Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site of Canada

Cultural Treasures

Atsina (Also referred to historically as Gros Ventre, Big Belly, Rapids, Waterfall, Fall, A’aninen)

Territory and Population

European traders first identified this nation in the 1770s, although they had probably met them before then. At that time, the Atsina (Gros Ventre) were living near the forks of the Saskatchewan River. English-speaking traders translated the Anishinabe (Ojibwa) and Nehiyawak (Cree) name for them as “Fall Indians”, “Waterfall Indians,” or “Rapids Indians”: these names all referred to the strong current in that stretch of the river. Although American traders often called them “Blackfeet” (Nitsitapii), the Atsina were actually related to the Arapaho and Cheyenne further south: several rivers south of the Missouri had Atsina names.

Estimates of the Atsina population are often vague or confusing. In 1800, they may have numbered around 1,800 people, but by 1820 they had grown to nearly three times that size – despite losing as much as one third of their people to measles in 1819 and 1820. They had suffered more from smallpox than their Nitsitapii allies had in the late 18th and early 19th centuries, which gave them some immunity. In the major smallpox epidemic of 1837/8, they lost less than 10% of their population, while some neighbouring nations lost as much as three quarters.

Conflict and Uncertainty

The Atsina were first described by European traders as one of the friendliest and most cooperative of the Plains First Nations. However, their attitudes changed in the late 18th century, when war broke out between the Nitsitapii and the Nehiyawak and Nakoda (Assiniboine): being the easternmost of the Nitsitapii’s allies, the Atsina often bore the brunt of Nehiyawak and Nakoda attacks. After one defeat in 1792, some bands of Atsina, with a few Siksika (Blackfoot) allies, took out their anger on the nearby European traders who were trading arms to the Nehiyawak. The furs traded by the Atsina and other plains nations were mostly wolf and bison, and were not valued as highly by the Europeans as the Nehiyawak’s beaver pelts: therefore, the Atsina could not afford as many guns or as much ammunition as the Nehiyawak could.

The conflict with European traders did not last long, partly because the Nitsitapii and Atsina recognised that the Europeans were their best source of guns and ammunition. Also, the Nehiyawak and Nakoda launched a series of devastating raids, apparently in retaliation for the attacks on Europeans. The memory of this violent episode was fresh in the traders’ minds when they fortified Rocky Mountain House and Acton House in 1799.

Nehiyawak and Nakoda aggression pushed the Atsina south during the early 1800s. This movement had some advantages: in the 1830s, American traders on the Missouri River began offering good prices for bison robes. By the 1840s, Atsina traders had abandoned the Hudson’s Bay Company’s posts completely. The relationship between the Atsina and their Nitsitapii allies also began to break down in the 1850s and ‘60s. The Atsina were one of eight First Nations who signed Lame Bull’s Treaty with the US government in 1855, and they settled on the Fort Belknap reservation in Montana in 1888.

Lieu historique national du Canada Rocky Mountain House

Trésors culturels

Atsina (peuple aussi appelé Gros ventre, Big Belly, Rapids, Waterfall, Fall et A’aninen au cours de l’histoire)

Territoire et population

Les traiteurs européens identifient cette nation pour la première fois dans les années 1770, mais ils l’ont sans doute rencontrée auparavant. À cette époque, les Atsinas (Gros ventres) vivent près du confluent de la rivière Saskatchewan. Les traiteurs anglophones traduisent les noms que les Anishinabes (Ojibwas) et les Nehiyawaks (Cris) donnent aux Astinas par « Indiens des chutes » ou « Indiens des rapides » (Fall Indians, Waterfall Indians ou Rapid Indians), noms qui font référence aux forts courants qui agitent la rivière dans ce secteur. Bien que les commerçants américains les appellent souvent « Pieds Noirs » (Nitsitapiis), les Atsinas sont en réalité apparentés aux Arapahos et aux Cheyennes qui habitent plus au sud : plusieurs rivières du Missouri portent des noms atsinas.

Les estimations de la population atsina sont souvent vagues ou déroutantes. En 1800, la nation compte peut être environ 1 800 âmes, mais en 1820, la population a triplé – même si elle est décimée de près du tiers par la rougeole en 1819 et en 1820. Les Atsinas souffrent davantage de la variole que leurs alliés nitsitapiis à la fin du XVIIIe et au début du XIXe siècle, ce qui leur procure une certaine immunité. Lors de la grande épidémie de variole de 1837 1838, ils perdent moins de 10 % de leur population, alors que certaines nations voisines voient disparaître jusqu’aux trois quarts de leurs membres.

Conflits et incertitude

Les Atsinas sont d’abord décrits par les commerçants européens comme l’une des nations les plus amicales et coopératives des Premières nations des plaines. Cependant, leur attitude change à la fin du XVIIIe siècle, alors que la guerre éclate entre les Nitsitapiis, d’une part, et les Nehiyawaks et les Nakodas (Assiniboines), d’autre part. Les Atsinas étant les alliés le plus à l’est des Nitsitapiis, ils sont souvent les plus durement touchés par les attaques nehiyawaks et nakodas. Après une défaite en 1792, certaines bandes d’Atsinas et quelques alliés siksikas (pieds noirs) passent leur colère sur les négociants européens de la région, qui fournissent des armes aux Nehiyawaks. Les Atsinas et les autres nations des plaines échangent surtout des fourrures de loup et de bison, qui n’ont pas autant de valeur aux yeux des Européens que les peaux de castor des Nehiyawaks. Ces derniers peuvent donc se procurer plus de fusils et de munitions que les Atsinas.

Le conflit avec les traiteurs européens est de courte durée, en partie parce que les Nitsitapiis et les Atsinas réalisent que les Européens sont la meilleure source de fusils et de munitions. De plus, les Nehiyawaks et les Nakodas lancent une série de raids dévastateurs, apparemment à titre de représailles aux attaques contre les Européens. Cet épisode violent est encore frais à la mémoire des commerçants lorsqu’ils fortifient les postes Rocky Mountain House et Acton House en 1799.

L’agression des Nehiyawaks et des Nakodas repousse les Atsinas vers le sud au début des années 1800. Cette migration a certains avantages : dans les années 1830, les traiteurs américains de la rivière Missouri commencent à offrir un bon prix pour les peaux de bison. Dans les années 1840, les traiteurs atsinas ont complètement abandonné les postes de la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson. La relation entre les Atsinas et leurs alliés nitsitapiis commence également à se rompre dans les années 1850 et 1860. Les Atsinas sont l’une des huit Premières nations qui signent le Traité de Lame Bull avec le gouvernement des États Unis en 1855, et ils s’établissent dans la réserve de Fort Belknap, au Montana, en 1888.