Fort St. James National Historic Site of Canada

Facilities and Services

Facilities and Services at Fort St. James National Historic Site of Canada

Visitor Centre

Fort St. James National Historic site maintains a modern Visitor Centre with an exhibit room, theatre, gift shop and fully accessible washroom facility. A baby-changing station is also available in the disabled washroom for use.

A nine minute introductory video, 'A Letter Home', is offered in the theatre. It is available in English, French and German as well as closed caption for the hearing impaired. Please check with site staff as required.

Self guiding media is available to rent or purchase. The self guiding tour is scheduled to take approximately 45 minutes, depending on the listeners pace.

Remember to sign our Guest Book before you leave, and please feel free to include any comments about your experience at the site.

Bed and Breakfast Accommodation

In 2010, Fort. St. James National Historic Site piloted an accomodation experience program in the Officer’s House. Based on our success in 2010, this program is now fully certified as an approved Tourism BC accomodation in Fort St. James. Click here for bed and breakfast accommodation information and how to reserve this unique opportunity.

Fire pits and Picnic Facilities

In 2010, we built six new fire rings in the historic site grounds, complete with barbecue grills and picnic tables adjacent to each fire pit. Visitors may use these facilities and firewood provided during our normal opening hours from 9am-5pm, except on special event days when the picnic areas may be used for special event functions. Consult with our historic site staff in making your plans or check our special event listings.

Group Camping Opportunities For Non-Profit Custodial Groups

Fort St. James National Historic Site accepts group camping on the historic site grounds during the summer months for special events like scout camps, overnight school programs and other similar activities. Interpretive programs can be customized and added to a group’s activities for an additional fee if occurring after normal operating hours (9am-5pm). Groups will have access to washroom facilities and fire rings as required and fees are the normal day admission fee per participant per day of stay. If you are interested in making a booking, please email us at: stjames@pc.gc.ca

Access for Persons with Disabilities

Fort St. James National Historic Site is largely accessible to all park visitors who visit the site. For visitors requiring extra assistance, a manual wheelchair is available upon entry to the visitor centre for free. For more information about our accessable facilities, click here:
Learn more about accessibility at Fort St. James National Historic Site

The Old Fort Cafe

Fort St. James National Historic Site runs a full service cafe/restaurant for seating of up to 20-30 people. Click here for more information.

The Old Fort Cafe The Old Fort Cafe 
© Parks Canada












We guarantee you will have a tremendous experience with us!

Fort St. James National Historic Site is one of 167 National Historic Sites across Canada. As part of the Parks Canada family of protected places across Canada, our employees take exceptional pride in their work and in ensuring visitors have the very best experience possible. We guarantee that your visit to Fort St. James will be an outstanding and memorable time, and we’re pleased to take whatever steps might be needed to ensure your enjoyable experience with us.

Feel free to also ask unexpected questions or ask for assistance in your next destination’s planning as well. Our staff participate in the Northern BC iShare program, a regional network of regional visitor information centres and their front-line staff sharing the latest information on what to do, see and enjoy here in Northern British Columbia. Chances are, if we can’t answer your question about the next stop on your journey, we’ll be able to take care of you and send you in the right direction.

We’re confident you will find our staff to be enthusiastic and vibrant, our site to be welcoming and enjoyable, your experiences to be memorable and your desire will be to make a return visit as soon as you are finished with this one.

We’re also very interested in your feedback about your time with us at Fort St. James, so please ensure to fill out a comment card, sign a guest book or speak to any Parks Canada staff members whom you might encounter out and about at the historic site. You can also provide comments or suggestions at any time after your visit either by emailing or calling us.

Please enjoy your time with us at Fort St. James National Historic Site!

Guidelines and Rules to Follow when visiting Fort St. James

Some general guidelines to follow while visiting our historic site.
  • If you see something really interesting you want to see closer up, ask one of our park staff to assist you. Visitors should not handle or touch artefacts throughout the site without assistance
  • Fort St. James National Historic Site is a smoke-free facility; please respect others and refrain from smoking during your visit.
  • If you feel you would like to leave a gratuity, please do so in the form of a donation to the Friends of Fort St. James National Historic Site. Their donation box is located in the main Visitor Centre.
  • Temperatures inside of the historic buildings can sometimes be several degrees cooler than the outside temperatures; consider carrying a jacket or a fleece during your visits in early summer or late fall.
  • be sure to wear comfortable shoes for the tape or guided tours through five historic buildings.

Lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-St. James

Installations et services

Installations et services au lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-St. James

Centre d’accueil

Le lieu historique national du Fort-St. James est pourvu d’un centre d’accueil moderne qui abrite une salle d’exposition, un théâtre, une boutique de cadeaux et des toilettes accessibles en fauteuil roulant. Il y a également une table à langer dans la salle de bains d’accès facile.

Une vidéo d’introduction de neuf minutes, intitulée Une lettre au foyer, est présentée dans le théâtre. Vous pouvez la visionner en français, en anglais et en allemand, et il en existe également une version sous-titrée codée pour les malentendants. Adressez-vous au personnel du lieu historique.

Le Centre d’accueil loue ou vend des moyens d’interprétation autonome. La visite autoguidée prend environ 45 minutes, selon le rythme de l’auditeur.

N’oubliez pas de signer notre livre des visiteurs avant de partir. N’hésitez pas à inscrire vos commentaires au sujet de votre expérience au lieu historique.

Gîte touristique

En 2010, le lieu historique national du Fort St. James a mis à l’essai un programme d’hébergement dans la résidence des dirigeants. Compte tenu du succès remporté par ce projet pilote, la résidence des dirigeants est maintenant un établissement d’hébergement approuvé par Tourism BC à Fort St. James. Cliquez ici pour en savoir davantage et pour connaître la marche à suivre afin de réserver une chambre dans ce lieu d’hébergement unique en son genre.

Foyers et installations pour pique-nique

En 2010, nous avons installé des tables à pique-nique sur la propriété historique ainsi que six nouveaux foyers munis de grilles de barbecue. Les visiteurs peuvent se servir de ces installations et du bois à brûler fourni pendant les heures d’ouverture normales, soit de 9 h à 17 h, sauf les jours où les aires de pique-nique sont utilisées pour des activités spéciales. Parlez au personnel du lieu historique avant de faire vos préparatifs ou consultez notre calendrier des activités spéciales.

Possibilités de camping pour les groupes sans but lucratif encadrés par un adulte

Parcs Canada accepte les groupes de campeurs sur la propriété historique pendant les mois d’été, à l’occasion d’activités spéciales telles que des camps scouts, des sorties scolaires avec coucher et d’autres activités semblables. Nos activités d’interprétation peuvent être taillées sur mesure et ajoutées au programme d’activités du groupe, moyennant un tarif supplémentaire si elles sont offertes après les heures d’ouverture normales (de 9 h à 17 h). Les groupes ont accès aux toilettes et aux foyers, et les sommes exigées correspondent aux droits d’entrée ordinaires par participant par journée. Pour faire une réservation, écrivez-nous à l’adresse stjames@pc.gc.ca

Accès universel

La majeure partie des installations du lieu historique sont accessibles à tous les visiteurs. Le Centre d’accueil offre gratuitement un fauteuil roulant manuel à ceux qui ont besoin d’aide supplémentaire. Cliquez ici pour en savoir davantage sur nos installations d’accès universel.

Café Old Fort

Le café-restaurant du lieu historique national du Fort-St. James offre des services de restauration complets et peut accueillir de 20 à 30 personnes. Cliquez ici pour en savoir davantage.

 Café Old Fort 
Café Old Fort © Parcs Canada








Vous vivrez une expérience exceptionnelle – c’est garanti!

Le lieu historique national du Fort St. James fait partie d’un réseau de 167 lieux historiques nationaux disséminés aux quatre coins du pays. En tant que membres de cette grande famille d’aires protégées, nos employés tirent une très grande fierté de leur travail et se font un point d’honneur d’assurer à nos visiteurs la meilleure expérience possible. Nous vous garantissons un séjour exceptionnel et mémorable au lieu historique, et nous nous ferons un plaisir de prendre les mesures nécessaires pour que votre expérience parmi nous soit agréable.

N’hésitez pas à poser des questions inattendues ou à demander de l’aide pour planifier votre prochaine destination. Notre personnel participe au programme Northern BC iShare, un réseau régional de centres d’information touristique et d’employés de première ligne qui transmettent des renseignements à jour sur les attractions du Nord de la Colombie Britannique. Il y a fort à parier que, si nous ne pouvons pas répondre à votre question au sujet de la prochaine étape de votre voyage, nous pourrons au moins prendre soin de vous et vous indiquer la bonne direction à prendre.

Nous sommes convaincus que vous trouverez notre personnel enthousiaste et dynamique, que notre lieu historique vous paraîtra accueillant et agréable, que votre expérience sera mémorable et que vous aurez envie de revenir nous rendre visite à la première occasion.

Nous voulons également connaître vos impressions sur votre séjour dans le lieu historique national du Fort St. James. N’oubliez pas de remplir une fiche de commentaires, de signer le livre des visiteurs ou de parler à tout membre du personnel de Parcs Canada que vous pourriez rencontrer pendant votre visite. Vous pouvez également nous transmettre vos commentaires ou vos suggestions en tout temps après votre départ, soit par courriel, soit par téléphone.

Bon séjour!

Règles et lignes directrices

Voici quelques lignes directrices générales à respecter pendant votre séjour :

  • Pour voir de plus près un objet qui vous intéresse, demandez l’assistance d’un membre du personnel. Nous demandons aux visiteurs d’obtenir de l’aide avant de manipuler ou de toucher les artefacts éparpillés un peu partout dans le lieu historique.
  • Le lieu historique est une installation sans fumée. Respectez les autres et abstenez-vous de fumer pendant votre visite.  
  • Il fait parfois plusieurs degrés de moins à l’intérieur des bâtiments historiques qu’à l’extérieur. Si vous visitez le lieu historique au début de l’été ou à la fin de l’automne, envisagez d’apporter un manteau ou un blouson en molleton.
  • Portez des chaussures confortables pour les visites audio ou les visites guidées dans les cinq bâtiments historiques.