Common menu bar links

Fort St. James National Historic Site

Persons of National Historic Significance related to the history and storylines of Fort St James NHSC

Through the work of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, many people are recognized as Persons of National Historic Significance for their historically important roles and contributions. Fort St. James National Historic Site is associated with several of these important individuals. They are listed below with links to further information:

Chief Kw’eh

Chief Kw’eh was a leader of the Dakelh people at Stuart Lake in the village of Nak’azdli. During his early life he distinguished himself as a warrior within a cycle of warfare between the Dakelh of Stuart Lake and the Chilcotin people to the south. In 1806, when Simon Fraser and his party arrived in Nak’azdli (Stuart Lake) to establish fur trade posts for the Northwest Company, Chief Kw’eh took on the role as fur trade chief, negotiating the new relationship between his people and the newcomers. Learn more... 

Sir James Douglas

Early in his career, James Douglas served as a fur trade clerk for the Hudson’s Bay Company at Fort St. James. He is best remembered for a famous confrontation he had there with the Dakelh Chief Kw’eh in 1828. After that he was removed to serve at Fort Vancouver (on the Columbia River), where he rose in the ranks and eventually became the first governor of the Colony of British Columbia in 1858. Learn more...

Father Adrien-Gabriel Morice O.M.I.

Father A.G. Morice was a prominent Oblate missionaries who worked among the Dakelh First Nations from his base at Fort St. James, BC. Morice wrote several books including, The History of the Northern Interior of British Columbia and developed the first Athapaskan-Dakelh language dictionary. The historic Catholic church, Our Lady of Good Hope, with Morice’s small printing press cabin behind it, remains a prominent landmark at Fort St. James. Learn more...

Sir George Simpson

Sir George Simpson, served the Hudson’s Bay Company as a Governor of the Northern Department from 1821-26, and then as Governor-in-Chief until his death in 1860. He made a celebrated visit to Fort St. James in 1828, an event recalled a hundred years later at a commemorative pageant held at Fort St James in September 1928. At that time the HSMBC plaque commemorating Simpson was also unveiled on a monument near the confluence of the Simpson and Vermilion Rivers along Highway 93/95 in Kootenay National Park. Learn more...

Lieu historique national du Fort-St. James

Personnes d’importance historique nationale liées à l’histoire et à la thématique du lieu historique national du Fort-St. James

Par son travail, la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada confère à de nombreuses personnes une importance historique nationale en raison de leur rôle et de leur contribution à l’histoire du pays. Le lieu historique national du Fort-St. James est associé à plusieurs de ces personnes importantes. En voici une liste, assortie de liens vers des renseignements supplémentaires.

Chef Kw'eh

Le chef Kw’eh était un leader du people des Porteurs du village de Nak’azdli, au bord du lac Stewart. Jeune guerrier, il se distingua pendant plusieurs périodes d’hostilités entre les Porteurs du lac Stuart et le peuple Chilcotin, en provenance du Sud. En 1806, lorsque Simon Fraser et ses hommes vinrent établir un poste de traite des fourrures à Nak’azdli pour le compte de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest, le chef Kw’eh joua le rôle de chef de la traite et négocia avec les nouveaux arrivants le type de rapports qui allaient les unir à son peuple. Apprendre plus...

Sir James Douglas

Au début de sa carrière, James Douglas travailla comme commis à la traite des fourrures au fort St. James pour le compte de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson. Il est surtout connu pour la célèbre confrontation qu’il y eut avec Kw’eh, le chef des Dakelhs, en 1828. Il fut ensuite affecté au fort Vancouver (sur les bords du fleuve Columbia), où il gravit les échelons pour devenir le premier gouverneur de la colonie de la Colombie-Britannique en 1858. Apprendre plus...

Père Adrien-Gabriel Morice, O.M.I.

Missionnaire oblat bien connu, le père A. G. Morice travailla auprès des Dakelhs depuis le fort St. James, en Colombie-Britannique. Il écrivit plusieurs livres, dont The History of the Northern Interior of British Columbia, et il créa le premier dictionnaire de la langue dakelh, une langue athapascane. L’église catholique Our Lady of Good Hope et la petite imprimerie du père Morice qui se trouve juste derrière demeurent des repères bien visibles à Fort St. James. Apprendre plus...

Sir George Simpson

Sir George Simpson servit la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson à titre de gouverneur du département du Nord de 1821 à 1826, puis à titre de gouverneur en chef jusqu’à sa mort en 1860. Il visita le fort St. James en 1828, un événement qu’on commémora cent ans plus tard lors d’un défilé historique au fort en septembre 1928. À la même époque, la CLMHC dévoila une plaque commémorative rendant hommage à Simpson sur un monument érigé près du confluent des rivières Simpson et Vermilion, le long de la route 93/95, dans le parc national Kootenay. Apprendre plus...