Prince of Wales Fort National Historic Site of Canada

History of Cape Merry

Shore line at Cape Merry
Shore line at Cape Merry
© Parks Canada/ PWFCollection/ L. Huculak

Cape Merry has a wealth of history and natural beauty. It was once called Knight's Round Point, as befits the land bounded by the Hudson Bay and the Churchill River. James Knight sailed into the mouth of the Churchill River to begin construction of a fur trading post for the Hudson's Bay Company in 1717. The cape was later renamed to honour Captain John Merry, who was the Deputy Governor of the Hudson's Bay Company from 1712-18. In 1686 John Abraham was the first Hudson's Bay Company employee to come to this area. He recommended that a trading post be established on the Churchill River. A wooden post was built on the western shore, 8 km upriver in 1689, but it burned to the ground the same year. Henry Kelsey was involved with the construction of that post and made two journeys of discovery inland: north beyond Churchill and south as far as the prairies. James Knight arrived in 1717 and supervised construction of Fort Churchill upon the remains of the first post.

Cape Merry battery
Cape Merry battery
© Parks Canada / PWFCollection

A cannon battery, which is a stone wall to protect the cannon from enemy fire, was constructed to guard the river and the river mouth, and to prevent enemy occupation at Cape Merry, by providing crossfire. You can still see the site of the first battery and the remains of a powder magazine, which still has the original limestone mortar.

The Hudson's Bay Company's Committee in London was not pleased with either the location or the construction. The battery was located directly across from the fort's eastern flank (wall). The cannon could be used by the enemy, to fire upon the fort. Built into the middle of the battery, the powder magazine was in a dangerous position, any stray sparks could ignite the black powder. The flag pole on the top of the magazine made an excellent target for an enemy ship. In 1747 Joseph Robson, a stone mason and surveyor for the Company, was instructed to relocate the battery to a second site. It still stands today, having been rebuilt in 1959-60 using stone blocks found at the site along with modern cement. A lone cannon stands as a reminder of its original intent. This cannon is one of the original 42 cannon from Prince of Wales Fort.

The men who built the cannon battery enjoyed working at Cape Merry. They crossed the river when the ice melted and worked there until autumn freeze up. Away from the watchful eye of the governor, they had leisure time to spend hunting and harvesting the bountiful 'country provisions'. The men adapted to the area taking advantage of the spring and autumn migration of snow and Canadian geese. Summer provided arctic char and whitefish, and in autumn they harvested numerous kinds of berries.

commemorative cairn at Cape Merry
Commemorative cairn at Cape Merry
© Parks Canada/ PWFCollection

Jens Munck came to Hudson Bay to try to find the elusive Northwest Passage. A cairn at Cape Merry commemorates Fort Churchill and Jens Munck and his crew, the first Europeans to leave evidence of their presence. Jens Munck's crew included a Lutheran minister who performed the first Lutheran service to be delivered in western Canada. In 1731, the Hudson's Bay Company built a stone fort at the mouth of the Churchill River to defend its entire territory. Governor Isham was instructed to build a cannon battery at Cape Merry in 1744 to complement the defence of Prince of Wales Fort.

Lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Prince-de- Galles

L'histoire au Cap Merry

Cap Merry
Cap Merry
© Parcs Canada/ Collection FPG/ L. Huculak

Le cap Merry est riche d'histoire et de beauté naturelle. On avait jadis baptisé le lieu Knight's Round Point, nom très seyant pour cette bande de terre coincée entre la baie d'Hudson et la rivière Churchill. James Knight arriva à l'embouchure de la rivière Churchill en 1717 pour entreprendre la construction d'un poste de traite pour le compte de la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson. Le cap a ensuite été rebaptisé en l'honneur du capitaine John Merry, gouverneur adjoint de la Compagnie de 1712 à 1718. Cependant, le premier employé de la Compagnie à venir dans ce secteur en 1686 fut John Abraham. Il recommanda qu'un poste soit établi sur la rivière Churchill. C'est ainsi que l'on construisit, en 1689, un poste en bois sur la berge ouest, à huit kilomètres en amont, mais il brûla complètement la même année. Henry Kelsey avait participé à la construction de ce poste et fit deux voyages d'exploration à l'intérieur des terres : vers le nord, au-delà de Churchill, et vers le sud, jusqu'aux Prairies. James Knight arriva en 1717 et supervisa la construction du fort Churchill sur les vestiges du premier poste.

batterie du Cap Merry
Batterie du Cap Merry
© Parcs Canada/ Collection FPG
La batterie, en fait un mur destiné à protéger l'artillerie du feu ennemi, fut construite pour défendre la rivière et son embouchure. Elle permettait le feu croisé et empêchait l'occupation ennemie du cap Merry. On peut encore voir l'emplacement de la première batterie et les vestiges d'une poudrière dont les murs ont conservé leur mortier de pierre à chaux d'origine.

Le comité de la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson à Londres n'était content ni de l'emplacement, ni de la construction. La batterie était située directement en face du flanc est du fort. L'artillerie aurait pu être utilisé par l'ennemi pour faire feu sur le fort. Construite dans le milieu de la batterie, la poudrière était dans une position dangereuse, car n'importe quelle étincelle aurait suffit à mettre le feu à la poudre noire. Le mât à drapeau, sur le sommet de la poudrière était une excellente cible pour un navire ennemi. En 1747, Joseph Robson, maçon et superviseur pour le compte de la Compagnie, reçut l'ordre de déplacer la batterie. Elle est encore debout aujourd'hui, ayant été reconstruite en 1959-1960 à l'aide des blocs de pierre trouvés sur place et de ciment moderne. Un canon solitaire rappelle aujourd'hui l'objectif premier de la batterie. Ce canon est l'un des 42 canons présents à l'origine au fort Prince-de-Galles.

Les hommes qui ont construit la batterie aimaient travailler à cet endroit. Ils traversaient la rivière à la fonte des glaces et travaillaient là jusqu'au retour du gel en automne. Loin de l'oeil vigilant du gouverneur, ils avaient du temps libre pour chasser ou cueillir les ressources abondantes. Les hommes s'adaptèrent à la région et tirèrent avantage des migrations printanières et automnales de la petite oie des neiges et de la bernache. En été, ils pêchaient l'omble de l'Arctique et le grand corégone tandis qu'en automne, ils cueillaient des baies dont les espèces sont si variées.

cairn commémoratif au Cap Merry
Cairn commémoratif au Cap Merry
© Parcs Canada/ Collection FPG
Jens Muck vint à la baie d'Hudson dans le but de découvrir l'introuvable passage du Nord-Ouest. Un cairn au cap Merry commémore le fort Churchill ainsi que Jens Munck et son équipage, premiers Européens à laisser des traces de leur passage. L'équipage de Jens Munck comprenait un ministre luthérien qui officia le premier service luthérien dans l'Ouest du Canada. En 1731, la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson construisit un fort en pierre à l'embouchure de la rivière Churchill afin de défendre son territoire en entier. Le gouverneur Isham reçut l'ordre de construire la batterie au cap Merry en 1744 pour compléter la défense du fort Prince-de-Galles.