Gitwangak Battle Hill National Historic Site of Canada

History of Gitwangak Battle Hill

Gitwangak elders tell the story of the fierce warrior chief, 'Nekt, who used Battle Hill as a base to make raids against Nass River and coastal peoples for food, slaves, and control of lucrative trade routes. The Kitwankul Grease Trail, named for the candlefish (eulachon) oil that people packed along the Nass to the Skeena River, passed within sight of Battle Hill.

To defend the Battle Hill's refuge of houses, 'Nekt and his warriors hoisted huge spiked logs up the palisade walls and fastened them with cedar ropes. When the war horn signaled an enemy attack, the logs were rolled down to crush the invaders.

Artist's impression of fortified village on Battle Hill
Artist's impression of fortified village on Battle Hill
© Parks Canada

'Nekt wore armour made of a grizzly hide with pieces of slate glued to the inside, and carried a magical club called k'i'laa, "Strike-Only-Once."

Oral history related by the late Fred Johnson, chief Lelt, says 'Nekt was finally defeated when an arrow struck him in the back of his leg. When he fell to the ground, a Nisga'a warrior beheaded him. After 'Nekt's death, peace returned to the area. The Gitwangak people moved to Gitwangak Village, located 6 km to the south on the banks of the Skeena River. At some point the fort burned to the ground.

The totems of Gitwangak, located in this newer village, display crests relating 'Nekt's original flight from Haida Gwaii (the Queen Charlotte Islands), his exploits as a warrior, and his occupation of Battle Hill.

This pole depicts 'Nekt as an infant escaping from Haida Gwaii in a canoe with his mother and the severed head of his father.
© Parks Canada/Richard Inglis

Lieu historique national du Canada de la colline-Battle Hill-des-Gitwangaks

L'histoire de la colline-Battle Hill-des-Gitwangaks

Les aînés des Gitwangaks racontent l'histoire d'un féroce chef guerrier, 'Nekt, qui s'est servi de la colline Battle Hill comme d'une base d'où il a mené des incursions contre les peuples de la rivière Nass et de la côte afin d'obtenir de la nourriture, des esclaves et le contrôle de routes de commerce lucratives. Le sentier Kitwankul, appelé « piste de la graisse » puisqu'on y transportait l'huile du poisson-chandelle (eulakane) le long de la rivière Nass jusqu'à la rivière Skeena, passait à proximité de la colline Battle Hill.

Afin de défendre les habitations de la colline, 'Nekt et ses guerriers hissaient d'énormes rondins jusqu'au sommet de la palissade et les y attachaient au moyen de cordes de thuya. Lorsque sonnait la corne de guerre signalant une attaque ennemie, les rondins étaient détachés et roulaient au bas de la colline, écrasant les assaillants.

Vue d'artiste du village fortifié sur Battle Hill Vue d'artiste du village fortifié sur Battle Hill
© Parcs Canada

'Nekt portait une armure faite d'une peau de grizzli à l'intérieur de laquelle étaient collées des plaquettes d'ardoise. Il avait pour arme un gourdin magique qu'il appelait k'i'laa, « dont un seul coup suffit ».

Selon l'histoire orale transmise par feu Fred Johnson, chef Lelt, 'Nekt a finalement été vaincu lorsqu'une flèche l'a frappé derrière la jambe. Il est tombé au sol et un guerrier Nisga'a en a profité pour lui trancher la tête. Après la mort de 'Nekt, la paix est revenue dans la région. Les Gitwangaks se sont établis au village de Gitwangak, à 6 km au sud, en bordure de la rivière Skeena. Plus tard, le fort a été rasé par les flemmes.

Les mâts totémiques de Gitwangak, situés dans le nouveau village, portent des emblèmes illustrant la vie de 'Nekt : son départ de Haida Gwaii (îles de la Reine-Charlotte), ses exploits guerriers et l'occupation de la colline Battle Hill.


Ce mât totémique illustre 'Nekt en bas âge, alors qu'il fuit Haida Gwaii en canot en compagnie de sa mère et de la tête tranchée de son père. © Parcs Canada/Richard Inglis