Common menu bar links

Fort Rodd Hill and Fisgard Lighthouse National Historic Sites

Partnering with Parks Canada

By working in collaboration with respected organisations that share our values, Parks Canada is able to better deliver its promise to Canadians by continuing to be a world leader in the protection and presentation of Canada’s natural and cultural heritage. We believe in sharing leadership and working with our partners to offer unique, inspiring opportunities for Canadians to discover our treasured places and to achieve extraordinary results.

We are proud to formally collaborate with the following local partners:

Beaty Biodiversity Museum

The Beaty Biodiversity Museum opened on Vancouver’s UBC campus in 2010 and works to inspire an understanding of biodiversity, its origins, and importance to humans through collections-based research, education and outreach. As Vancouver’s natural history museum, BBM works to promote a greater sense of collective responsibility for the biodiversity of British Columbia, Canada, and the world.

Parks Canada is proud to collaborate with the Beaty Biodiversity Museum to deliver Parks Canada BioBlitz events throughout Coastal BC each year. A BioBlitz is a fun 24-hour event in which teams of volunteer scientists, families, students, and other community members work together to find and identify as many different plants, animals, microbes, fungi, and other organisms as possible.


Royal BC Museum

The Royal BC Museum is located on Belleville Street at the border between beautiful downtown Victoria and historic James Bay, just steps from Victoria’s Inner Harbour. The mission of the Royal BC Museum is to promote an understanding of the living landscapes and cultures of British Columbia and engage people in a dialogue about their future. Parks Canada is working collaboratively with the Royal BC Museum in the following areas:

  • Design of Interpretive Signs — interpretive signs are an integral part of the self-guided historic nature trail experience at Fort Rodd Hill National Historic Site. Visitors will better understand the cultural, natural and historical heritage of Fort Rodd Hill as the signs highlight the area's significance by integrating information about the site, local First Nations history and culture, species at risk and rare Garry oak ecosystems.
  • BioBlitz, a fun 24-hour event in which teams of volunteer scientists, families, students, and other community members work together to find and identify as many different plants, animals, microbes, fungi, and other organisms as possible.


Science World British Columbia

Science World at TELUS World of Science  is a not-for-profit organisation that engages British Columbians in science and inspires future science and technology leadership throughout the province of British Columbia.

Parks Canada is excited to collaborate with Science World in the delivery of our urban outreach program in Vancouver. Throughout the summer, visitors to Science World at TELUS World of Science enjoy engaging stage shows, programs and activities that bring the stories of Canada’s national parks, historic sites and marine conservation areas to the people of Vancouver.



Vancouver Aquarium

The Vancouver Aquarium is a recognized leader in connecting people to the natural world. As a self-supporting, non-profit association, the aquarium is dedicated to effecting the conservation of aquatic life through display, communication, education and public programming, research and direct action. Nearly 40 million people have visited the Aquarium since its opening in 1956. Located in Stanley Park, we’re open to visitors from around the world 365 days a year.

Parks Canada is excited to collaborate with the Vancouver Aquarium in the delivery of our urban outreach program in Vancouver. Throughout the summer visitors to the Aquarium enjoy engaging stage shows, programs and activities that bring the stories of our national parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas into the heart of Vancouver.



Vancouver Maritime Museum

Located in Vanier Park, Vancouver Maritime Museum is a registered not-for-profit organization that engages the public and celebrates the significance of the ocean and waterways of the Pacific and the Arctic. The museum achieves this through the preservation and growth of its extraordinary collection, and also operating as a centre for dialogue, research and visitor experience.

Parks Canada is thrilled to collaborate with the Vancouver Maritime Museum in the delivery of visitor experience and outreach education programs. Visitors to the museum, and to Parks Canada venues and events, can enjoy engaging programs and discover the rich history and cultural significance of Canada’s maritime heritage - and its strong links with many of the special places Parks Canada conserves and protects.

Lieux historiques nationaux Fort Rodd Hill et du Phare-de-Fisgard

Partenaires de Parcs Canada

La collaboration d’organisations respectées qui partagent ses valeurs permet à l’Agence Parcs Canada de mieux remplir sa promesse faite aux Canadiens tout en demeurant un chef de file mondial dans le domaine de la protection et de la mise en valeur du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada. L’Agence croit au partage du leadership et à la collaboration avec ses partenaires dans le but d’offrir aux Canadiens des occasions uniques et inspirantes de découvrir nos trésors et d’atteindre des résultats extraordinaires.

L’Agence Parcs Canada est fière de s’associer officiellement avec les partenaires suivants :

Beaty Biodiversity Museum

Le Beaty Biodiversity Museum (en anglais seulement) a ouvert ses portes sur le campus de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique à Vancouver en 2010 et a pour mandat de favoriser une compréhension de la notion de biodiversité, de ses origines et de son importance pour les êtres humains grâce à des recherches fondées sur des collections, à l’éducation et à des activités de diffusion externe. En tant que musée d’histoire naturelle officiel de Vancouver, le BBM s’emploie à promouvoir une responsabilisation collective concernant la biodiversité de la Colombie-Britannique, du Canada et de la planète.

Parcs Canada est fier de collaborer avec le BioBlitz à la réserve de parc national des Îles-Gulf. BioBlitz est une activité amusante se déroulant sur une période de 24 heures. Des équipes de chercheurs scientifiques bénévoles, de familles, d’élèves et d’autres membres de la collectivité travaillent ensemble pour découvrir et identifier le plus grand nombre de plantes, d’animaux, de champignons et d’organismes possible.


Royal BC Museum

Le Royal BC Museum (en anglais seulement) est situé sur la rue Belleville, entre le charmant centre-ville de Victoria et le quartier historique James Bay, à quelques pas du port intérieur de Victoria. La mission du Royal BC Museum consiste à promouvoir une compréhension des paysages vivants et des cultures de la Colombie-Britannique et engager les gens dans un dialogue au sujet de leur avenir. Parcs Canada travaille en collaboration avec le Royal BC Museum dans les domaines suivants :

  • Conception de panneaux d’interprétation — Les panneaux d’interprétation font partie intégrante de l’expérience autoguidée dans les sentiers en pleine nature au lieu historique national du Canada Fort Rodd Hill. Les visiteurs pourront mieux comprendre le patrimoine culturel, naturel et historique de Fort Rodd Hill, car les panneaux relatent l’importance de la région, tout en intégrant des informations sur le site, l’histoire et la culture des Premières nations de la région, les espèces en péril et les rares écosystèmes des chênes de Garry.

  • BioBlitz, un événement amusant s’étendant sur 24 heures lors duquel des équipes de scientifiques bénévoles, des familles, des étudiants et d’autres membres de la communauté travaillent ensemble pour trouver et identifier le plus de plantes, animaux, microbes, champignons et autres organismes possible.



Science World British Columbia

Science World at TELUS World of Science  (en anglais seulement) en Colombie Britannique, est un organisme sans but lucratif qui vise à sensibiliser la population de la province aux sciences et à inspirer un leadership futur en sciences et en technologie partout dans la province.

Parcs Canada est fier de collaborer avec Science World pour mettre en œuvre son programme de diffusion externe en milieu urbain à Vancouver. Tout au long de l’été les visiteurs du Science World du TELUS World of Science profitent, en plein cœur de Vancouver, de spectacles sur scène, d’activités et de programmes captivants qui racontent l’histoire de nos parcs nationaux, de nos lieux historiques nationaux et de nos aires marines nationales de conservations aux gens de Vancouver.



Vancouver Aquarium

Le Vancouver Aquarium (en anglais seulement) est un leader reconnu en matière de mise en lien des gens avec le monde naturel. En tant qu’organisation autonome sans but lucratif, l’Aquarium se consacre à la conservation efficace de la vie aquatique grâce à la présentation, la communication, l’éducation et des programmes publics, ainsi que la recherche et l’action directe. Près de 40 millions de personnes ont visité le Vancouver Aquarium depuis son ouverture en 1956. Situé dans le parc Stanley, il est ouvert aux visiteurs issus du monde entier 365 jours par année.

Parcs Canada est très enthousiaste quant à sa collaboration avec le Vancouver Aquarium pour présenter notre programme de diffusion urbaine à Vancouver. Pendant tout l’été, les visiteurs de l’Aquarium pourront profiter de spectacles sur scène, de programmes et d’activités qui présentent les histoires de nos parcs nationaux, lieux historiques nationaux et zones nationales de conservation marine au cœur des gens de Vancouver.


Vancouver Maritime Museum

La Vancouver Maritime Museum Society (en anglais seulement), située à Vanier Park, est un organisme à but non lucratif enregistré qui met à contribution le public et qui promeut l’importance des océans et des voies maritimes du Pacifique et de l’Arctique. Pour parvenir à ces fins, le musée s’emploie à préserver et à enrichir son extraordinaire collection, tout en servant de centre pour le dialogue, la recherche et de lieu offrant une expérience de qualité aux visiteurs.

L’Agence Parcs Canada est ravie de collaborer, avec le Vancouver Maritime Museum, aux programmes globaux offerts aux visiteurs ainsi qu’aux programmes de sensibilisation et d’éducation. Les visiteurs du musée et des lieux de Parcs Canada peuvent profiter de programmes stimulants tout en découvrant la riche histoire et l’importance culturelle du patrimoine maritime du Canada et de son rapport étroit avec de nombreux lieux uniques que Parcs Canada conserve et protège.