuisinière
© Parcs Canada / York Factory / vers 1999 / Dwight Allan

Tout au long de l'histoire de York Factory, le rôle des Autochtones est indissociable de l'exploitation de York Factory et du commerce des fourrures. À l'origine, le commerce de la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson à York Factory dépendait des intermédiaires cris et assiniboines qui se procuraient les fourrures auprès de tribus vivant à l'intérieur des plaines et des forêts. L'histoire du commerce des fourrures a été l'une des interactions culturelles et socio-économiques entre les Autochtones et leurs partenaires commerciaux (principalement la CBH). De leur position initiale d'intermédiaires et de marchands de produits, le rôle des gardiens cris après 1820 a ouvert la voie à une fonction commerciale reposant principalement sur la vente de leur travail. La région entourant immédiatement York Factory était habitée par les Cris qui piégeaient, chassaient et pêchaient pour le compte de la Compagnie. Il y avait une communauté étaient autochtone à un kilomètre en aval du fort. De plus, des petites communautés étaient dispersées un peu partout dans les environs de York Factory; à titre d'exemple, signalons Ten Shilling Creek, Crooked Bank, Kaska et Port Nelson.

L'emplacement du complexe York Factory doit être considéré comme un tout cohérent. Seul aménagement dans un rayon de plusieurs milles, son isolement extrême et son statut original renforce la valeur des interrelations entre les éléments individuels du lieu. Il ne subsiste aujourd'hui que deux bâtiments, deux ruines visibles, un cimetière, des vestiges d'un paysage élaboré et de nombreux restes archéologiques de ce qui était jadis un centre florissant.

Verrière
Verrière
© Parcs Canada / York Factory / Dwight Allan, vers 1999
Fenêtre latérale
Fenêtre latérale
© Parcs Canada / York Factory / Dwight Allan, vers 1999