Lower Fort Garry National Historic Site of Canada

Volunteer

Parks Canada Volunteer Program

Be a part of our program

Parks Canada offers a diversity of volunteer activities and reaches many volunteers with different interests. Activities include research and monitoring support, special events, caretaker activities, living history and host activities.

For more information contact:
Telephone: 204-785-6050

Friends of Lower Fort Garry

The Friends of Lower Fort Garry, a non-profit charitable organization, was established in 1985 by community volunteers to supplement and enhance programs at Lower Fort Garry National Historic Site. Since then the organization has grown both in membership and variety of activities, to include volunteer opportunities for all heritage-minded individuals.

The mandate of the Friends of Lower Fort Garry is the preservation of the historic site by educating the public about the heritage value of the fort. It is happy to offer opportunities in costuming, song and dance, children's day camp activities, workshops, social events and other heritage activities.

An important aspect of the organization’s program is the management of a period gift shop that contributes to the organization's financial self-sufficiency. Using seasonal student employees and volunteers of all ages, the association offers services on-site to the visiting public.

The Friends of Lower Fort Garry is dedicated to the idea of community involvement in what is essentially a community asset. Though Lower Fort Garry National Historic Site is managed by a federal government department, it contributes a large part of the enthusiasm and manpower that supports the fort and its place in Canadian heritage. Join our programs and activitiesyou will be well rewarded with personal enjoyment and the satisfaction of supporting a world-class heritage site.

To learn more about the Friends of Lower Fort Garry, please visit their website: http://www.friendsoflowerfortgarry.com

Lieu historique national du Canada de Lower Fort Garry

Faire du bénévolat

Programme de bénévolat de Parcs Canada

Participez à notre programme

Parcs Canada offre un éventail d’activités de bénévolat qui répondent aux divers intérêts des bénévoles. Les activités comprennent le soutien à la recherche et à la surveillance, les activités spéciales, les activités des préposés à l’entretien, l’histoire vivante et des activités d’accueil.

Renseignements :
Téléphone : 204-785-6050

Amis de Lower Fort Garry

Les Amis de Lower Fort Garry, un organisme caritatif sans but lucratif, a été créé en 1985 par des bénévoles de la collectivité en vue de soutenir et d'améliorer les programmes offerts au lieu historique national de Lower Fort Garry. Depuis lors, l’organisme a recruté d'autres membres et a élargi la gamme de ses activités afin d'offrir des possibilités de bénévolat à toutes les personnes s'intéressant au patrimoine.

Les Amis de Lower Fort Garry ont pour mandat de préserver le lieu historique en sensibilisant le public à la valeur patrimoniale du fort. Ils sont heureux d'offrir toute une gamme de possibilités de bénévolat, qu'il s'agisse de confection de costumes, de musique et de danse, de camps de jour pour les enfants, d'ateliers, d'activités sociales et d'autres activités liées au patrimoine.

La gestion d'une boutique de cadeaux d'époque permet à l'organisme d'augmenter son autonomie sur le plan financier, un aspect important de son programme. À l'aide d'étudiants embauchés comme employés saisonniers et de bénévoles de tous les âges, l'organisme offre des services sur place aux visiteurs.

Les Amis de Lower Fort Garry attachent une grande importance à la participation communautaire. Bien que le lieu historique national soit géré par un ministère fédéral, les Amis de Lower Fort Garry fournissent une bonne partie de l'enthousiasme et de la main-d’œuvre qui assurent la conservation du fort, lui permettant ainsi de bien figurer dans le patrimoine canadien. Prenez part à nos programmes et à nos activités! Vous vous amuserez tout en ayant la satisfaction de participer à la conservation d'un site du patrimoine de tout premier ordre!

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les Amis de Lower Fort Garry, veuillez visiter leur site Web : http://www.friendsoflowerfortgarry.com (en anglais seulement).