Common menu bar links

Banff Park Museum National Historic Site

Activities



Western Canada’s oldest natural history museum, Banff Park Museum offers visitors a chance to browse some 5,000 vintage specimens – from stuffed bears to minerals and plants. A visit to the “University of the Hills” is a great way to get an up-close look at Banff wildlife and see how natural history was interpreted a century ago. Plenty of interactive and kids’ activities – including the Xplorers Club.


Featured Activities

Explore 5,000 Vintage Specimens
Nicknamed the “University of the Hills,” the historic Banff Park Museum houses more than 5,000 vintage specimens – from stuffed bears to minerals – collected mainly during the early 1900s from around Banff National Park.  

 

 

The Xplorers Club and Other Kid-Friendly Fun at the Banff Park Museum
With its lifelike stuffed animals and hands-on natural history exhibits, the Banff Park Museum is a favourite among kids. Youngsters can even join the Xplorers Club, completing a checklist of fun activities to earn a free souvenir.  

 

 


Other Activities

Ever stare down a grizzly bear? Taste the wild by exploring the oldest natural history museum in Western Canada. This turn-of-the-century taxidermy collection continues to thrill visitors to Banff National Park curious about the mammals, birds, insects and fish found in the Canadian Rockies. Relax and curl up with a book in the Reading Room of this architectural showpiece or view wildlife videos in the interactive Discovery Room.

Suggested length of visit: 45 minutes
Location: 91 Banff Avenue, next to the Bow River Bridge & Central Park, Banff, Alberta
For up-to-date information call (403) 762-1558
Other visitor services: Information/Interpretive attendants on duty; washrooms in Central Park; ample bus and car parking nearby
Peak seasons : Summer

Parks Canada Heritage Gourmet App - A Curious Flapjack

Bring Canada's national historic sites and the best of Canadian heritage cooking into your home with the Parks Canada Heritage Gourmet food app. Embark on a culinary journey through Canada’s rich history and across Canada’s vast territory by trying out the recipes – which have been updated for modern cooks - and reading the stories in this app.

Lieu historique national du Musée-du-Parc-Banff

Activités



Au musée du parc Banff, le plus vieux musée d’histoire naturelle de l’Ouest canadien, vous contemplerez plus de 5000 spécimens d’époque. Qu’il s’agisse d’ours empaillés, de minéraux ou de plantes, cette visite à « l’université des collines » se révèle un excellent moyen de voir de près la faune de Banff. Découvrez comment était interprétée l’histoire naturelle, il y a 100 ans. Faites-y un tour en famille, puisque les enfants pourront participer à de nombreuses activités interactives et éducatives, y compris celles du Club des Xplorateurs.


Activités en vedette

Examinez plus de 5000 spécimens d’époque
Surnommé « l’université des collines », le musée du parc Banff vous propose de découvrir plus de 5000 spécimens d’époque – des ours empaillés aux minéraux – recueillis principalement au début des années 1900 dans l’ensemble du parc national Banff.

Joignez le Club des Xplorateurs et participez aux autres activités amusantes pour les enfants au musée du parc Banff
Vos enfants adoreront voir de véritables animaux empaillés et découvrir les expositions sur l’histoire naturelle. Ils pourront aussi s’inscrire au Club des Xplorateurs et participer à des activités amusantes qui leur rapporteront un souvenir gratuit.

 


Activités

Avez-vous déjà regardé un grizzly droit dans les yeux? Venez goûter au milieu sauvage en explorant le plus ancien musée d'histoire naturelle de l'Ouest du Canada. Sa collection d'animaux naturalisés qui date du début du siècle continue de fasciner les visiteurs du parc national Banff désireux d'en apprendre davantage au sujet des mammifères, des oiseaux, des poissons et des insectes des Rocheuses canadiennes. Vous pouvez vous installer confortablement avec un livre dans la salle de lecture de cette petite merveille architecturale, ou visionner l'une des vidéos sur la faune dans la salle de découvertes.

Temps suggéré pour la visite : 45 minutes
Adresse : 91, avenue Banff, à côté du pont de la rivière Bow et du parc Central, Banff, Alberta
Pour de l'information à jour, appeler au (403) 762-1558
Autres services aux visiteurs : préposés à l'information/interprétation; toilettes publiques dans le parc Central; ample stationnement pour autocars et voitures à proximité.
Hautes saisons: été

Application de Parcs Canada : Patrimoine gourmand - Une galette curieuse

Découvrez les lieux historiques nationaux du Canada de même que les meilleures recettes du patrimoine canadien grâce à l’application de Parcs Canada sur les recettes du patrimoine. Vivez une véritable aventure culinaire et apprenez en davantage au sujet de la grande histoire et du vaste territoire du pays en préparant les recettes – adaptées à notre cuisine contemporaine – et en lisant les histoires que présente l’application.