Common menu bar links

Bar U Ranch News

1812 On Tour

June 2014

1812 on tour
1812 On Tour at the Tall Ships Festival in Windsor, Ontario, Canada 2013 © Parks Canada

1812 On Tour, a travelling experience that brings to life the stories of a war that helped define Canada as a nation, will be making a stop at Bar U Ranch National Historic Site, from June 27 to June 29, 2014.

The tour features larger than life inflatable numbers, and a variety of marquee tents that highlight four heroes of the War of 1812 and the most important landscapes, forts and buildings that make up the more than 20 Parks Canada War of 1812 national historic sites in Central and Eastern Canada.

Come play period games, get a temporary tattoo, or be part of our Xplorers program. 1812 On Tour has something for everyone!

Street View for Google Maps

June 2014

One of Google's Street View operators
One of Google's Street View operators © Parks Canada

The unique panoramic lens of Google Street View was at the Bar U Ranch National Historic Site as part of a two-year collaboration between Parks Canada and Google to document many of Canada's iconic national heritage places.

Explore Canada's natural and historic treasures with Street View for Google Maps

The Bar U on Tour

May 2014

Parka learning how to rope at the Cave and Basin National Historic Site
Parka learning how to rope at the Cave and Basin National Historic Site © Parks Canada

We helped Cave and Basin National Historic Site in Banff National Park kick off the summer with some campfire cookery and a chance to learn how to rope.

They Also Served

March 2014

Canadian troops in WW1
Canadian troops in WW1
 © Simon Butler

Historically, the main focus on the Bar U Ranch was raising beef, but the horses were renowned. They were sold as stock horses after intensive on-the-job training or for heavy jobs. The Ranch provided purebred draft horse bloodlines from the largest Percheron operation of its kind in the world.

The year 2014 also marks the centennial of the start of First World War, which changed the face of the globe and life as it was known in southern Alberta. Whether working for the War effort or on the front lines, the life expectancy of a horse was measured in days.

The Bar U Ranch National Historic Site is dedicating this season to the animals that served with their masters no matter what nationality.

Nouvelles du Ranch Bar U

1812 en tournée

Juin 2014

1812 en tournée
1812 En Tournée au festival des Grands voiliers à Windsor, en Ontario, Canada, 2013 © Parcs Canada

Expérience itinérante faisant revivre les histoires d’une guerre qui a contribué à définir le Canada comme nation, « 1812 En Tournée » fera halte à lieu historique national du Ranch Bar U du 27 juin au 29 juin.

L’expérience « 1812 En Tournée » présente des chiffres pneumatiques plus grands que nature et un ensemble de grandes tentes qui mettent en vedette quatre héros de la guerre de 1812 ainsi que les paysages, les forts et les bâtiments les plus importants qui font partie des quelque 20 lieux historiques nationaux de Parcs Canada dans le centre et l’Est du Canada qui sont liés à la guerre de 1812.

Venez jouer à des jeux d’époque, vous faire appliquer un tatouage temporaire ou participer à notre programme Xplorateurs; « 1812 En Tournée » a de tout pour tous les goûts!

Street View de Google Maps

Juin 2014

L'un des opérateurs du système de prise de vues Street View Trekker de Google
L'un des opérateurs du système de prise de vues Street View Trekker de Google
© Parcs Canada

L’objectif panoramique unique de Google Street View a été aperçu au lieu historique national du Ranch-Bar U en juin dans le cadre d’une collaboration de deux ans entre Parcs Canada et Google visant à répertorier un grand nombre des lieux nationaux historiques emblématiques du Canada.

Explorer les trésors naturels et historiques du Canada avec l'application Street View de Google Maps

Visite du Bar U

Mai 2104

Parka apprend à lancer du lasso au lieu historique national Cave and Basin
Parka apprend à lancer du lasso au lieu historique national Cave and Basin © Parcs Canada

Nous avons aidé le lieu historique national Cave and Basin dans le parc national Banff à donner le coup d’envoi à l’été avec un feu de camp, un bon repas et des leçons de lancer du lasso.

Ils ont également servi

Mars 2014

Soldats canadiens de la Première Guerre mondiale
Soldats canadiens de la Première Guerre mondiale
 © Simon Butler

À l’époque, le mandat premier du ranch Bar U consistait à faire l’élevage des bovins, mais les chevaux du ranch avaient également leur renommée. Ils étaient vendus soit en tant que chevaux de cowboys après un entraînement et des travaux rigoureux, soit à titre de chevaux de trait en raison de leur lignée pur-sang provenant de la plus grande exploitation de Percherons du genre au monde.

L’année 2014 marque également le centenaire du début de la Première Guerre mondiale qui, après quatre années terribles, a changé le visage de la planète et de la vie telle qu’elle était dans le sud de l’Alberta.

Cette saison-ci, le lieu historique national du Ranch-Bar U se consacre aux animaux qui ont servi leur maître, sans égard à leur nationalité, que ce soit pour l’effort de guerre ou sur le front, où l’espérance de vie d’un cheval se mesurait en question de jours.