Common menu bar links

Bar U Ranch National Historic Site of Canada

History Overview

Bar U Ranch
Bar U Ranch
© Parks Canada

Nestled between the rolling Porcupine Hills and the towering Rocky Mountains, surrounded by the prairie landscape and shaped by Chinook winds, the Bar U Ranch National Historic Site is one of the first and most enduring large corporate ranches of the West. Steeped in history, the Bar U commemorates the history and importance of the ranching industry in Canada.

The Bar U Ranch was one of a small group of very large corporate ranches in western Canada, including the Cochrane, the Oxley, the Walrond and the Quorn. From 1882 to 1950, the Bar U was one of the foremost ranching operations in Canada.

The key personalities associated with the Bar U - Fred Stimson, George Lane and Patrick Burns - were each in their day, leaders in ranching. They involved the Bar U Ranch in many of the major issues which shaped the industry. At the practical level, the Bar U was one of the best managed of the large ranches and served as a training ground for many cattlemen.

Cattle grazing at the Bar U Ranch
Bar U Ranch Cattle Herd
© Parks Canada

From 1881 to 1902, Fred Stimson and the North West Cattle Company practised open range ranching. Infrastructure at the ranch headquarters was kept to a minimum. This era opened with a sparse arrangement of buildings confined to the central and western end of the site. Stimson gradually added buildings, corrals and fences as he adapted to changing circumstances.

Under George Lane and his partners (1902-25), the Bar U achieved international repute as a centre of breeding excellence for cattle and purebred Percheron horses. The ranch was the linchpin of a business empire which included a number of ranches in the shortgrass prairie as well as, farms, meat packing factories and flour mills.

Historic picture of cattle being branded at the Bar U Ranch
Cattle branding the 'cowboy way'.
© Parks Canada

Developments on the site reflected this diversification and intensification. New barns, corral and feed preparation facilities accommodated the Percherons, while new residential buildings housed more staff.

During the Burns era (1927-50), the Bar U was part of a multi-ranch cattle operation. An experienced and resilient owner, Burns piloted his ranches through the depression, cutting back operating expenditures and investing in long-term improvements. Much of the ranch's infrastructure became redundant as he scaled down the Percheron operation. Several buildings were adapted to store grain, which was grown in huge quantities during the Second World War. The Bar U remained one of the largest ranches in the country until 1950, after which date the executors of the Burns estate sold land to other ranchers.

A Bar U Ranch cowboy on his horse
Bar U cowboy
© Parks Canada

While most of the large ranches of the 1880s went out of business in the early 20th century, the Bar U has survived to the present day. This long history, populated along the way by colourful characters like former slave John Ware and the outlaw The Sundance Kid, and the structures from the late 19th and early 20th centuries provide a direct link with the early years of ranching in Alberta. Together they make the Bar U unique among historic ranches and provide an excellent opportunity to commemorate the ranching industry.

Lieu historique national du Canada du Ranch-Bar U

Un aperçu de l'histoire

Un photo historique du ranch-Bar U
Ranch-Bar U
© Parcs Canada

Sis entre les collines Porcupine et les majestueuses Rocheuses, en plein coeur de la prairie balayee par les chinooks, le Bar U est l'un des premier grands ranchs commerciaux de l'Ouest canadien et l'un de ceux qui sont demeures en exploitation les plus longtemps. Solidement ancre dans notre passe collectif, le lieu historique national du Ranch Bar U raconte l'histoire et l'importance de l'industrie de l'élevage au Canada.

Le ranch Bar U faisait partie d'un petit groupe de ranchs très vastes de l'Ouest du Canada, dont les ranchs Cochrane, Oxley, Walrond et Quorn. De 1882 à 1950, le ranch Bar U a été l'une des principales entreprises d'élevage de bestiaux au Canada.

Bétail en train de brouter au Ranch-Bar U
Troupeau de bétail du Ranch-Bar U
© Parcs Canada

Les grands noms du ranch Bar U, Fred Stimson, George Lane et Patrick Burns, ont été, chacun à son époque, des figures de proue de l'industrie de l'élevage. Sous leur gouverne, le ranch Bar U a pris une part active dans bon nombre des grands dossiers qui ont façonné l'industrie de l'élevage. En pratique, le ranch Bar U était l'un des grands ranchs les mieux gérés, et beaucoup d'éleveurs de bétail y ont fait leurs premières armes.

De 1881 à 1902, Fred Stimson et la North West Cattle Company pratiquaient l'élevage en pâturages libres, l'infrastructure de gestion étant réduite au minimum. Au début de cette période, on trouvait quelques bâtiments dispersés au centre et à l'extrémité ouest de la propriété. Stimson y ajouta progressivement des bâtiments, des corrals et des clôtures pour adapter le ranch aux conditions changeantes.

Photographie historique du bétail se faisant marquer au Ranch-Bar U
Marquage du bétail 'à la façon des cow-boys'
© Parcs Canada

Sous George Lane et ses associés (de 1902 à 1925), le ranch Bar U a acquis une renommée internationale comme centre de reproduction par excellence pour les bovins et les chevaux percherons de race pure. Le ranch constituait le pivot d'un empire commercial qui comprenait un certain nombre de ranchs exploitant des prairies de graminées courtes, des fermes, des usines d'emballage de viande et des moulins à farine.

Les aménagements effectués sur la propriété correspondaient à la diversification et à l'intensification des activités. Des granges, des corrals et des bâtiments pour la préparation des fourrages ont été installés pour les besoins des percherons, tandis que l'on construisait d'autres résidences pour le nouveau personnel.

Un cow-boy du Ranch-Bar U sur son cheval.
Cow-boy du Ranch-Bar U
© Parcs Canada

Au cours de la période de gestion assumée par M. Burns (de 1927 à 1950), le ranch Bar U faisait partie d'une entreprise englobant de nombreux ranchs. Ces ranchs ont survécu à la crise économique grâce à l'expérience et à la souplesse de leur propriétaire, qui diminua les dépenses d'exploitation tout en investissant dans des améliorations à long terme. Une grande partie de l'infrastructure du ranch est devenue inutile lorsqu'ont été réduites les activités relatives aux percherons. Plusieurs bâtiments ont été adaptés pour l'entreposage du grain que l'on cultivait en quantités énormes pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Le ranch Bar U est resté l'un des plus grands au pays, jusqu'à ce que les exécuteurs testamentaires de M. Burns vendent les terres à d'autres entreprises d'élevage en 1950.

Contrairement à la plupart des grands ranchs des années 1880, qui ont cessé leurs activités au début du siècle, le ranch Bar U a maintenu ses activités d'élevage jusqu'à aujourd'hui. Les bâtiments environnants, datant de la fin du XIXe siècle au début du XXesiècle, quant à eux, nous transportent directement aux premiers jours de l'industrie de l'élevage en Alberta. L'histoire du ranch est parsemée de personnages colorés comme John Ware, un ancien esclave et le Sundance Kid, un hors-la-loi. Ces caractéristiques confèrent au ranch Bar U une place unique parmi les ranchs historiques et offrent une excellente occasion de commémorer l'industrie de l'elevate de bestiaux.