Common menu bar links

Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site

Interpretive Programs

Family in York Boat © Marg French

With nearly a century of fur trade history, Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site of Canada has plenty of stories to share! Enjoy a self-guided riverside walk to the archaeological remains of four fur trade forts or partake in our heritage presentations.

Visit Natural Wonders & Cultural Treasures to learn about the History of Rocky Mountain House, Interpreting the Canadian Fur Trade and Other Learning Resources


Heritage Camping Programs

First Nation drum and song

Enjoy a visit from a local First Nation drummer, dancer and/or storyteller. Gather around the fire for an hour long journey into aboriginal culture. Have an open dialogue and tweak your curiosity with this informal educational opportunity. (The availability of this program depends on the availability of the contractor).

Traditional games workshop

Have you ever wondered what people did for fun before television and videogames? There is hours of entertainment to be found with what you find in nature, your friends, and a little imagination. The games that were played hundreds of years ago by aboriginal people were not only used to pass the time but also to teach essential survival skills like observation, intuition, estimation, and hand-eye coordination. In this workshop, you and your group will have an opportunity to learn and play a selection of traditional games. This workshop is best for groups of youth, or as a teambuilding exercise for those groups who are hands on.

Bannock making workshop

Create your custom Bannock in Highwater house then cook it over the open fire. On a stick, in a pan, or deep fried, mmmmmm Bannock! Ingredients and cookware provided. For a truly unique bannock experience, bring your own chocolate, cheese, or any ingredient you desire to mix in.

Dream catcher making Workshop

In this hands-on workshop you will learn the traditions around this First Nations custom and create your own beautiful dream catcher to take home.

Reservations: 403-845-2412
Email: rocky.info@pc.gc.ca


On-Site Demonstrations

Metis partners
Metis partners
© Marg French

Métis Partners

Visit our partners from Métis Local 845 at the Trapper’s Tent. Relax by the fire as interpreters narrate stories of their ancestors, the true children of the fur trade. Try your hand at traditional skills and fun games. Métis Local 845 also operate the nine walk-in tenting sites and a tipi camping experience by the North Saskatchewan River. Inquire at the Visitor Centre for more information.

The Trade Room of Tales

Ever wonder how a trade room operated? Visit the company clerk in the Exhibit Trade Room as they describe the hard yet rewarding life at Rocky Mountain House.


David Thompson Puppet Show

Did you know David Thompson mapped 3.9 million square kilometres of this great nation!

You too can laugh and sing along with French and English as they celebrate the life and times of this amazing man. This light-hearted all-ages Puppet Show highlights Thompson’s accomplishments as a fur trader, mapmaker, surveyor and explorer.
Presented by the Confluence Heritage Society.

Mid-May and June - weekends at 2 pm
July and August - 2 pm daily

Please contact the Confluence Heritage Society at 403.845.6680 for more details



School Programs

Every school program at Rocky Mountain House presents our commemorative integrity themes with direct links to the Alberta Education Social Studies Curriculum. Programs are offered in French or as outreach programs. Please contact us at 403.845.2412 or to book a program or for a detailed list of curriculum links.

David Thompson Explorers Challenge

[Grades: 7 & 8 / Length: 3 hours / 1 interpreter per 20 students max.]
This program brings history into a present day explorer challenge, similar to that of a survivor game. Lead by a “coach” the students become a team on the first day of training. The team’s goal is to successfully complete eight training events. All events are based on challenges David Thompson himself faced 200 years ago. Cooperation, teamwork and team spirit are essential to the successful completion of all events!

Rivalry

[Grades: 4 & 5 / Length: 2.5 hours / 2 to 5 interpreters; 25 students per interpreter max.]
Students re-create history as members of the Hudson’s Bay Company, North West Company or an Aboriginal trading party. They explore the cultural heritage, language and perspectives of these groups through role-play, historic objects and archaeological sites. Interactions between groups on the trail build up the rivalry and students acquire the skills and knowledge to take ownership of the program for the final trade ceremony. A surprise awaits everyone at the end! Due to a drastic change for all trading parties each group must decide its own course of action – To trade or not to trade?

Partners in Peril

[Grades: 4 & up / Length: 2 hours / 1 interpreter per 25 students max.]
A ghostly Métis guide is convinced the students are the Columbia Brigade voyageurs and leads them on a wild goose chase. Based on the historic journal writings of Alexander Henry the Younger during the 1810 Piikani blockade at Rocky Mountain House, students attempt to solve a missing person mystery. Students use compasses to take bearings and create maps of the landscape and trails that they encounter during their search for David Thompson.

School Program

Voices of the Fur Trade

[Grades: 1 & 2 / Length: 1.5-2 hours / 1 interpreter per 20 students max.]
Students explore characteristic of people and places 200 years ago at Rocky Mountain House through the voices of a Piikani community. This program offers insight on cultural diversity, human geography and physical geography during 76 years of trade at Rocky Mountain House. The program highlights historic communication methods, with an emphasis on oral traditions, and to finish off the program students trade for a “medicine wheel” bracelet beading kit.

Remember to book early to avoid disappointment!


Interpretive Trails

Explore our two interpretive trails:
  • The Chimney Trail circles through the archaeological remains of the two most recent Hudson's Bay Company forts. You'll see the famous chimneys from the 1868 -1875 fort and the 1835 - 1861 fort that was visited by Paul Kane and other notable historical figures. (Trail details: 0.9 km round trip, easy terrain, wheel chair accessible, audio stations)
  • The David Thompson Trail winds along the North Saskatchewan shore to the oldest fort sites. The North West Company fort called Rocky Mountain House) was the first one constructed in 1799. Within a short time, it was followed by the Hudson's Bay Company fort, Acton House – established only days later. These two companies amalgamated under the name of the Hudson's Bay Company in 1821, but kept the North West Company’s fort name of Rocky Mountain House. Bring your lunch and have a picnic in a tipi along the way. (Trail details: 3.2 km round trip, moderate terrain, partially accessible by wheel chair, audio stations, outhouse)
 Listening station along interpretive trail Listening station along interpretive trail
© Marg French

Indoor Exhibits

Start your visit at the Visitor Centre and let our friendly staff help you plan your day. Inside the Visitor Centre, our new Exhibit Gallery houses original artefacts excavated from the fort sites, a replica trade room where guests can pose in period costume, and interactive displays to portray the fur trade era at Rocky Mountain House.


On-Site Exhibits

York boat
Hop in the York boat and prepare to row across four provinces to Hudson's Bay. These boats were built right here at Rocky Mountain House to make the long journey down river loaded with furs and goods destined for England.

Red River Cart
The squeaks and squeals of the wheels of the Red River Cart became well recognized in this area. They became a major method of transportation especially for the Métis people.

1967 Canoe Race display
An amazing group of men from across Canada developed and participated in a 5000 km canoe race from Rocky Mountain House to Montreal. The pageant celebrated Canada's 1967 centennial and the lives of the voyageurs. See the exhibit and the actual Alberta race canoe at the historic site.


Videos

Various videos can be seen in our theatre upon request.

Spanning a Continent and Crossing Cultures: The Life of David Thompson

(CBC / Parks Canada, 2008, 35 min.)
This film examines the life of David Thompson from his youth at the Grey Coat School in London through his active years as a fur trader, mapmaker and surveyor to his last poverty-stricken days in Montréal. With new footage and segments taken from the acclaimed Canada: A People’s History, this engaging video brings Thompson’s story to life.

The Fur Trade and the Opening of Canada

(Epoch Multimedia, 2004, 21 min)
This video offers an overview of the role the fur trade played in Canada’s unfolding history from 1400 to 1867.

The Great Divide: the Journeys of David Thompson

(Great North Productions, 2003, 46 min.)
This film recounts the adventures of David Thompson, the famous mapmaker and explorer who mapped over three million square kilometres of northwestern North America. His ambitious, courageous, and monumental achievements geographically defined western Canada and a nation.

First Journey, Fort William

(National Film Board of Canada, 1987, 24 min.)
Set in 1815, this is the dramatic story of a child of the fur trade. The son of an Aboriginal mother and a Scottish-Canadian fur trader travels for the first time to Fort William, the North West Company's lavish winter headquarters by Lake Superior. In following his journey, the film reveals the complex network of people that made up the fur-trading society, including French, Scottish, and Aboriginal peoples.

Paul Kane goes West

(National Film Board of Canada, 1972, 14 min.)
Paul Kane's paintings and writings of his travels and encounters with Aboriginal peoples are the subject of this film. Kane travelled west to the Pacific Ocean in the mid-1800s, creating some of the earliest visual records of the area.

The Voyageurs

(National Film Board of Canada, 1964, 20 min.)
This film recreates the epic adventures of the “Voyageurs” in the early 1800s, when they travelled the 5000-km river trade route from Montreal to the Rocky Mountains. With the songs of a male chorus, this film presents a tuneful view of history.

Lieu historique national Rocky Mountain House

Activités d'interprétation 

ne famille dans la barge d'York © Marg French

Pendant près d’un siècle, le poste de traite Rocky Mountain House a fait le commerce des fourrures; c’est donc dire qu’il a une foule d’histoires à raconter! Faites une promenade auto-guidée le long de la rivière jusqu’aux vestiges archéologiques de quatre postes de traite des fourrures ou encore assistez à nos présentations sur le patrimoine.

Visitez Merveilles naturelles et trésors culturels pour vous instruire sur l`histoire de Rocky Mountain House, l'interprétation du commerce de la fourrure au Canada et Autres ressources.


Programmes de camping patrimonial

Tambours et chansons des Premières Nations

Profitez de la visite d’un joueur de tambour, d’un danseur ou d’un conteur des Premières Nations. Rassemblez-vous autour du feu pour une incursion d’une heure dans la culture autochtone. Participez à un dialogue ouvert et assouvissez votre curiosité au cours de cette activité d’apprentissage. (Activité offerte selon la disponibilité de l’entrepreneur.)

Atelier sur les jeux traditionnels

Vous êtes-vous déjà demandé à quoi ressemblaient les loisirs avant l’avènement de la télévision et des jeux vidéo? Il suffit d’un peu d’imagination pour trouver des heures de divertissements dans la nature et les échanges entre amis. Les jeux auxquels s’adonnaient autrefois les Autochtones servaient non seulement à passer le temps mais aussi à enseigner des techniques de survie essentielles, comme l’observation, l’intuition, l’estimation et la coordination œil-main. Au cours de cet atelier, vous et votre groupe aurez l’occasion d’apprendre et de pratiquer quelques jeux traditionnels. Cet atelier convient particulièrement aux groupes de jeunes et peut également servir d’exercice de promotion du travail d’équipe aux groupes à la recherche d’activités pratiques.

Atelier de confection de bannique

Créez votre propre bannique dans la maison Highwater, puis venez la faire cuire sur un feu à ciel ouvert. Frite, cuite sur un bâton ou dorée dans un plat, miam! Ingrédients et accessoires de cuisine fournis. Pour une expérience vraiment unique, apportez du chocolat, du fromage ou tout autre ingrédient que vous voulez mélanger à votre bannique.

Atelier de confection de capteurs de rêves

Au cours de cet atelier pratique, vous découvrirez les traditions entourant cette coutume des Premières Nations, et vous créerez votre propre capteur de rêves, que vous pourrez rapporter à la maison.

Reservations: 403-845-2412
Email: rocky.info@pc.gc.ca


Démonstrations sur place

Métis Local
Métis Local
© Marg French

Métis Local 845
Venez rendre visite à nos partenaires du groupe Métis Local 845 dans la tente des trappeurs. Détendez-vous près d'un feu tandis que des interprètes racontent des récits venant de leurs ancêtres, les véritables enfants du commerce des fourrures. Essayez des techniques traditionnelles et prenez part à des jeux amusants. Le groupe Métis Local 845 exploite de plus neuf emplacements de camping pour tentes à accès piéton, et offre aux visiteurs l'occasion de dormir dans un tipi en bordure de la rivière Saskatchewan Nord. Renseignez-vous au Centre d'accueil.

Le récit d’une salle de commerce
Vous êtes-vous déjà demandé comment fonctionnait une salle de commerce? Rendez visite à un commis de la Compagnie dans la salle de commerce qui vous parlera des difficultés et des récompenses de la vie à Rocky Mountain House.


Théâtre de Marionnettes de David Thompson

 
Théâtre de Marionnettes de David Thompson

Saviez-vous que David Thompson a cartographié 3,9 millions de kilomètres carrés de notre grand pays?

Vous aussi pouvez rire et chanter en compagnie des Anglais et des Français tandis qu’ils célèbrent la vie et les tribulations de cet homme étonnant. Cette pièce de théâtre de marionnettes divertissante s’adresse aux visiteurs de tous les âges et relate les exploits de David Thompson, commerçant de fourrures, cartographe, arpenteur et explorateur.
Présentation de la Confluence Heritage Society (en anglaid seulement)

De la mi-mai à la fin juin – les fins de semaine à 14 h
En juillet et en août – tous les jours à 14 h

Veuillez communiquer avec la Confluence Heritage Society (en anglaid seulement) au 403.845.6680 pour obtenir des précisions.


Programmes scolaires

Les thèmes de l’intégrité commémorative présentés dans le cadre des programmes scolaires de Rocky Mountain House se rapportent directement au programme d’études sociales du ministère de l’Éducation de l’Alberta. Certains programmes sont également offerts en français ou à l’extérieur. Communiquez avec nous en composant le 403.845.2412 ou en écrivant à pour faire une réservation ou pour obtenir la liste détaillée des liens avec le programme d’études.

David Thompson – Défi aux explorateurs

[7e et 8e année / Durée : 3 heures / Un interprète pour un maximum de 20 élèves]
Ce programme fait revivre l’histoire en posant un défi aux explorateurs d’aujourd’hui, à la manière du jeu des survivants. Dirigés par un « entraîneur », les élèves forment une équipe pour leur première journée d’entraînement. Le but de l’équipe est de réussir les huit épreuves. Toutes les épreuves ont été préparées à partir des défis qu’a dû relever David Thompson, il y a 200 ans. La collaboration, le travail d’équipe et l’esprit de corps sont essentiels au succès de l’équipe!

Rivalité

[4e et 5e année / Durée : 2,5 heures / 2 à 5 interprètes; maximum de 25 élèves par interprète]
Les élèves recréent l’histoire et deviennent des membres de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson, de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest ou d’un groupe de commerçants autochtones. En se prêtant à des jeux de rôles, en se servant d’objets historiques et en se rendant sur des sites archéologiques, les élèves étudient à fond le patrimoine culturel, la langue et les perspectives de leur groupe. Les interactions entre les groupes sur le sentier donnent lieu à une rivalité, et les interprètes transmettent aux élèves les connaissances et les techniques dont ils ont besoin pour diriger le programme en vue de la cérémonie finale de troc. Une surprise les attend à la fin! En raison d’un changement radical qui touche toutes les parties, chacun des groupes doit décider de la marche à suivre – Vont-ils commercer ou non?

Partenaires en péril

[À partir de la 4e année / Durée : 2 heures / Un interprète pour un maximum de 25 élèves]
Un guide métis aux allures spectrales est convaincu que les élèves sont en fait des voyageurs de la brigade du Columbia et les mène dans une course effrénée. Pendant cette activité, fondée sur le journal historique d’Alexander Henry le Jeune durant le blocus des Piikanis à Rocky Mountain House en 1810, les élèves tentent d’élucider le mystère qui entoure la disparition de David Thompson. Les élèves se servent d’un compas pour s’orienter et tracer des cartes du paysage et des sentiers qu’ils croisent durant leur quête.

Échos du commerce de fourrures

[1re et 2e année / Durée : de 1,5 à 2 heures / Un interprète pour un maximum de 20 élèves]
Les élèves font la connaissance des gens et des endroits d’il y a deux siècles à Rocky Mountain House grâce aux voix d’une communauté de Piikanis. Ce programme jette la lumière sur la diversité culturelle, la géographie humaine et la géographie physique pendant les 76 ans qu’a duré la traite des fourrures à Rocky Mountain House. On fait appel à des moyens de communication historiques, en mettant l’accent sur les traditions orales. À la fin du programme, les élèves font du troc pour obtenir une trousse de fabrication d’un bracelet de perles de la « roue médicinale ».

Programme scolaire

Réservez bien à l'avance pour éviter toute déception!


Sentiers d'interprétation

Explorez nos deux sentiers d'interprétation.

  • Le sentier des Cheminées traverse les vestiges archéologiques des deux forts les plus récents de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson. Vous y verrez les célèbres cheminées qui datent du fort des années 1868-1875 et du fort des années 1835-1861. Y sont venus notamment Paul Kane et d’autres personnages historiques importants.
    (Renseignements sur le sentier : 0,9 km aller-retour, randonnée facile, accessible en fauteuil roulant, postes d’écoute)
  • Le sentier David Thompson serpente le long de la rivière Saskatchewan Nord et mène à l’emplacement des plus vieux forts. Le fort de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest, appelé Rocky Mountain House, fut bâti le premier, soit en 1799. Peu de temps après, soit deux jours plus tard seulement, la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson fit construire Acton House. Les deux compagnies s’amalgamèrent en 1821 sous le nom de Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson, mais conservèrent le nom du fort de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest, Rocky Mountain House. Apportez votre repas et faites un pique-nique dans un tipi le long du sentier.
    (Renseignements sur le sentier : 3,2 km aller-retour, difficulté moyenne, en partie accessible en fauteuil roulant, postes d’écoute, toilettes extérieures)
Poste d'écoute en bordure du sentier d'interprétation Poste d'écoute en bordure du sentier d'interprétation.
Marg French


Expositions à l'intérieur

Commencez votre visite au Centre d’accueil et laissez notre personnel amical vous aider à planifier votre journée. Dans le Centre d’accueil, notre nouvelle galerie d’exposition contient des artéfacts originaux recueillis sur les lieux des forts, une réplique d’une salle de commerce où vous pouvez enfiler des costumes d’époque et des expositions interactives sur l’époque de la traite des fourrures à Rocky Mountain House.


Expositions sur le site

Barge d'York

Embarquez-vous dans la barge d'York et préparez-vous à traverser 4 provinces pour vous rendre jusqu'à la baie d'Hudson. Construites ici même à Rocky Mountain House, ces barges descendaient la rivière, chargées de fourrures et de marchandise destinées pour l'Angleterre.

Charrette de la rivière Rouge

Le grincement des roues des charrettes de la rivière Rouge se faisait entendre ici dans la région. Elles constituaient le principal moyen de transport pour les Métis.

Exposition sur la course en canot de 1967

Un groupe d'hommes hardis d'à travers le Canada a participé à une course de 5000 km en canot, de Rocky Mountain House à Montréal. Cette course soulignait le centenaire du Canada en 1967 et la vie des voyageurs. Venez voir le canot de course de l'Alberta au lieu historique.


Vidéos

Sur demande, on peut visionner plusieurs vidéos dans la salle de théâtre.

Paul Kane chez les Amérindiens

(Office national du film du Canada, 1964, 20 min)
Ce film décrit la vie sur la route fluviale de la traite des fourrures depuis Montréal jusqu'aux Rocheuses au début du XIXe siècle. La bande sonore comporte des chansons exécutées par un choeur d'hommes.

Les voyageurs

(Office national du film du Canada. 1972, 14 min)
Les écrits et les tableaux de l'artiste Paul Kane permettent de reconstituer son séjour parmi les Autochtones au milieu du XIXe siècle.