Common menu bar links

Pingo Canadian Landmark

Natural Environment

Geography

Pingos and wetlands
Pingos and wetlands
© Parks Canada / Hillarie Zimmermann

The Tuktoyaktuk Peninsula represents one of the most unusual landscapes in the Northwest Territories and Canada. In this region, 1350 conical hills called pingos dot the lake-strewn tundra like miniature volcanoes. Striking features on the otherwise relatively flat landscape, these ice-cored hills are unique to permafrost environments. Approximately one quarter of the world's pingos are concentrated in the Tuktoyaktuk Peninsula area.

Pingo Canadian Landmark protects eight pingos in a 16 square kilometer (4,053 acre) area near the community of Tuktoyaktuk. Two pingos, Ibyuk and Split, dominate the skyline. Reaching the height of a 16 storey office tower (49 meters/160 feet), Ibyuk is the tallest pingo in Canada and the second tallest in the world. Ibyuk Pingo is growing at a rate of approximately two centimeters (3/4 inch) per year and is at least 1,000 years old. Other pingos in the landmark range in height from 5 - 36 meters (16-120 feet) and represent various stages of pingo development.

Pingo Canadian Landmark also contains many other features typical of permafrost areas. One of Canada's best examples of exposed massive ground ice is presently found along the coastal bluffs northeast of Peninsula Point. Other permafrost features, such as ice wedges and tundra polygons, are common throughout the area.

Permafrost

Permafrost is ground that remains at or below 0 °C (32 °F) for two or more years. As the climate becomes colder, the thickness and area of permafrost increases. Average annual temperatures of -11 °C (10.4 °F), and colder conditions during the glacial periods, have helped create a thick layer of permafrost in the region. In parts of the Mackenzie delta area, it penetrates over half a kilometer (1,640 feet) into the ground and is over 50,000 years old.

Because the ground temperature near the surface of permafrost terrain rises above freezing in summer, a seasonally-thawed "active layer" forms above the permafrost . The active layer starts to thaw once the snow has melted in June, and is completely frozen again by the end of November. The roots of most plants and the burrows of animals are confined to the active layer.

Beds of Massive Ice

Exposed ground ice at Peninsula Point
Exposed ground ice at Peninsula Point
© Parks Canada / Elisa Hart, 2000

Peninsula Point in Pingo Canadian Landmark is one of the best places in Canada to see an exposed bed of massive ice. Here coastal erosion during storms has exposed part of a hillside, revealing a half-kilometer long wall of tundra-topped ice, 10 meters (33 feet) tall in places.

Massive ice, a lens of frozen groundwater, is found in the upper layers of permafrost. Common throughout the region and reaching over 40 meters (132 feet) in thickness, beds of massive ice, like pingos, usually develop during the growth of permafrost and may be thousands of years old.

At Peninsula Point, the massive ice formed at the end of the last glaciation as permafrost developed, and was fed by water from the underlying unfrozen ground.

Ice Wedges and Tundra Polygons

Tundra polygons surround a small pingo
Pingo and tundra polygons
© Parks Canada / Elisa Hart, 2000

Ice wedges develop after the ground becomes so cold in winter that it contracts and cracks apart. In spring, snowmelt trickles into the narrow cracks and freezes. These thin, vertical sheets of ice may penetrate as much as five meters (16 feet) into the ground, creating a weak point that is likely to crack again when the temperatures drop in subsequent winters. Repeated cracking and filling with snowmelt leads to the formation of wedge-shaped, vertical masses of ice, in some cases up to three meters (10 feet) wide at the surface.

Several ice wedges connected together create a pattern in the ground called an ice-wedge polygon. Low-centred polygons develop as ice wedges grow, pushing the adjacent ground upward to form a raised rim. When several ice wedges join together, an irregular polygon is created. The raised rim of this polygon tends to trap water, creating a pattern of small wetlands. Low-centred polygons occur where ice wedges are actively growing. A high-centred polygon develops when plant material eventually fills the central wetland area of a low-centred polygon. The flow of water is reversed. Instead of pooling in the center of the polygon, water now runs off into the bordering troughs.

In summer, particularly during snow melt, water flowing along ice wedges can cause these frozen masses to melt and drain, or partially drain, one or two of the region's numerous lakes each year.

Pingos

Ibyuk Pingo
Ibyuk Pingo
© Parks Canada / James McCormick, 2002

The presence of numerous lakes in the Tuktoyaktuk Peninsula, most of which are too deep to freeze solid in winter, is key to the formation of the region's famous pingos.

In this area, lakes over two meters (7 feet) deep do not normally freeze solid in winter. The year-round presence of water at the lake bottom buffers the sandy lakebed from frigid winter temperatures. As a result, the permafrost beneath the lake thaws, creating a zone of unfrozen ground sandwiched between the lake and the deeper underlying permafrost.

A pingo forms when one of these lakes drains, or partially drains, and the water's warming effect is removed. Exposed to frigid winter temperatures, the waterlogged sand of the former lakebed freezes and its water expands. The soil's pores cannot hold this greater volume, so excess water is pushed downward ahead of the freezing ground. At the same time, the ground adjacent to the underlying permafrost begins to freeze, forcing excess water upward. With excess water forced into the still unfrozen ground, the water pressure in this part of the lakebed rises. To relieve the pressure, the surface deforms upwards. If there is an area in the lakebed that has relatively thin permafrost, and so is weaker than the surrounding ground, this permafrost is bent upwards, and is supported on a lens of water. A small, cone-shaped hill grows, and after a few years may be recognized as a pingo.

As the lakebed continues to freeze, the hill grows slowly in height, pushed upward by the pressurized water beneath. At the same time, the water in the lens freezes, creating a core of ice for the pingo. The pingo continues to grow while there is still unfrozen ground in the lakebed. Throughout its growth, the pingo is supported by the pressure in the water lens. In a process that may take hundreds of years, the lens of water gradually freezes solid and the pingo stops growing.

Once its ice core is exposed to the sun, the pingo begins to collapse
Collapsing pingo
© Parks Canada / 1988

When a pingo is growing, the ground stretches to accommodate its increasing surface area. The tundra splits apart in places, forming cracks - usually along the length of the pingo, especially near its summit - that may reach down as far as the ice core. If these cracks are large enough, the top of a pingo will resemble a crater. Sometimes water ponds in the crater, and this may begin to melt the ice core. More commonly, uplift of the sides of the pingo creates steep slopes that may become unstable and begin to erode. If the ice is exposed to the sun, the core will begin to melt. As its main support melts away, the pingo collapses.

Collapsed pingo
Collapsed pingo
© Parks Canada

When the ice core has completely melted, all that remains is a doughnut-shaped ring of raised tundra enclosing a small round lake. In warmer regions, such as Ireland and the Netherlands, remnants of collapsed pingos have helped scientists determine that the climate was once cold enough in these areas to support a permafrost environment.

Geology

Pingo Canadian Landmark is in the geological structure called the Beaufort-Mackenzie Basin. For at least the last 100 million years, this area has received sediments from the Richardson Mountains and other more or less extinct landforms around the Mackenzie River. The bedrock in the Tuktoyaktuk area formed from these sediments and is made up of both sandstone and shale. The youngest bedrock is the so-called Beaufort Formation, which contains a range of material from gravel-sized particles to clay.

Above the bedrock lie thick deposits of sand, capped by mixed sediments left by the last glacial advance. The sands form two layers. The lower layer is a grey, well-sorted, medium-grained deposit - called the Kidluit Formation - which was probably deposited in a broad alluvial plain. Above these Kidluit sands is a brown, fine-grained layer called the Kittigazuit Formation. This formation is thought to be the deposits of a large delta, but also includes sand that was blown around in the cold, dry climate leading up to the last glaciation. These sands are exposed at Peninsula Point, where Kilutqusiaq Pingo has been cut and eroded by the ocean. They also underlie the massive icy beds found in the area.

Above the sand layers is mixed sediment, called glacial till, which is a direct remnant of the last ice sheet to cover the region. The massive ice at Peninsula Point formed between the Kittigazuit sands and the glacial till. The top of the massive ice lies between one and ten metres below the ground surface. The ice itself contains enough fine sand and silt to make it appear banded.

Climate

Pingo Canadian Landmark averages 140 mm of precipitation per year, less than half the average annual precipitation of B.C.'s Okanagan valley, the badlands of Alberta, or the dry prairie of southern Saskatchewan.

Ice conditions in the Beaufort Sea largely control precipitation in the Tuktoyaktuk area. When the prevailing wind blows over open water in the southern Beaufort Sea, it picks up the moisture necessary for precipitation . As a result, most of the precipitation falls during the summer and early fall when the southern Beaufort Sea is free of ice. During the remainder of the year the sea ice extends to the shoreline, resulting in very little rain or snow.

In summer, morning fog is common along the coast, especially when there is an onshore wind. Although it can recur day after day at this time of year, the fog usually burns off around noon.

Average temperatures in the Tuktoyaktuk area range from -26 °C (-15 °F) in February to 11 °C (52 °F) in July, with subzero temperatures occurring at any time of the year. Summers are very short. Only June, July and August have average temperatures above freezing. However, with 24-hour sunlight, temperatures have been known to reach 30 °C (86 °F) in summer. In winter, temperatures can drop as low as -50 °C (-58 °F).

Wildlife

Arctic fox
Arctic fox
© Parks Canada / James McCormick, July 2001

Due to its relatively small size, very few animals live in the landmark year-round. However, a wide variety of animals move through the landmark or use the area seasonally.

Mammals

Caribou from the Bluenose West and Cape Bathurst herds are occasionally seen feeding in the landmark, and large carnivores such as grizzly bears, polar bears, and wolves may wander through searching for food. However, smaller animals such as arctic foxes, red foxes, and arctic ground squirrels are more commonly found here. The relatively dry sandy slopes of pingos make ideal denning sites for these small mammals.

Birds

The region contains important habitat for nesting and migrating birds, especially waterfowl. During late spring, the area is a stopover site for migrating geese, including brant, lesser snow geese, and greater white-fronted geese. The area is also important habitat for tundra swans and loons. Ducks such as mallard, green-winged teal, king eider, common eider, and oldsquaw are common to the area, as are a variety of gull and shorebird species.

Fish

The shallow waters of the landmark's bays and coastal areas support a variety of fish species, including Pacific herring, arctic cisco, least cisco, burbot, broad whitefish, and inconnu.

Vegetation

Cottongrass, Eriophorum sp.
Cottongrass, Eriophorum sp.
© Parks Canada / Fritz P. Mueller

Pingo Canadian Landmark is located in the Southern Arctic ecozone - a major transition area between the open spruce forest to the south and the treeless arctic tundra to the north.

The distribution of plants in the landmark is largely dependent on drainage. The dry slopes of pingos provide good habitat for dwarf shrubs. Sedge communities thrive in the wet center of poorly drained, low-centered tundra polygons, while dwarf shrubs colonize the dryer, raised ridges bordering the polygon. In high-centered polygons the plant community is reversed. Dwarf shrubs grow in the dry interior, while sedge communities fill the wet intersecting troughs.

Typical plants of dry areas in the landmark include willow, crowberry, cranberry, Labrador tea, heath, dwarf birch, and cloudberry. Wet area plant communities include sedges, tussocks, reindeer moss, and some willow species.

Le site canadien des pingos

Milieu naturel

Géographie

Pingos et zones humides
Pingos et zones humides
© Parcs Canada / Hillarie Zimmermann

La péninsule de Tuktoyaktuk représente l'un des paysages les plus inhabituels dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au Canada. Dans cette région, 1 350 buttes en forme de dôme appelées pingos parsèment la toundra semée de lacs comme des volcans miniatures. Ces formes de relief frappantes dans un paysage autrement plat possèdent un noyau de glace et se retrouvent uniquement dans un environnement de pergélisol. Environ un quart des pingos du monde sont dans la région de la péninsule de Tuktoyaktuk.

Le site canadien des pingos protège huit pingos sur une superficie de 16 kilomètres carrés (4 053 acres) près de la collectivité de Tuktoyaktuk. Deux pingos, Ibyuk et Split, dominent le paysage. D'une hauteur de 16 étages (49 mètres ou 160 pieds), Ibyuk est le plus grand pingo au Canada et le deuxième plus grand au monde. Ibyuk Pingo croît d'environ centimètres (3/4 de pouce) par année et a au moins 1 000 ans. La hauteur des autres pingos du site varie entre 5 et 36 mètres (16 à 120 pieds) et ces pingos représentent les différentes étapes du développement d'un pingo.

Le site canadien des pingos présente également de nombreuses autres caractéristiques du pergélisol. L'un des meilleurs exemples d'énorme masse de glace souterraine exposée au Canada se trouve actuellement dans les falaises côtières au nord-est de Peninsula Point. D'autres caractéristiques du pergélisol telles que les coins de glace et les polygones de toundra sont courantes dans toute la région.

Pergélisol

Le pergélisol est une couche de sol dans laquelle la température est continuellement inférieure à 0 °C (32 °F) depuis au moins deux ans. L'épaisseur et la superficie du pergélisol augmentent au fur et à mesure que le climat se refroidit. La température moyenne annuelle est de -11 °C (10,4 °F) et les conditions plus froides pendant les périodes glaciaires ont aidé à créer une épaisse couche de pergélisol dans la région. Dans certaines parties du delta du Mackenzie, le pergélisol pénètre sur plus de 500 m (1 640 pieds) dans le sol et date de plus de 50 000 ans.

Étant donné que la température du sol près de la surface du pergélisol est au-dessus de point de congélation pendant l'été, une couche " active " saisonnière se forme au-dessus du pergélisol. Cette couche commence à fondre après la fonte des neiges en juin et gèle de nouveau entièrement à la fin novembre. Les racines de la plupart des plantes et les tanières des animaux sont confinées à cette couche.

Énormes lits de glace

Glace souterraine exposée à Peninsula Point
Glace souterraine exposée à Peninsula Point
© Parcs Canada / Elisa Hart, 2000

Peninsula Point au site canadien des pingos est l'un des meilleurs endroits au Canada pour voir un lit massif de glace exposée. L'érosion côtière pendant les tempêtes a exposé ici une partie d'un versant et a révélé un mur de glace surmontée de toundra de 500 mètres de long et de 10 mètres de haut (33 pieds) à certains endroits.

On retrouve dans les couches supérieures du pergélisol un énorme lit de glace et une lentille d'eau souterraine gelée. Courants dans toute la région et d'une épaisseur de plus de 40 mètres (132 pieds), les énormes lits de glace, comme les pingos, se développent généralement pendant la croissance du pergélisol et peuvent dater de milliers d'années.

À Peninsula Point, le lit de glace s'est formé à la fin de la dernière glaciation au fur et à mesure que le pergélisol s'est développé, et a été alimenté par l'eau provenant du sol non gelé sous-jacent.

Coins de glace et polygones de toundra

Des polygones de toundra entourent un petit pingo
Pingo et polygones de toundra
© Parcs Canada / Elisa Hart, 2000

Les coins de glace prennent forme une fois que le sol devient tellement froid en hiver qu'il se contracte et se fissure. Au printemps, la neige qui fond s'introduit dans les fissures et gèle. Ces minces feuilles verticales de glace peuvent pénétrer jusqu'à cinq mètres (16 pieds) dans le sol et créer un point faible susceptible de craquer de nouveau lorsque la température tombe au cours des hivers suivants. Ce processus répété de fissuration et de remplissage par de l'eau de fonte entraîne la formation de masses de glace verticales en forme de coins qui atteignent parfois trois mètres (10 pieds) de largeur à la surface.

Plusieurs coins de glace reliés créent dans le sol ce qu'on appelle un polygone. Les polygones concaves se forment au fur et à mesure que les coins se développent, et poussent le sol adjacent vers le haut pour créer un bord surélevé. Lorsque plusieurs coins de glace se réunissent, ils forment ensemble un polygone irrégulier dont le bord surélevé a tendance à retenir l'eau et à créer de petites zones humides. Les polygones concaves se développent lorsque les coins de glace continuent de prendre de l'ampleur. Un polygone convexe se développe lorsque le matériau végétal finit par remplir la zone humide centrale d'un polygone concave. L'eau s'écoule en sens contraire : au lieu de s'accumuler au centre du polygone, elle se dirige maintenant dans les fossés adjacents.

L'été, surtout pendant la fonte des neiges, l'eau qui coule le long des coins de glace peut faire fondre ces masses gelées ou drainer en partie un ou deux des nombreux lacs de la région chaque année.

Pingos

Ibyuk Pingo
Ibyuk Pingo
© Parcs Canada / James McCormick, 2002

La présence de nombreux lacs sur la péninsule de Tuktoyaktuk - dont la plupart sont trop profonds pour geler entièrement en hiver - est essentielle à la formation des pingos de la région.

Dans cette région, les lacs de plus de deux mètres (7 pieds) de profondeur ne gèlent pas entièrement en hiver. La présence d'eau toute l'année au fond des lacs protège le lit sableux des lacs contre les températures hivernales glaciales. Par conséquent, le pergélisol sous le lac fond et crée une zone de sol non gelé entre le lac et le pergélisol plus profond sous-jacent.

Un pingo se forme lorsque l'un de ces lacs se draine entièrement ou partiellement et que l'eau n'exerce plus d'effet réchauffant. Exposé aux températures hivernales glaciales, le sable gonflé d'eau de l'ancien lit du lac gèle et l'eau prend de l'expansion. Les pores du sol ne peuvent pas contenir ce plus gros volume et l'eau excédentaire est donc repoussée vers le bas devant le sol gelé. En même temps, le sol adjacent au pergélisol sous-jacent commence à geler et force l'eau excédentaire vers le haut dans le sol qui n'est pas encore gelé. La pression monte à cet endroit du lit et la surface se déforme vers le haut. S'il existe une partie du lit où le pergélisol est relativement mince, et donc plus faible que le sol avoisinant, le pergélisol est déformé vers le haut et soutenu par une lentille d'eau. Une butte en forme de dôme se développe et peut être reconnue comme un pingo après quelques années.

Au fur et à mesure que le lit du lac continue de geler, la hauteur de la butte augmente lentement sous l'effet de la pression de l'eau. En même temps, l'eau dans la lentille gèle et crée un noyau de glace dans le pingo, qui continue de se développer tant qu'il reste de l'eau non gelée dans le lit du lac. Le pingo est soutenu pendant toute sa croissance par la pression dans la lentille d'eau. Au cours d'un processus qui peut prendre des centaines d'années, la lentille d'eau gèle graduellement et le pingo arrête de grandir.

OUne fois que son noyau est exposé au soleil, le pingo commence à s'effondrer
Pingo en train de s'effondrer
© Parcs Canada / 1988

Quand un pingo croît, le sol s'étire pour accueillir sa superficie croissante. La toundra se fissure en certains endroits, généralement dans le sens de la longueur du pingo, surtout près du sommet. Ces fissures peuvent atteindre le noyau de glace et le sommet du pingo ressemble à un cratère si elles sont assez grandes. De l'eau séjourne parfois dans le cratère et peut commencer à faire fondre le noyau de glace. Il arrive plus souvent que le soulèvement des côtés du pingo crée des pentes raides qui peuvent devenir instables et commencer à s'éroder. Si la glace est exposée au soleil, le noyau commence à fondre et le pingo commence à s'effondre car il perd son appui central.

Pingo effondré
Pingo effondré
© Parcs Canada

Lorsque le noyau a entièrement fondu, il ne reste qu'un anneau de toundra surélevée entourant un petit lac rond. Dans les régions plus chaudes, par exemple en Irlande et aux Pays-Bas, les vestiges de pingos effondrés ont aidé les scientifiques à déterminer qu'il faisait autrefois assez froid pour assurer la présence de pergélisol.

Géologie

Le site canadien des pingos appartient à la structure géologique du bassin Beaufort-Mackenzie. Cette région reçoit des sédiments des chaînons Richardson et d'autres formes de relief plus ou moins disparues près du fleuve Mackenzie depuis au moins 100 millions d'années. Le substratum dans la région de Tuktoyaktuk est formé de ces sédiments de grès et de shale. Le substratum le plus récent est la formation de Beaufort, qui contient toute une gamme de matériaux allant de particules de la taille du gravier à l'argile.

Le substratum est recouvert d'un épais dépôt de sable, recouvert pour sa part de sédiments mixtes laissés par la dernière progression glaciaire. Le sable forme deux couches. La couche inférieure est un dépôt gris bien trié à grain moyen appelé la formation de Kidluit et qui a probablement été déposé dans une vaste plaine alluviale. Cette couche est recouverte par la formation Kittigazuit, un dépôt brun à grain fin qui provient probablement d'un grand delta, mais qui comprend également du sable que le vent a déplacé dans le climat froid et sec qui a précédé la dernière glaciation. Ce sable a été exposé à Peninsula Point, où Kilutqusiaq Pingo a été coupé et érodé par l'océan, et il est également sous-jacent aux énormes lits de glace de la région.

Une couche de sédiments mixtes appelée till recouvre les couches de sable et constitue des vestiges de la dernière nappe glaciaire ayant recouvert la région. La couche énorme de glace à Peninsula Point s'est formée entre le sable de Kittigazuit et le till. Sa partie supérieure se trouve entre un et dix mètres sous la surface du sol. La glace contient suffisamment de sable fin et de limon pour qu'elle semble rubanée.

Climat

Le site canadien des pingos reçoit en moyenne 140 mm de précipitations par année, soit moins de la moitié des précipitations annuelles moyennes de la vallée de l'Okanagan en C.-B., des bad-lands de l'Alberta ou de la prairie sèche du sud de la Saskatchewan.

L'état des glaces dans la mer de Beaufort régit largement les précipitations dans la région de Tuktoyaktuk. Lorsque le vent dominant souffle sur les eaux libres du sud de la mer de Beaufort, il récolte l'humidité nécessaire aux précipitations. Par conséquent, la plupart des précipitations surviennent pendant l'été et au début de l'automne, lorsqu'il n'y a pas de glace dans le sud de la mer de Beaufort. La glace s'étend jusqu'à la côte le reste de l'année et il y a donc très peu de pluie ou de neige.

L'été, il y a souvent du brouillard le long de la côte, surtout s'il y a une brise de mer, mais le brouillard disparaît généralement vers midi.

La température moyenne dans la région de Tuktoyaktuk est de -26 °C (-15 °F) en février à 11 °C (52 °F) en juillet, et il peut geler à n'importe quelle période de l'année. Les étés sont très courts. La température est au-dessus de zéro uniquement en juin, juillet et août. Toutefois, comme il fait jour 24 heures sur 24, la température peut atteindre 30 °C (86 °F) l'été. L'hiver, elle peut chuter jusqu'à -50 °C (-58 °F).

Faune

Renard arctique
Renard arctique
© Parcs Canada / James McCormick / Juillet 2001

Très peu d'animaux vivent au site toute l'année en raison de sa superficie relativement petite. Une grande variété d'animaux traverse toutefois le site ou s'y rend sur une base saisonnière.

Mammifères

On voit parfois des caribous des hardes de cap Bathurst et Bluenose-West qui s'alimentent au site et des gros carnivores comme le grizzli, l'ours polaire et le loup qui sont à la recherche de nourriture. Les plus petits animaux tels que le renard arctique, le renard roux et le spermophile arctique sont plus communs. Les pentes relativement sèches des pingos constituent en effet des endroits idéaux pour les tanières de ces petits mammifères.

Oiseaux

La région contient un habitat important pour les oiseaux nicheurs et migrateurs, particulièrement les oiseaux aquatiques. À la fin du printemps, la région accueille les oies migratrices, notamment la bernache cravant, la petite oie des neiges et l'oie rieuse. La région constitue également un habitat important pour le cygne siffleur et le plongeon. Les canards tels que le colvert, la sarcelle d'hiver, l'eider à tête grise, l'eider à duvet et le harelde kakawi sont communs dans la région, tout comme diverses espèces de mouettes et d'oiseaux de rivage.

Poissons

On retrouve diverses espèces de poissons dans les eaux peu profondes des baies et des zones côtières du site, notamment le hareng du Pacifique, le cisco arctique, la cisco sardinelle, la lotte, le corégone tschir et l'inconnu.

Végétation

Linaigrette, Eriophorum sp.
Linaigrette, Eriophorum sp.
© Parcs Canada / Fritz P. Mueller

Le site canadien des pingos est situé dans l'écozone du Moyen-Arctique, une aire de transition importante entre la pessière au sud et la toundra arctique sans arbres au nord.

La chorologie des plantes au site dépend largement du drainage. Les pentes sèches des pingos constituent un bon habitat pour les arbustes nains. Les communautés de carex prospèrent au centre humide des polygones de toundra concaves mal drainés, tandis que les arbustes nains se retrouvent sur les bords surélevés et plus secs des polygones. Les communautés végétales sont inversées dans les polygones convexes. Les arbustes nains poussent dans l'intérieur sec et les communautés de carex remplissent les fossés humides qui se recoupent.

Parmi les plantes types des régions sèches du site, on retrouve le saule, la camarine noire, l'airelle rouge, le thé du Labrador, la bruyère, le bouleau glanduleux et le ronce petit-mûrier. Parmi les communautés végétales des régions humides, notons le carex, les buttes de gazon, la cladonie des rennes et certaines espèces de saule.