Common menu bar links

Banff Park Museum National Historic Site of Canada

Site Management

Bulletins

National Historic Sites of the Mountain Parks

Mountain Parks National Historic Sites of Canada Management Plans (PDF, 1.6 mb)

The Banff Park Museum is a national historic site because the museum's original exhibit collection reflect and commemorate an early approach to the interpretation of natural history in Canada. Also, the architectural style and detailing of the 1903 log building are characteristic examples of early federal buildings in the Park.

The National Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada

The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada was created in 1919 as a response to growing public concern with heritage preservation. In 1953, the Historic Sites and Monuments Act established the Board by statute, enlarged it, and gave it increased resources.

The board advises the Minister of Canadian Heritage on the commemoration of those persons, events, sites, structures, and places that represent nationally significant aspects of Canadian History.

The National Historic Sites Policy sets out the following objectives:

-To foster knowledge and appreciation of Canada's past through a national program of historical commemoration.

-To ensure the commemorative integrity of national historic sites administered by Parks Canada by protecting and presenting them for the benefit, education and enjoyment of this and future generations, in a manner that respects the significant and irreplaceable legacy represented by these places and their associated resources.

The Federal Heritage Buildings

The Minister of Canadian Heritage is responsible for the Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office or FHBRO. FHBRO assists government departments in the implementation of the Federal Buildings Policy.

The Federal Government of Canada owns many buildings that possess a special heritage character. This character includes the distinct characteristics that give buildings their importance, their quality, style or uniqueness. For example the building may have historical associations, architectural significance, environmental importance and continuity of use.

Government buildings that are 40 years old or older for which alteration, demolition, or disposal is planned must be identified and referred to the Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office for evaluation in order to determine if the buildings have heritage value. FHBRO will designate the building as either Classified, Recognized or having no heritage character. Classified is the higher designation.

FHBRO promotes the protection of the heritage character of designated federal buildings in the interest of present and future generations by promoting the long-term use of these buildings in ways that preserve their heritage character.

The Banff Park Museum National Historic Site of Canada plaque states:

Opened in 1895, the Banff Park Museum was moved into this building in 1903. Its cross-log motif exemplifies an architectural style common in the town at that time. Norman Bethune Sanson, the museum's curator from 1896 to 1932, energetically developed the collections, initially put together by the Geological Survey of Canada. Throughout its early years the museum dealt with natural and human history but by the late 1950's was limited to natural history. While this building was refurbished in 1985, the exhibit reflects museum interpretation current around 1914.

Lieu historique national du Canada du Musée-du-Parc-Banff

Gestion du lieu historique

Mise à jour

Lieux historiques nationaux des parcs des montagnes

Plans directeurs des lieux historiques nationaux du Canada des parcs des Rocheuses (PDF, 1,6 mo)

Le musée du parc Banff est un lieu historique national parce que sa collection originale reflète et commémore les débuts de l'interprétation de l'histoire naturelle au Canada. En outre, le style et les motifs architecturaux de la construction en pièce sur pièce de 1903 sont représentatifs des premiers bâtiments fédéraux dans le parc.

La Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada

La Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada a été créée en 1919, en réponse à l'inquiétude croissante du public concernant la préservation du patrimoine. En 1953, la Loi sur les lieux et monuments historiques faisait de la Commission un organisme officiel, élargissait son mandat et lui octroyait plus de ressources.

La Commission conseille le ministre du Patrimoine canadien sur la commémoration de personnes, d'événements, de lieux, de bâtiments et d'endroits jugés d'importance nationale.

La politique sur les lieux historiques nationaux énonce les objectifs suivants :- Favoriser la connaissance et l'appréciation de l'histoire du Canada grâce à un programme national de commémoration historique.

- Assurer l'intégrité commémorative des lieux historiques nationaux administrés par Parcs Canada et à cette fin, les protéger et les mettre en valeur pour le bénéfice, l'éducation et la jouissance des générations actuelles et futures, avec tous les égards que mérite l'héritage précieux et irremplaçable que représentent ces lieux et leurs ressources.

Les édifices fédéraux à valeur patrimoniale

Le ministre du Patrimoine canadien est responsable du Bureau d'examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine (BEÉFP). Le BEÉFP aide les ministères à mettre en application la Politique sur les édifices fédéraux du patrimoine.

Le gouvernement du Canada est propriétaire de nombreux édifices à valeur patrimoniale, c'est-à-dire ayant des caractéristiques distinctes qui leur confèrent leurs qualités, leur style, leur spécificité et leur importance. Par exemple, un édifice peut avoir un lien avec l'histoire, être important sur le plan architectural ou environnemental, et pouvoir être utilisé à long terme.

Les édifices fédéraux de 40 ans ou plus dont l'aliénation, la démolition ou la modification est prévue doivent être identifiés et signalés au Bureau d'examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine, pour évaluation de leur valeur patrimoniale. Le BEÉFP les désigne alors édifices « classés », « reconnus » ou sans valeur patrimoniale. La cote « classé » est la désignation la plus élevée.

Le BEÉFP encourage la protection du caractère patrimonial des édifices fédéraux désignés dans l'intérêt des générations actuelles et futures, en recommandant leur utilisation à long terme selon des pratiques qui permettent de préserver leur valeur patrimoniale.

Citation sur la plaque du lieu historique national du Canada du Musée-du-Parc-Banff :

"Ouvert en 1895, le musée fut réinstallé dans cet édifice en 1903. Son ornementation en rondins croisés est typique de l'architecture en vogue à Banff à l'époque. Norman Bethune Sanson, conservateur du musée de 1896 à 1932, s'appliqua avec énergie à développer ses premières collections, constituées par la Commission géologique du Canada. Dédié à l'origine à l'histoire naturelle et à l'histoire de l'homme, le musée se limite, depuis la fin des années 1950, à l'histoire naturelle. Il fut rénové en 1985. Sa collection reflète toutefois la conception muséologique qui avait cours vers 1914."