Common menu bar links

Experiences to Discover

Visitor Centre

Visitor Centre
© Parks Canada

The ranch-house style visitor centre is full of information, gift ideas and a full service restaurant.

Roundup Camp

Roundup Camp
© Parks Canada

Tucked under the shade of the cottonwood trees is the Roundup Camp. Enjoy some bannock and cowboy coffee made over the roaring campfire. Rest on a tree stump and listen to stories of ranch life.

Horse-Drawn Wagon Ride

Percheron Horses
© Parks Canada

Did you know that the Bar U Ranch was renowned as the largest Percheron breeding operation in the world in the early 1900s? Get a personal introduction to these magnificent creatures - the "gentle giants of ranching" - by taking a horse-drawn wagon ride through the historic site and hearing the stories of George Lane and his amazing herd of Percheron draft horses.

Roping

Roping
© Parks Canada

Ever tried roping a run-away steer? Here is your chance to master the skill of looping a rope over the head of a replica steer. Standing still isn’t so hard, but just imagine doing it sitting in the saddle on a galloping horse!

Historical Ranch Buildings

Ranch Buildings
© Parks Canada

The Bar U has the largest collection of historical ranch buildings in Canada and many of them are operational. Watch the blacksmith prepare horseshoes or the saddle-maker repair a rein; pop into the stables, the post office and of course the cookhouse and smell fresh baking;. As you visit, you'll hear the stories of the men and the women who made the Bar U famous.

Cookhouse

Cookhouse
© Parks Canada

Follow your nose into “The Belly of the Bar U” and watch the cook whip up hearty meals for the cowhands.

Meet Our Interpreters

Bar U Cowboy
© Parks Canada

Hear about the characters that made this ranch famous including the ranchers, poets, politicians, royalty and even outlaws including the infamous Sundance Kid. Meet the people of the west; cowboys, saddle makers, blacksmiths and camp cooks. Hear cowboy poetry, songs and legends around the campfire.

Expériences à votre portée

Centre d'accueil

Centre d'accueil
© Parcs Canada

Au centre d’accueil de style maison de ranch, vous trouverez renseignements, idées cadeaux et restaurant avec service complet.

Le camp de rassemblement

Le camp de rassemblement
© Parcs Canada

À l’ombre des peupliers, vous trouverez le camp de rassemblement. Dégustez bannique et café préparés sur le feu ardent du camp. Reposez-vous sur un tronc d’arbre à la manière d’un cow-boy et écoutez les histoires de la vie dans un ranch.

Promenade en chariot tiré par des chevaux

Les percherons
© Parcs Canada

Saviez-vous que, dans les années 1900, le lieu historique national du Ranch-Bar U avait la réputation d’être le plus grand centre de reproduction de Percherons au monde? Apprenez à connaître ces magnifiques chevaux de trait. Faites le tour du lieu dans un chariot attelé et écoutez les histoires de George Lane et de son incroyable troupeau de Percherons.

Tir du lasso

Tir du lasso
© Parcs Canada

Avez-vous déjà essayé d’attraper au lasso un bœuf en cavale ? Tentez l’expérience avec une réplique de bœuf. Debout, sans bouger, ce n’est pas trop difficile. Mais imaginez la manœuvre sur la selle d’un cheval galopant.

D’édifices de ranch historiques

D’édifices de ranch historiques
© Parcs Canada

Le ranch Bar U possède le plus grand nombre d’édifices de ranch historiques au Canada et bon nombre d’entre eux sont opérationnels. Regardez le forgeron façonner des fers à cheval ou le fabricant de selles réparer des rênes. Rendez-vous dans les cuisines du ranch Bar U et assistez à la préparation de repas copieux pour les travailleurs.

Visitez la cuisine

La cuisine
© Parcs Canada

Rendez-vous dans les cuisines du ranch Bar U et assistez à la préparation de repas copieux pour les travailleurs.

Rencontrez nos interprètes

Un cowboy au ranch Bar U
© Parcs Canada

Apprenez-en davantage sur les travailleurs, les poètes, les politiciens, les rois et même les hors-la-loi comme Sundance Kid qui ont rendu ce ranch célèbre. Rencontrez les habitants de l’Ouest : cow-boys, fabricants de selles, forgerons et cuisiniers du camp. Écoutez des poèmes, des chansons et des légendes de cow-boys autour d’un feu de camp.