Common menu bar links

Pingo Canadian Landmark

Park Management

Management

Top of Ibyuk Pingo
Top of Ibyuk Pingo
© Parks Canada / Ian K. MacNeil

In 1978, Pingo Canadian Landmark was identified as a Natural Site of Canadian Significance and was proposed for official status under the National Landmark Program. National Landmarks were originally envisioned to protect specific natural features considered to be outstanding, exceptional, unique, or rare to this country. These natural features would typically be isolated entities and of scientific interest.

Although the program was never implemented, the proposed landmark was included in the Western Arctic (Inuvialuit) Claims Settlement Act, also known as the Inuvialuit Final Agreement (IFA). The IFA stipulated that Pingo Canadian Landmark was to be managed under the National Parks Act in consultation with the Inuvialuit Land Administration and the people of Tuktoyaktuk as a joint management regime (Section 7(73)).

Since the early 1990's, Parks Canada and the Inuvialuit have been working to fulfill the requirement of the IFA, first through the work of the Pingo Joint Management Committee and, since 1998, through the activities of the Pingo Working Group. Both groups have worked towards the development of Pingo Canadian Landmark. The current Pingo Working Group includes members from the Tuktoyaktuk Hunters and Trappers Committee, Tuktoyaktuk Community Corporation, Inuvialuit Land Administration, Hamlet of Tuktoyaktuk, and Parks Canada. Pingo Canadian Landmark is cooperatively managed by Parks Canada and the above organizations.

Le site canadien des pingos

Gestion du parc

Gestion

Sommet de Ibyuk Pingo
Sommet de Ibyuk Pingo
© Parcs Canada / Ian K. MacNeil

Le site canadien des pingos a été défini en 1978 comme un site naturel d'importance nationale et a été proposé pour le programme des formations naturelles. Celles-ci avaient pour but à l'origine de protéger des caractéristiques naturelles particulières considérées comme remarquables, exceptionnelles, particulières ou rares au pays. Elles constituaient des entités isolées d'intérêt scientifique.

Bien que le programme n'ait jamais été mis en oeuvre, le site proposé a été inclus dans la Loi sur le règlement des revendications territoriales des Inuvialuit de la région ouest de l'Arctique, ou Convention définitive des Inuvialuit. La Convention stipulait que le site canadien des pingos devait être géré en vertu de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada en consultation avec la Commission inuvialuit d'administration des terres et les gens de Tuktoyaktuk, sous un régime de gestion conjointe (article 7(73)).

Depuis le début des années 1990, Parcs Canada et les Inuvialuit collaborent en vue de répondre aux exigences de la Convention définitive des Inuvialuit, tout d'abord par l'entremise du Comité de gestion conjointe des pingos et, depuis 1998, par l'intermédiaire des activités du Groupe de travail des pingos. Les deux groupes travaillent à la mise en valeur du site canadien des pingos. Le Groupe de travail des pingos actuel comprend des membres du Comité des chasseurs et des trappeurs de Tuktoyaktuk, de la Corporation communautaire de Tuktoyaktuk, de la Commission inuvialuit d'administration des terres, du Hameau de Tuktoyaktuk et de Parcs Canada. Le site canadien des pingos est géré de façon coopérative par Parcs Canada et ces organisations.